We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed at worse hotels... But not many.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6331 South 13th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53221 (Formerly The Plaza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've stayed at worse hotels... But not many.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Some of the simple things that you would expect from a hotel are seriously lacking with this Ramada. I'll number my complaints below:

1) Biggest issue for me was NO WI-FI in my room. I told the front desk and they gave me the 1-800 number to their internet provider tech support. Their advice? Just change rooms. I'm unpacked and not interested in changing rooms only to find the wi-fi doesn't work there either. Internet issue NEVER resolved during my five night stay.

2) Pool area had green "stuff" growing in the cement. Also, no pool towels? Maybe I could have brought a towel from my room but it's not often a hotel pool doesn't have a stack of towels out. No problem, though, since there were plenty of paper towels in the bathroom.

3) My balcony sliding door had no handle, inside or out. I had to use friction and slide the door open by putting my hands on the glass and then not shut it all the way so I could come back in from the balcony.

4) The balcony itself had more broken, crumbling cement than it didn't.

5) On day three, I came back to my room and found a set of sheets flopped down onto my open suitcase. My bed was made but... Were my sheets supposed to be changed? Did someone leave those there on accident? Given the cleanliness of the hotel in general, I wouldn't have been surprised to find bedbugs. But thanks for dropping the clean (?) sheets onto all my clothes. If I come home with bedbugs, I'll send the bill to Ramada.

6) Carpet in hallways was dingy, old, stained, and covered in blackened gum. My room carpet had many dark stains as well.

7) Desk staff was cold and impersonal. I don't expect a birthday party when I show up but the only flight I could come into Milwaukee on landed at 10am. Check-in was 2pm. There was NO flexibility given, not even a half-hour for me to check in. So I drove my rental car to the dollar theater and saw Men In Black 3. That's a separate bad review...

8) This may be nit-picking but... It looked like there were still Christmas lights strung up and hanging all sloppy-like from the roof. If they were just there for ambience, they looked terrible. If they WERE still Christmas lights, shame on you, Ramada. This was August.

I normally like to add positives if I'm going to say anything negative about an organization but... Yeah. The ice machine worked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    76
    67
    64
    89
See reviews for
116
75
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DFW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

While it is a ok motel with good bedding, etc., however, it has a conference hall that it rents for local parties, which means you have to live with LOUD music till midnight. I was there this weekend and when I complaint at 11pm that there is too loud music, I was told they have a contract that the conference hall tenant can ply music till midnight and nothing we can do about it. So, you pay to sleep there but they will not care about your convenience and make you hear loud nusic till mignight! Have a good Night if you still choose to be there...

Room Tip: Try a room towards the front of the motel if you have to be there as far away from conference area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I really don't know where to begin. I have stayed here in years past and have been pleased with my stay. It's unbelievable how terrible it became in a few years. The woman at the front desk was comically rude. It was like candid camera or something. Our first room was full of black mold. They attempted to cover the smell with some strong cleaner that made my eyes burn. Rude front desk lady was very put out by any request to move. The carpet was so dirty my bare feet were black! The sleep number beds did not work. Our friends were staying with children. They brought food for lunches and the fridge stopped working spoiling their food. Our credit cards were double charged and rude lady failed to mention a $100.00 incidentals fee. Sat night there was crazy loud music keeping everyone awake and front desk hung up on us four times and told our friends they could just leave. You do not get the free drink coupon they advertise and when we asked the rude woman she said I'm sure some idiots at Irish Fest will be stupid enough to buy you drinks. There were not enough towels and my friend ending up cleaning the filthy rooms herself. Also there was nothing to prevent the children from just falling out the window three stories. It took an hour to get the very mediocre breakfast and impossible to get coffee and ketchup. AVOID AVOID AVOID! I don't foresee it improving anytime soon as management and staff are at best apathetic and usually rude.

