We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Lansing, United States
1 review
“Visiting family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I were in Milwaukee visiting family and stayed in the hotel since it was close by. We were impressed by the welcome we received from the moment we entered the hotel. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, everyone was pleasant, said hello, and asked if we needed any help. The room was also comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for providing your positive comments about our Hotel and our staff members following your recent visit with us!

All areas of our facility, from housekeeping to front desk, work hard to make sure our guests have a great stay with us. Add to that our signature restaurant, The Anchorage (soon to celebrate a 40th anniversary!), and our Hotel truly stands out as unique!

If another family visit is on the horizon for you and your wife, we look forward to welcoming you back!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    118
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
99
82
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I wanted to spend a weekend with our daughter in Milwaukee Wisconsin. I chose the Hilton, based on my experiences of staying at Hilton Hotels around the country. They are my Hotel preference of choice. The lobby makes you feel so comfortable when you walk in, it starts that peace of mind. The Desk Staff go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. The Door Man, is "johnny on the spot" as soon as you arrive, and have not experienced this type of service at any of the other large hotel chains. The rooms are spectacular, everything you could want and imagined. I strongly recommend this Hilton Hotel if you are in the Milwaukee area, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and comments about our unique Hotel, as well as for our dedicated staff members! All much appreciated!

I'm proud that our staffs, from the housekeepers to the front desk, all combine their efforts to make our guests' stay memorable, as well as comfortable. Our recent enhancements of new carpeting and wallpaper accent the solid oak features of our Hotel, highlighted by our sunken lobby and fireplace sitting area that you enjoyed.

Coupling this with our signature restaurant, The Anchorage (an area icon and soon to celebrate a 40th anniversary), and our unique location along the river gives our facility the opportunity to be a primary destination in the area!

Looking forward to being of continued service to you and your wife for your family visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A little tired. If the Hilton would not be pulling the franchise and putting some money in this property it would be great. The location is perfect and being on the river is very unique. Wish Hilton would reconsider pulling this franchise and put the money into it so it would be like it was in the mid 80's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments and words of support!

We do agree with you that our hotel and acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, are unique.....not just for its fantastic location along the river and close to Downtown and Glendale, but for its levels of customer service, our collective style, and exceptional food quality.

We have made a wide variety of recent enhancements to our property, and look forward to the next phases.

Glad to have your continued patronage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you do not need to be right in down town Milwaukee this Hilton Hotel is an excellent choice. I have stayed here several times, to visit family in the area, and always satisfied. Great staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice restaurant, bar, and shuttle service within the area. Bayshore shopping and restaurants are close by. Free internet in rooms and a business center as well. Price is very competitive and they even gave me complimentary breakfast vouchers being a HHilton Honors member and staying there a considerable number of nights. I don't think there is anything else in the immediate area that compares to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year!
And thank you for taking the time to provide us with these positive comments!
Naturally, we concur!

I feel that we have a very unique hotel setting that offers guests the convenience of a full-service setting, along with the luxury of being close to both Downtown and the local shopping at Bayshore! Combined with a very dedicated staff and our award-winning, signature restaurant, The Anchorage, guests appreciate being able to enjoy these services and amenities.

The Anchorage is also soon to celebrate its 40th anniversary (they also have a Trip Advisor listing for your comments), and is proudly an icon in the area, setting itself apart from standard hotel fare!

We look forward to being of continued service for your area stays!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is located north of downtown in Glendale. If you have a car it is a short drive to downtown and to the airport, which is south of downtown. The hotel is located on the river, with great views of water, wildlife and trees. The Anchorage restaurant is first rate and the bartender on New Years Eve was friendly and knowledgeable about drinks, wine and beer. Our room was comfortable and good sized, with a large desk and new TV. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year!
And thanks for making us part of your recent NYE plans!

We are very proud of our hotel, our unique location along the river, and our staff members, thanking you for your comments accordingly.

We are particularly proud of our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, which will soon celebrate its 40th anniversary! It is a dining icon, and has distinguished itself from being simply a standard food outlet in a hotel! (They also have their own Trip Advisor site for your comments.) This feature is quite the positive asset and amenity for our hotel guests as well, presenting them with a noted option when staying with us.

I am also very glad to read that our entire staff conducted themselves in a manner than made your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The moment Kathy checked us in I knew all would be ok at this Hilton in what I would call an out of the way location. Everything was up to Hilton standards and, especially, the housekeeping and room service. The room was very clean with very fresh linens and towels. The only complaint I would have is that the color scheme in the hallways is horrendous orange and there is only one very slow elevator. Thank you for a very wonderful stay, Kathy, and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: I would say to ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year, and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us!

Our facility is actually located in a white-collar, medically-oriented campus setting, in addition to being beautifully situated alongside the river and parkway. We are also within close proximity to the attractions of Downtown, as well as to the local shopping/features of the Bayshore Town Center, giving guests a wide variety of options.

We recently completed a number of enhancement projects, one of them being to our lobby and corridor areas. This involved new wallpaper and carpeting that were specifically chosen to accent the wonderfully unique woodwork that is prominent in our facility.....solid natural oak!

I'm glad that our staff members, from front desk to room service to housekeeping, all made for an enjoyable visit! (Although they were remiss in telling you that we also have a 2nd elevator near the pool area....FYI for a future stay!)

Thanks again for your well-received comments, as we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very nice hotel that was totally spotless with very friendly people working there. Our room view was towards the river which was relaxing and beautiful with snow on the trees and just a few areas of river visible through the ice and snow. Access to the highway was very easy and close. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Happy New Year, and thanks for your comments following your recent stay!

Our unique Hotel is highlighted by a very efficient staff, from housekeeping to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, as well as for its unique location along the river. In addition, we are very close to the Downtown, Lakefront, and area shopping districts like the Bayshore Town Center, giving guests convenient travel and lodging logistics.

We do look forward to welcoming you back!

-- Michael Dietrich // General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.