We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cooking from a real chef!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel

Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel
500 W. Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)
+1 414-831-4615
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,393 restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Walker's Point
Cross street: 6th Street
Description: The quintessential experience in Rustic-American cuisine. From individual dining to groups of all sizes - lose yourself in the comfort of the finely appointed dining room, the warm and friendly service, and the beautiful Iron Horse Hotel.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great cooking from a real chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I ate the best meal I have had in a long time at Smyth. Beautful food, great wine recommendation and great service, enjoyed it all. And what's more it wasn't fussy - it all just worked - WELL DONE!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    174
    48
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was curious how The Smyth would fare compared to the Iron Horse Hotel in terms of charm, so took a business associate to try it out. The interior at night was dark and mysterious. Servers were polite and helpful.

I sampled the surprisingly tasty wisconsin beer cheese soup (so much better than it sounded and wonderful- especially with the popcorn! table next to ours requested an extra plate of popcorn and reveled in theirs). I ordered the oxtail appetizer, which is delicious, savory, and perfection on the plate- declared a home run by the whole table! The lamb was perfectly cooked and served. One other plate was slightly flawed due to a wrong sauce on a vegetable that accidentally bathed the entrée, but the floor manager noted this and corrected the mistake, making sure we were happy with our experience- kudos to her!

Seems they are in a transition time between lead chefs, but the attention to detail, polite staff, and a keen, hard-working manager make me trust they will continue to do well with great food and quality service.

They have a nice wine list and an extensive selection of beer and whiskeys. They serve a custom 1907 Rye, and the bartender made me a stunning sazerac with my meal.

I debated rating this restaurant 'average' because it was between a 'good to very-good' experience. It's not as high end in comparison to the rest of the country- but a biker-friendly, upscale place like this in Milwaukee has got to be a rare gem. Let's call it 3.5 stars: I'd absolutely go back with friends or business associates in a second, and demand everyone try the soup and oxtail along with a 1907 rye mixed drink!

Good food overall (some delicious), and good service overall (great floor manager, great bartender!) Tasty food and a very good option in Milwaukee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected for the amount of $$$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great decor, however our food was over cooked, was very bland, and serving proportions were small. My wife and I left feeling disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was OK, although a neat place to visit for a drink. The menu is not very exciting as I was not sure what to order. I think out of towners think its a cool place but for the locals, just OK

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice bartender and tasty drinks and appetizers makes for a fun time at Smyth. We also had a great breakfast there the following morning.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.