We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite Construction, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Despite Construction, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I did not realize the hotel was under construction, transitioning from Hilton to Holiday Inn when I checked in. Needless to stay the lobby area was a little daunting as it was actually a construction zone. However, services such as internet were available...and I appreciated the free Wi-Fi. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the Anchorage Restaurant was still serviceable. My room, while a touch dated, was very comfortable. I appreciated the free parking. I am sure all involved will be glad when the renovations are done. I enjoyed and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and patience during our renovation! You are absolutely correct in your assessment as we work towards a new and magnificent product. The hotel is being completely redone and it will be stunning, offering multiple food and beverage options, brand new guestrooms, meeting space and an overall fresh updated look throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    126
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
102
88
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were there because it was within walking distance of WI Beer Fest at Bayshore. Staff was nice, but confused. Room was clean with good bed and bedding. Buffet breakfast offered omelettes but no one was ever there to make them. Overall I would recommend waiting until rennovations are done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Yes, we are in the midst of multi-million dollar renovation and things are definitely on the move in the hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay but please know we are working towards a magnificent product! We would love to welcome you can the next time your travels bring you in our direction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

When we booked this, it was a Hilton. It was hard to find from the road because they have put a sheet over the sign in front. They told us that they are currently an independent and are doing extensive renovations in anticipation of becoming a Holiday Inn.
That aside, this is a good hotel at an excellent price. Our room was a decent size and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel, and the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

I am happy to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed our staff. We are indeed in the midst of a multi million dollar renovation which will make the property even better! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 when the hotel was still a Hilton hotel. We liked it very much - staff was very helpful and friendly. Room and beds were excellent. There is a sitting area in front of the hotel were you can smoke and drink in peace. Location besides the Milwaukee river is nice and the Bay Shore Town Center (open air plaza type mall) with lots of shops and restaurants is an easy 6 min drive away. We can receommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Doffa,

Thank you so much for your comments and your business! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay in look forward to welcoming you back to the property should your travels ever bring you back to our area. We are currently in the midst of a multi million dollar renovation which will make the property even better.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for a family gathering. During this time, somebody got ahold of my breakfast receipt and used it to call my room, and try to scam me out of my credit card #. I saw this receipt sitting at the front desk a few minutes later, so it may well have been someone on staff, for all I know, They also double-charged me for one room, which I will have to sort out with my credit card company. Overall, they just generally seem disorganized. and the place is a mess--we saw a very large puddle of water (I hope) on the lobby floor. This is no longer. a Hilton, and is operating as the Mikwaukee River Inn while itis being renovated to become a Holiday Inn. I wouldn't go anywhere near it , at least until it's been rebranded

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

Yes, our hotel was recently sold, with the new ownership group beginning a wonderful renovation project to become a full-serviced Holiday Inn property that builds upon our existing strengths and features......a unique location along the Milwaukee River, a dedicated staff, and a fantastic signature restaurant in The Anchorage.

The renovations are professionally coordinated by an astute team of architects and engineers as to blend both the continuance of a full-serviced environment for our guests as well as the logistical changes that will take place. So far, this has only affected our lobby/front desk areas, which have been temporarily relocated.

A larger lobby with river views, an expanded ballroom, a refurbished restaurant with an expanded patio, and totally remodel guestrooms will all be included in these next few months!

The desire is to be as minimally invasive to our guests and staff while these phenomenal enhancements are made.

To date, a number of our guests have positively commented on how this has been coordinated, on how our unique hotel is still fully operational on all levels, and how these renovations will benefit them in the coming months.

In essence, our past successes and accolades that have garnished our hotel and restaurant awards and praise on this very Trip Advisor forum will be improved, enhanced, and accented through this transition.....all with guest comfort and enjoyment being paramount!

We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay as we make these improvements.

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is being switched to a holiday Inn property, and is going through building changes right now. The hallways are old-looking, fixtures, carpet, and other things need replacing which is I guess why they are overhauling the place. Room seems nice enough and clean though except for some mildew in the bathtub and some wallpaper issues.

Probably would have stayed somewhere else had I known that they were switching to a different hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your comments!

New ownership of the property is beginning the transition to become a magnificent Holiday Inn property, building upon our past successes such as our noted restaurant, The Anchorage, our dedicated staff and service levels, the prior enhancements such as new carpeting and wallpaper, and our river-side locale.

A larger lobby with river views, an expanded ballroom, a refurbished restaurant with an expanded patio, and totally remodel guestrooms will all be included in these next few months!

We look forward to being a part of your lodging and dining needs as these enhancements progress!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful and the buffet was excellent for breakfast. The check in/out procedure was smooth. It was an enjoyable stay even though we were not in our room very much. We had a nice view of the river from our room. It was a good room for the price and we will return to this hotel if in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so very much for your comments that positively referenced a number of our amenities, staff, and services.

We take great pride in the levels of customer service, cleanliness, the ambiance of our location, and the quality of our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, that we extend to our guests!

We do look forward to welcoming you back here again for your area travels!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.