We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Davison, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location. Very clean and the staff was great. It has a very nice restaurant, sports bar/restaurant, and Starbucks. The beer cheddar soup in the sports bar is great! My only complaint would be that the rates are a little high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    365
    150
    88
    46
See reviews for
161
217
68
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very nice hotel, great staff, clean, very beautiful building. The only thing lacking is a pool since the waterpark shut down. Very comfortable bed and good conveniences in the hotel. Great downtown location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lets first start by saying the location near the amtrack station is great and that's about it!!! When we check in they said they only had double and queen beds because they were sold out. i do feel they did that because we purchased through priceline. Also the front desk wasn't that Welcoming! Biggest complaint....how loud the cleaning staff is in the mornings. It's 8 am and they are knocking on people's doors like there is no one else sleeping. It happened each morning I felt like opening my door and screaming at them. They would sing and make noise with their carts....I have never experience that amount of noise from a cleaning staff!!! Next issue the bathroom. I am 5 feet so I'm very tiny and petite but omg that bathroom was even too small for me. When you are in the toilet you can close the door. It's a disgrace for the Hilton do have a bathroom like this. The rooms are definitely not worth the price. Also the concierge didn't know anything. We would ask different questions about bus schedules etc and they had no clue. Very unprofessional environment with young clueless staff. FYI I'm not a hater on young people because I'm in my 20s too but damn these people need some manners and knowledge! And a new pet peeve I have been experiencing hotels are not leaving a do not disturb sign in the rooms.... Come on hotels that should be a basic !!

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side gets loud in the mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the details of your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience with us. I have shared your concerns with the respective managers regarding the noise in the hallways as well as the challenges encountered upon arrival. We are disappointed that your experience did not meet our expectation of service and hope that you will consider staying with us again on a future visit to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had an exceptional stay at the Milwaukee City Center. The staff greeted us like we were famous when in fact we had a block of rooms for our sons wedding. The staff met us like old friends after all the emails and planning prior to our visit. The space was beautiful and clean, and the service outstanding. We will gladly visit this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

One of the biggest disappointments in hotel accommodations we have ever had. Noise level BY THE STAFF was horrible, information regarding parking was incorrect and misleading, our request for maintenance was unsuccessful and we were told the problem was fixed when it was not. Bathrooms were so small that one person could not fit comfortably fit in it. We compared our experience with others of our party and their experiences were the same as mine. We would not choose this hotel again for any reason what-so-ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your concerns. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. It is most disconcerting to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect. We take our guests’ comments seriously and will use yours to improve our guest experiences in the future. I also would like to apologize that the parking for your group was provided at a complimentary basis and that you were not made aware of this until your arrival into the hotel reception to register. We do our best to provide all group attendees with the information needed to fulfill a memorable and enjoyable experience in the hotel from the beginning to the end of your stay. As my voicemail earlier this afternoon indicated; I am looking forward to speaking with you and hope to welcome you back to the hotel with our compliments for an enjoyable experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The king guest room was so small. When we opened the door, it hit the nightstand, so very cramped. The bathroom was the same way, door would barely hit the toilet when open. The king best was amazingly comfortable but we would have liked to have a bit bigger of a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Katies
I am happy to hear that you were able to rest and have a great night’s sleep! As a historic hotel we have many different hotel room layouts. As a company that strives to reach and exceed our guests’ needs and expectations we are always happy to showcase other room options to our guests who may have had a different expectation upon arrival. Our goal is to ensure your visit is memorable and enjoyable and we look forward to offering this to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting Marquette. Easy walk to campus. Took shuttle from airport at hotels suggestion which is a deal. Shuttle is picked up at desk at 3rd baggage claim. Hotel is a unique and beautiful experience. Hilton Honors lounge is huge. Old world feeling everywhere. Staff wonderful, particularly manager, Brandon, that allowed late check out and delivered new room keys to us directly. Very friendly and formal at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.