We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Class and Comfort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Public Market Package
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Courtyard Class and Comfort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This Courtyard was well located if you are in MKE for a sporting or theatre event, shopping weekend, business trip, Water St. Party, wedding or whatever. The lobby was well appointed and newly remodeled. The staff was friendly and the valet parking people especially helpful. I had no problem paying the fee because our car was safe and accessible.
The breakfast was not free...however there is free coffee if you go past the breakfast area.
The room was decent though ours had a hint of smoke as it was probably formerly a smoking room. The bed was comfortable and the room good enough space but not large.
The fitness center was exceptional and the pool area adequate.
We would go back for the location, price, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Glad you liked our location, new lobby and staff at the hotel and valet. We do offer rates that include breakfast, something to consider for future reservations. Sorry that you room had a hint of smoke. We experience a guest or two that will smoking causing this to happen. We apparently did not prepare the room well enough. There are certain costs associated with this for these guests that do not follow the non smoking hotel. Thank you for your comments. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    85
    49
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
48
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

nice place, free breakfast, close to all the things needed in downtown milwaukee! we went to a concert and it was just around the corner. within walking distance to anything you need. fun time - nice hotel!

Room Tip: we actually got a handicap accessible room and it was really spacious! we didn't ask for it - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay attending a concert and visiting your friends. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel as well as the space of the accessible rooms. We hope you choose us again if you visit Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found this to be a good location in Milwaukee. The hotel was comfortable. We did feel that the insulation could have been better since we could hear the neighbors and people in the hallway at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad you found the hotel to be in a nice location and that it was comfortable. Please accept my apologies for having noisy neighbors. This is not something typical in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

All the ammenities travelers expect from the Courtyard brand... Close to downtown business district and lots of restaurants in walking distance. The rooms are a little outdated and laid out funny but comfortable and clean. The lobby is updated and modern. No sit down restaurant in the hotel but they do have a quick service cafeteria for breakfast. I would stay here again the next I am in town for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am glad you found our hotel convenient for business and restaurants. I appreciate your comments regarding the rooms. Not sure what room type you are referring too, however, we do have a few rooms that are larger than the standard which may make it feel a little funny? We will be updating rooms in the next year, but glad your room was comfortable and clean. That is extremely important. The new lobby has been great for our guests to relax and get connected if needed. I am glad the Bistro service was quick. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you back again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This location is fabulous. We took a weekend trip to Milwaukee, and enjoyed our stay here very much.

This location, must just have been renovated recently. The lobby is gorgeous. It has this cool touch screen in the lobby, when were you can look for locations and print directions... I was impressed.

The rooms were not quite as modern as the lobby, but all in all an great place to stay. We had a suite, and there was plenty of room for (2) couples... as well as a dinning table, which is great for a game of cards. The hotel was quite, and the staff very helpful. I would most certainly come back.

Room Tip: We has a nice view of the park in a suite on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the location and the hotel. We appreciate your support and hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location is fantastic. Close to the historic third ward, connected to a mall and close to the Frontier stadium and other places to see downtown. The building is in pretty good shape and the rooms are clean. Probably my only complaint would be the cost of the parking but we parked a close walk away on a flat lot for $7 per 24 hrs as long as it starts after 3pm, so that saved $8 per night for 3 days. Very nice staff and lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location, and the rooms. I do agree there are other parking options which are surface lots. We offer self parking for $15 which is a better value than most hotels in Milwaukee. Our Valet parking for $18 on Weekends and $20 during the week is well below the going rate for Valet service at the other hotels. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I enjoyed my stay. Lobby was nice. Room was good sized. Location downtown was convenint. My only comment is parking was $18 for valet when the garage a half a block away was $5 which is where I ended up parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDTGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments with your stay. We do offer self parking for $15. The lot is connected to our building. Valet option is available for $18 on the weekends. There are a few surface lots which are a few blocks away. I hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 300 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
Milwaukee Courtyard
Milwaukee Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.