We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Hinton, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

great location friendly staff clean rooms and great in house resterants

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    391
    165
    92
    47
See reviews for
172
241
75
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

I am on the Board of Directors of a non-profit trade association that sends 50-70 people to Marquette University once yearly. They stay, along with the industry leaders that teach the classes, at this Hilton. This is my 4th consecutive year staying there and I never learn. Internet doesn't work, room small, very noisy, old, old, old. it takes for ever to answer the phone when you call 0 or the button for the front desk. One of my 2 phones didnt work. I am a Hilton Gold Honors member and still couldn't get a king bed. I was lucky to get non-smoking. Last year I couldnt get that. obviously no one is in charge. The list goes on and on. The dozen or so senior executives that stay during the week, will not be anymore. The 50-70 (300-350 room nights!) might not either, but that decision will be made shortly.

Conrad Hilton would be ashamed.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2005

I arrived for a conference that was being held in an adjoining building. Compared to the option of staying at the Hyatt, this place was better. But, yikes. Is this really a Hilton Hotel?!? It's decor is that of an old and cheap cruise ship (gawdy gawdy gawdy), old world style HA. The neighborhood was sketchy as hell. Information in the room was incomplete and/or misleading. For example, the phone card says that long distance calls run the "daily rate + 40%", imagine my surprise when the bill showed up charging me as much as $45 for a 20 milute call!! But with a call to the front desk and several minutes on hold, she returned to ask if I was interested in purchasing a $10 per day unlimited long distance deal. Something I should have been asked at check-in, and um, duh, YES!!! No exaggeration, for 14 calls over the course of 2 days totalling $200+, $10 a day was, um, a deal. The room was clean and the staff was nice enough, but if you are looking for a typical Hilton, you will not find it here in dowtown milwaukee.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

I stayed at the Hilton City Center for two nights while participating in a conference at the hotel. The front desk staff was prompt and courteous and asked if I wanted a room with one or two beds. I asked if the room with two beds was larger they said yes, so I took it. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. My room was quiet, but several people who were attending the same conference mentioned that they were bothered by a lot of noise coming from adjacent rooms. So I don't know if I was just lucky or what. Even though my experience was OK, I'd think twice about staying there again after all the comments about noise. Caveat emptor I guess.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.