We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Milwaukee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Jerome, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Milwaukee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was anticipating a standard ol' Hilton; when I arrived for the TOPS convention, I was more than pleasantly surprised. The lobby and furnishings, elevators and fixtures such as the mail chutes, were all quaint but in top condition. The lobby was spacious and had plenty of areas for quiet visits or more boisterous games. The fitness center and on-site food and beverage outlets covered every meal period and product was very good. I note that other people say the staff was friendly. They were, but so was every person I encountered in the city, so I think Milwaukee is chock full of friendly people. Staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and organized. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Our room had been recently renovated and was very comfortable and attractive.

Room Tip: Not sure of directions, but if you want a view, don't get a room on the east (?) side; it overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    365
    151
    88
    46
See reviews for
161
218
68
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is a great combination of charm, luxury, convenience and affordability. The parking is a little pricey for non-valet ($24 per night) but at least the garage is attached the hotel on the 2nd floor. It is also much nicer than most dog-friendly hotels and even has a grassy area to take them out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a lovely place to spend your time at he International TOPS convention held July 10-14. The hotel is very charming and clean and the staff are so helpful. I would stay at a Hilton where ever I traveled

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Rooms Director at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate your loyalty and hope you return to the Hilton Milwaukee City Center nomiss83!

Regards,
David Woodward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stay here all the time when we come to Milwaukee amd love it everytime. The staff is always so pleasant, the hotel is clean, and the food always good. Wouldn't stay anywhere else..special kudos to the housekeeping team!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

An old structure that has been nicely updated. Requested and got a room on an upper floor with a view of Lake Michigan. Very nice. Self park available next door with a covered walkway to the Hotel. Staff was on it and very helpful. Bell service was great. Spent an extra 10 minutes at the front door when the hop heard we were going to Door County and had his cell phone out recommending unique places to eat and see that he was familiar with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is beautiful and within walking distance to everything in downtown Milwaukee. Employees at front desk were very helpful and we were able to get a bigger room on an upper floor with a lake view. We booked on Hotwire and got a really great deal for a weekend stay. The only negative I could say is that the bathroom in our room was very small, but it didn't really bother us that much. We stayed on the 24th floor and had a great view of downtown and the lake. On our second night, there was a thunderstorm and we opened the curtains in our room and watched the lightning. It was a cool sight. You won't be disappointed in this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada,CO, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want great service this is the place to stay. I have no complaints and lots of compliments. They treat you right here. I do think we paid a little too much for the room, but I think it was because of the location and the fact that it was downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.