We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great State Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettle Moraine State Forest

Kettle Moraine State Forest
W7796 Kettle Moraine Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53190
262-473-7501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Forests, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Cross-country skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Split into two "units" south and north of Milwaukee, both sections contain part of the Ice Age Trail, a 1,000-mile trail throughout Wisconsin.
Waukesha
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great State Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I love to mountain bike the John Muir Trails, but have also hiked the Nordic trails and the Ice Age Trail, as well as geocached many of the other local trails including scuppernong. Camped at Ottawa Lake Campground, as well as along the Ice Age trail in the shelters. Great escape close to Milwaukee. I visit here evry couple of months, just to get away from it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice Age Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My son and I went to the Ice Age Center and hiked in the kettles Labor Day weekend. The staff at the center were informative and friendly! We had a wonderful day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to escape for a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great place to go for a hike. I head out to Kettle Moraine South and North many times a year to hike, snowshoe, camp, mountain bike and just to relax. It's not far from the city of Milwaukee and a great place to escape to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kettle Moraine Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So many great places to hike! And, it is always fun to visit the establishments in Dundee! The state parks are well kept as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“God's Picture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We drove through the Kettle when the trees were at their peek. Some of the colors were so bright they looked neon and hurt your eyes to stare at them. God as the artist makes this drive fabulous.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle Moraine State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Kettle Moraine State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettle Moraine State Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.