We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms in Grand Hotel But Not Full Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms in Grand Hotel But Not Full Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice refurbed rooms in a large historic hotel building. The lobby area and bar nicely appointed too but these areas are not staffed...The basement bar/grill is the place to grab a drink but it is a sports bar so not ideal for business or reading a book after hard days business. Starbucks attached but closes early. Chophouse also in building but very expensive. The hotel needs something in the middle. It feels like a major hotel but without the full service aspects one would expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear photoiq
Thank you for the review and the great pictures to go along with it! The Monarch Lounge located adjacent to the main lobby does provide full beverage service and dining opportunities starting at 5pm daily. Throughout the day this area is designed to be a “tech-friendly” area, offering our guests the use of complimentary computers and printing capabilties (separate of our Hotel Business Center). We also invite our guests to relax and enjoy the soft seating and the live entertainment which is provided every Friday and Saturday night. The Miller Time Pub has just completed a renovation of the entire dining room. This area too now provides a lofted dining area which will offer our guests an opportunity to relax in a more comfortable lounge environment. We do appreciate your feedback on the dining experience you encountered and look forward to showcasing the new Miller Time Pub and Monarch Lounge on a future visit to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    391
    165
    92
    47
See reviews for
172
241
75
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I pre-ordered food items to be ready on arrival and unfortunately they were not. I called and requested the items and Nate of the Room Service staff went above and beyond by not charging us for the items and for treating us to dinner. I was highly impressed by the Hilton's response to our small inconvenience. The room was great and the stay was perfect. Thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a nice room. However the location isn't the best unless you are attending a conference. THe Hilton Garden is closer to 3rd Ward area and resturants and bars. Grand Ave Mall is very sad to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Jennifer1115
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and accommodations within the hotel. We look forward to hosting a future visit of yours in Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with family for our nephew's wedding. The hotel staff was so friendly, greeting us by name after the first day and answering any question we had. One watch out is that there is a waterpark inside the hotel so there were a lot of children. I have nothing against small children but I didnt expect this to be like a great wolf lodge. We had a great room with a beautiful view but our first morning after being at a party late into the night we were awakened at 6am by the children in the room next to us who were ready to go to the pool. not their fault and they werent screaming but it did distrub us. We went to the front desk to see if they were checking out - it was Saturday- and if not we were going to ask to be moved. We werent complaining but just wanted to be moved. The front desk apologized all over the place and even gave us a discount on our parking. We didnt ask for anything just inquired as to whether our neighbors were checking out. They were leaving that day and we were happy. In our opinion the front desk staff exceeded our expectations.
The location of the hotel was convenient to many of the trendy areas of Milwaukee. My DH even took a walk to Marquette. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had a great room. The HH club was very nice with wonderful service. I couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff at the front desk was nice and I loved the bar in front of the hotel.
Plus, I was n a high floor and had a great view of Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Patrick!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We take great pleasure in providing the best possible service to all of our guests, and it's always great to see that we've delivered on that.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Comfortable, clean accommodations! Comfortable beds with real pillows. Great food in the restaurants . Great location with easy access to BMO Bradley Center, museums, shopping. Helpful, friendly and professional staff. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a beautiful property with endless architectural details in a prime location. Staff provides exceptional service. On location steak house and "Miller Time" pub offer convenient food and cocktail options. I recommend Moe's Pub for lunch or Moe's steak house for dinner, both served delicious meals with great service. I am extremely happy with the Priceline deal of $53/night for a weekend rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1821 which provided a beautiful view of the lakefront and cityscape. We were also able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.