We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with family for our nephew's wedding. The hotel staff was so friendly, greeting us by name after the first day and answering any question we had. One watch out is that there is a waterpark inside the hotel so there were a lot of children. I have nothing against small children but I didnt expect this to be like a great wolf lodge. We had a great room with a beautiful view but our first morning after being at a party late into the night we were awakened at 6am by the children in the room next to us who were ready to go to the pool. not their fault and they werent screaming but it did distrub us. We went to the front desk to see if they were checking out - it was Saturday- and if not we were going to ask to be moved. We werent complaining but just wanted to be moved. The front desk apologized all over the place and even gave us a discount on our parking. We didnt ask for anything just inquired as to whether our neighbors were checking out. They were leaving that day and we were happy. In our opinion the front desk staff exceeded our expectations.
The location of the hotel was convenient to many of the trendy areas of Milwaukee. My DH even took a walk to Marquette. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    339
    142
    87
    45
See reviews for
150
201
66
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had a great room. The HH club was very nice with wonderful service. I couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff at the front desk was nice and I loved the bar in front of the hotel.
Plus, I was n a high floor and had a great view of Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Patrick!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We take great pleasure in providing the best possible service to all of our guests, and it's always great to see that we've delivered on that.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Comfortable, clean accommodations! Comfortable beds with real pillows. Great food in the restaurants . Great location with easy access to BMO Bradley Center, museums, shopping. Helpful, friendly and professional staff. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a beautiful property with endless architectural details in a prime location. Staff provides exceptional service. On location steak house and "Miller Time" pub offer convenient food and cocktail options. I recommend Moe's Pub for lunch or Moe's steak house for dinner, both served delicious meals with great service. I am extremely happy with the Priceline deal of $53/night for a weekend rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1821 which provided a beautiful view of the lakefront and cityscape. We were also able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ok. So I'm at a convention and the Hilton is the HQ hotel. Have to admit that I was not expecting much. But WRONG. After a 5 day stay here in March I am convinced they have the best trained staff in the entire US. A big shout out to Kelly who was there for us everyday...in the restaurant, in the breakfast room, at the bar. She even went the extra mile to go retrieve a "better" bottle of Chardonnay that she knew was at a different location in the hotel. Wonderfully renovated upper lobby area made for great convention gathering nexus. Thanks you guys. You were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow, anadamansea!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hilton City Center, I cannot thank you enough for this fantastic review! It's not every day that someone claims we're the best trained staff in the country - but we certainly relish the privilege of being viewed as such by one of our guests.

We're so thrilled you were able to experience our hotel during your convention, and hope that this stellar experience might bring you back to Milwaukee in the future - and we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With its clean rooms, excellent breakfast buffet, beautifully restored lobby and common areas, the Hilton City Center is extremely convenient to the convention center and within easy walking distance of the Milwaukee Publilc Museum and the performing arts complex. A beautiful and spacious lounge with a player piano tickling its own ivories is on the main floor, and guests can sit there to chat or read during the day without needing to buy beverages. The art deco details of the common areas are gorgeous and recently restored, according to the very personable bellman who patiently escorted us to several rooms with our luggage in tow. (We did have a check-in fiasco, but I do not think it was typical.) Although I would have preferred a hotel closer to Lake Michigan, I have no complaints about the accommodations or the service. A great choice if you are attending a convention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi GermaWashingtonState,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor, and thank you for your extremely kind words. We're glad that you were able to appreciate and experience our historical space, and happy to hear with the exception of a check-in snafu your stay was without complaints.

Should you make it to Milwaukee again on business or pleasure, we hope you might decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Milwaukee City Center over the weekend for a Bucks game. It was in a pretty good location, a few blocks from the Bradley Center, restaurants and bars. We got an awesome deal so this hotel was super fancy for the price we paid! We traveled with 2 other couples and each king room was laid out a little differently but they were all spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.