We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Public Market Package
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed one night at this property to visit the Harley Davidson Factory. Rooms were ok, Clean and good for one night. Disappointed that the hotel does not accommodate motorcycles as the other hotels do around the factory. They wanted to charge $20+ for us to park the MC down the road. Staff was not the upbeat typical staff at a Marriott. Service for breakfast was VERY slow.

Room Tip: Better to be high up and back of hotel as street noise is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am glad you liked our location. I appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am shocked you were informed you would have to pay $20 for MC parking. Our Parking Company offers discounted parking for $6. I am very sorry about the staff not being the expected Marriott Staff. I will certainly review this with my front desk as well as the Restaurant Staff. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    85
    49
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
48
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Courtyards are my go-to hotel brand and this one does not disappoint. Staff was very helpful and location was close to shopping and restaurants. One minor ding was the parking situation where I had to pay $20 to park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your loyalty to Courtyard. I am glad you find out location great for shopping and restaurants. Regarding parking, there are a few options. Self parking is $15, Valet is $18 for weekend and $20 weekday. There are some surface lots that charge $7-12 within a few blocks of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed at this Courtyard several times when we have wanted to be close to events in the heart of the city. Our room has been a good one. They have a small restaurant in the hotel the hotel has a walk way to a shopping area with a food court.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad you find out location great to get to your events. Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Heights,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at The Courtyard last weekend, like I have done 4 or 5 other times. The location is ideal being right in the center of downtown. You are in walking distance to several restaurants, bars, and The Bradley Center where I went to watch a basketball game. The property is connected to a mall wth shops and restaurants, and is also connected to a parking garage. I enjoy going to the casino, and it is only about 2 miles away. The immenities are good and the staff is very courteous. Last, the Courtyard is directly off of Interstate I-94 which makes it extremely easy to access when I come and go from Chicago.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying up on the 5th or 6th floor to avoid any possible noise that can occur below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I want to thank you for your review. It sounds like you had an awesome weekend in Milwaukee at the Bradley Center and visiting the Casino. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and again, thank you for your comments. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here over the weekend and had a pleasant experience. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a room with king bed and pull out which was perfect for our family of four. Great location downtown close to everything and with a connection to the Grand Avenue Mall. It was a very cold day and was grateful for the valet parking offered at the hotel (self parking $15/ valet $18). The lobby is a nice place to hang out in with computers to use and booths with t.v.'s that I used when the rest of the family was asleep.Probably the one thing that kept this hotel from being great was a free continental breakfast. They have a very nice looking bistro that offers drinks, sandwiches and salads but we didn't try it. Also a small marketplace with snacks, drinks, and other good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay this past weekend. I am glad you found the rooms clean and you were able to enjoy the new lobby while the family was sleeping. Thank you again, and we hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel stay was very nice, however I booked the hotel stay on Priceline. I made a mistake and booked the wrong location in Milwaukee and booked another immediately after. Within 5 minutes I booked the correct location and Priceline would not return my money on the other hotel. The GM from the Courtyard Downtown called me out of the blue and made it right. It was not even the hotels fault and he stepped up and made it right. You have earned a long term customer in me, thanks to Tony at Courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice note. I certainly appreciate your comments. I am glad that I was able to make this reservation situation with priceline right with you. I am glad I have earned your business in the future and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two consecutive weeks. I am in Milwaukee weekly for work and my usual place was booked up so I decided to give the Courtyard a try because it is convenient to my place of employment (walking distance).

On both occasions I requested a king room and was given a room on the fifth floor.

My first stay I was assigned a room on the back side of the hotel. The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the distinct smell of cigarette smoke. This was confirmed by burn marks in the carpet and when I flipped the coffee mug to take a drink, discovered that the cleaning crew hadn't even bothered to wipe all the ashes out of the cup they clearly had been using as an ash tray.

I sat down and tried to use the complimentary Internet access. I was able to associate with the wireless network, but all three devices I had (Windows laptop, iPhone, iPad) were unable to surf because of what appeared to be a broken captured portal that would redirect all sites to the Marriott page regardless of how often you tried.

Next I took a shower. I was horrified to find a dirty wash cloth hanging from the curtain rod, and the filthy room experience was completed with a bathroom interior that was filled with peeling paint, stains, and bubbling drywall/plaster. Only after my next stay did I realize that the reason this room was so awful in appearance is because other rooms had wall papering, but for some reason this room had been removed and a poor plaster and paint job had been thrown up.

The next morning I was awoken by the sound of delivery trucks at 6:00a. The back side of the hotel faces the loading docks of the downtown mall. From about then until I packed and left, I was subjected to a constant stream of idling diesel motors, backup beepers, slamming doors, and clattering pallet trucks.

Angry and frustrated, I checked out a day early and cut my trip short.

The following week my usual hotel was once again full. I decided that the issues I had with the Courtyard might have been isolated to the room or just bad luck, so I opted to give it a second chance given that it was so close to where I work.

I was given a room on the same floor as the previous week but on the opposite side of the hotel. The view was nicer and I did not have as many issues with noise. However, there was still a distinct odor in both the hallway and the room. The room smelled like scented candle soot. The room appeared otherwise clean except for being left with two rolls of toilet paper that were both nearly empty.

I attempted to log on to the internet and had the same problems I did the previous week.

In the morning, fuming with the poor maintenance, I once again decided to leave early and find other accommodations.

This is NOT the worst place I have stayed at. However, at nearly $195 per night for the room and taxes, $15/night parking, no working Internet, and no complementary breakfast, it is probably the worse value of any hotel I've stayed at. Frankly, for the rate, I expect a lot better and shouldn't have to ask to have a clean, quiet, comfortable room. There are budget hotels in the area that are on par with this hotel for quality and cleanliness for $59/night.

I cannot recommend this property and will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry we did not meet your expecations during your 2 stays with us. I can answer your internet question by saying you missed a step by agreeing to the terms from our internet provider. That is why you could not access the internet. I wish this was brought to our attention so we could have addressed these issues during your stay. I hate to hear about situations like this after you have stayed with us. I apologize for 2 not so pleasant stays with us and certainly would like to discuss these with you. Please contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 300 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
Milwaukee Courtyard
Milwaukee Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.