We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Willoughby, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were a bit apprehensive about staying at the hotel because of the renovations. The hotel turned out to be a great stay. Sure, many changes taking place but...staff were friendly and professional (front desk, transportation, breakfast staff and cleaning staff). The hotel is in a great location, free parking and complimentary breakfast (a surprise to us). If you can tolerate the construction, this a decent hotel. The renovations are going to make this hotel even a better place.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was great despite being in our construction zone. You are correct, we are working towards an amazing product which will still offer free parking and free internet along with new food and beverage options, updated guestrooms and meeting space and a stunning new look to the entire hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    118
    76
    38
    16
See reviews for
98
78
33
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I normally do not write reviews on anything, even after a bad experience but just felt I had to share. We stayed here while the hotel was under renovations. It was a construction zone that made guests very uncomfortable. The staff were very stressed and it showed. They did not answer calls to the front desk, room service or the
restaurant. They ran out of towels, blankets,coffee and refrigerators. The rooms were falling apart and in dire need of updates. We were overcharged and has to insist on our quoted price. The pool was not a clean area and my kids would not use it. Their were multiple arrests in the parking lot of the hotel and in the hotel itself during our stay. The bathrooms are microscopic and I could not even get in and shut the for without having to rub up to the toilet. I would not stay here again even after the updates.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. You are absolutely correct in saying the hotel is in a construction zone as we are in process of a multi-million dollar renovation. I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay but can assure you that it is not our standard practice. We are working towards a brand new and amazing product that will offer multiple food and beverage outlets, new guestrooms and meeting space and an overall fresh new look! I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel post renovation and am happy to discuss any concerns you may have personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I did not realize the hotel was under construction, transitioning from Hilton to Holiday Inn when I checked in. Needless to stay the lobby area was a little daunting as it was actually a construction zone. However, services such as internet were available...and I appreciated the free Wi-Fi. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the Anchorage Restaurant was still serviceable. My room, while a touch dated, was very comfortable. I appreciated the free parking. I am sure all involved will be glad when the renovations are done. I enjoyed and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and patience during our renovation! You are absolutely correct in your assessment as we work towards a new and magnificent product. The hotel is being completely redone and it will be stunning, offering multiple food and beverage options, brand new guestrooms, meeting space and an overall fresh updated look throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were there because it was within walking distance of WI Beer Fest at Bayshore. Staff was nice, but confused. Room was clean with good bed and bedding. Buffet breakfast offered omelettes but no one was ever there to make them. Overall I would recommend waiting until rennovations are done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Yes, we are in the midst of multi-million dollar renovation and things are definitely on the move in the hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay but please know we are working towards a magnificent product! We would love to welcome you can the next time your travels bring you in our direction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

When we booked this, it was a Hilton. It was hard to find from the road because they have put a sheet over the sign in front. They told us that they are currently an independent and are doing extensive renovations in anticipation of becoming a Holiday Inn.
That aside, this is a good hotel at an excellent price. Our room was a decent size and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel, and the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

I am happy to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed our staff. We are indeed in the midst of a multi million dollar renovation which will make the property even better! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
223 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 when the hotel was still a Hilton hotel. We liked it very much - staff was very helpful and friendly. Room and beds were excellent. There is a sitting area in front of the hotel were you can smoke and drink in peace. Location besides the Milwaukee river is nice and the Bay Shore Town Center (open air plaza type mall) with lots of shops and restaurants is an easy 6 min drive away. We can receommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Doffa,

Thank you so much for your comments and your business! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay in look forward to welcoming you back to the property should your travels ever bring you back to our area. We are currently in the midst of a multi million dollar renovation which will make the property even better.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for a family gathering. During this time, somebody got ahold of my breakfast receipt and used it to call my room, and try to scam me out of my credit card #. I saw this receipt sitting at the front desk a few minutes later, so it may well have been someone on staff, for all I know, They also double-charged me for one room, which I will have to sort out with my credit card company. Overall, they just generally seem disorganized. and the place is a mess--we saw a very large puddle of water (I hope) on the lobby floor. This is no longer. a Hilton, and is operating as the Mikwaukee River Inn while itis being renovated to become a Holiday Inn. I wouldn't go anywhere near it , at least until it's been rebranded

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

Yes, our hotel was recently sold, with the new ownership group beginning a wonderful renovation project to become a full-serviced Holiday Inn property that builds upon our existing strengths and features......a unique location along the Milwaukee River, a dedicated staff, and a fantastic signature restaurant in The Anchorage.

The renovations are professionally coordinated by an astute team of architects and engineers as to blend both the continuance of a full-serviced environment for our guests as well as the logistical changes that will take place. So far, this has only affected our lobby/front desk areas, which have been temporarily relocated.

A larger lobby with river views, an expanded ballroom, a refurbished restaurant with an expanded patio, and totally remodel guestrooms will all be included in these next few months!

The desire is to be as minimally invasive to our guests and staff while these phenomenal enhancements are made.

To date, a number of our guests have positively commented on how this has been coordinated, on how our unique hotel is still fully operational on all levels, and how these renovations will benefit them in the coming months.

In essence, our past successes and accolades that have garnished our hotel and restaurant awards and praise on this very Trip Advisor forum will be improved, enhanced, and accented through this transition.....all with guest comfort and enjoyment being paramount!

We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay as we make these improvements.

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.