Room Tip: AVOID if possible but if you must stay, AVOID first floor as it is the most moldy and dirty but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked a room at this place for last Saturday night. When we showed up we found a large party in their ballroom going on. I asked the clerk to be put as far away as possible from the noise. It was very loud. She told me that our room was ready but it wasn't far away from the hall. Actually it was about 30 feet from the back entrance to the hall and had people standing around. There had to be over 200 people inside dancing to the music. When I told her that the room location might be bad, she advised me that the party would only go on until midnight. 30 feet from our door.
I finally told her that I would check the room to see how bad it was, was given the key and went to the room. Upon opening it, a very large man got out of the bed and asked what we were doing there. She gave us an occupied room. I stormed back to the desk and was told the hotel was totally booked and we could cancel.
As I turned to leave, she looked at another customer and said "We were able to find a room for you". This was a walk-in! This place was the hotel from hell. The Bates Motel might have been more friendly! Since everything else was sold out, we had to drive 25 miles to Racine to find a room.

Room Tip: Rooms across the street at the Comfort Inn & Suites are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Where is the Health Department!!!!!!!!!!! Horrible experience from the first second of arrival to the last second of leaving. Heather at the front desk needs to be fired and never allowed to work in this field again! Overcharged for room! First room smelled of mold and God only knows what else. There with two children with Asmtha and no healthy air for them. The room we were moved to had a crack in the celling, bathroom never been washed, room was cleaned the on third night we were there. Yes, I said night!! The refigerator was broken and we lost $30. in food. The one bed did not have the remote and the other bed did not inflate properly! The bedding was a disgrace, my rags look better! I had to clean the rooms everyday by searching the floors for the housekeeping people and getting supplies! Stains on the carpet, broken picture glass frame. Air vents dusty and moldy in the bathroom. Security locks on outside doors are broken. One night the party room, outside of our window, was loud and went on until midnight! Really, put up a sound proff wall!!!! Don't eat the pizza! Toddlers can make a better pizza! I will say this, they didn't have bed bugs, at least not that I know of! Also we were charged an incidental fee per day, Who would want to steal anything and How could anymore damage really matter?

Room Tip: Go anywhere else, go quickly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I thought the name Ramada held a certain standard in the industry. Apparently not anymore.
We stayed 2 nights (8/17 & 8/18/12) which was 2 nights too many. I can't even begin to list all the things that were wrong with this hotel. To summarize: workout equipment is 20 years old and doesn't work, carpet runners in the hallway are soiled and smell and the Christmas lights are still hanging from the roof. If your a vagrant, it'll be right up your alley.
If Ramada had any sense, they would either jump on this for rennovation or get their name off the building (before it's condemned).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

ometimes I question my loyalty. Over the past 3 years, For every Milwaukee visit I have been staying at this Ramada. Lots to like:
1. Free shuttle to the airport.
2. Rooms are big and comfy.
3. Wonderful Lobby, bar, swimming pool and workout area.
4. Affordable price: You can normally get a king size room for $65 per night including all taxes.
5. The Best showers.
6. Free breakfast.

Lots to Dislike:
1. Micro size bathroom. Bathrooms are smaller than most walk in closets.
2. Slow Slow, Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi is so slow, most web sites will not load.
3. Old 27 inch CRT TVs.
4. Not good customer service. This is very hit and miss. About a year ago this Ramada changed ownership. Since then customer service has taken a back seat. Better hope the front desk person is having a good day. Also, I have never seen a crankier house keeping staff.
5. Rooms. Some of the rooms have new carpets and beddings. But all rooms have the pesky, not working Selectcomfort beds. If you get an upgraded room, good, if not the room actually stinks of mold and mildew.
6. Bad clientele. This is the cheapest hotel close to the Milwaukee airport, so it has become the hangout of riff raff. On the last visit the clientele was scary. Not so good people were hanging out in the hallways. Loud music and people running in the hallways till midnight. There was a loud argument in the parking lot at 200am in the morning.

Yes, there are lots of hotel choices on 13th St. Look elsewhere for peace of mind.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor. Overworked Housekeeping normally never gets to clean the 3rd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 6331 South 13th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53221 (Formerly The Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in close proximity to the Milwaukee General Mitchell International Airport, the Ramada Milwaukee Hotel & Conference Center is perfect for your next stay in the Milwaukee area. Offering 163 rooms with 4 suites. Stop in and grab a bite to eat at Buck & Brew Restaurant or have a drink at the lounge. The Atrium offers wonderful space for a wedding, party, or meeting. Let our staff give you a warm welcome and make you feel like you're home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Conference Center Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.