We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The biggest plus here is the staff who are very efficient and friendly. The hotel is well located just off the interstate. The decor is quite dated but the beds are super comfortable. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, as well as the comments on our staff! They do strive to make guests' stays as pleasant as possible.

We have completed a number of enhancement projects, which have included new hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom TVs and safes, new bedding and linens, and a remodeled restaurant. Future projects will certainly follow!

Glad to welcome you back to our Hotel for a future trip!

-- Michael Dietrich, G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    114
    69
    36
    13
See reviews for
93
75
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neenah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good night sleep before Brewer half marathon. I would stay at this hotel anytime I visit the Milwaukee area, service friendliness is top notch. Check in was quick, there was a college soccer team in the hotel and if I would not have seen them at check in I would have never known. Service was remarkable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Glad to read that our service levels at the Hilton Milwaukee River made for a comfortable night's rest before your Brewer Marathon! (I had friends that ran in that event as well.....maybe they should have stayed over here too, as they only did so-so at Miller Park!!)

In all areas of our facility, I am quite proud of our staff members and the dedicated efforts that they provide to our guests.....runners and soccer teams alike during your stay!

Please don't wait until next year's event to visit us again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Quiet hotel located just off the interstate with a lovely river flowing behind it. Decor in the lobby and rooms feels a bit dated (seriously, who paints hallways orange?) but the rooms are clean & comfortable.

Our room rate included breakfast coupons and 2 for 1 drink coupons. Breakfast is a full buffet with a great many choices including several kinds of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Great value with the coupon. We had drinks & free happy hour snacks at the outdoor patio overlooking the river - which was lovely.

This hotel is a great alternative to the pricier downtown hotels; it is a 10 - 15 minute drive to downtown.

Room Tip: ask for river front room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your notations here on Trip Advisor following your stay with us! Especially as our Hotel and signature restaurant, The Anchorage, both have gone through substantial improvement projects over the past 18-odd months.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

Recent completions now showcase completely new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access corridors, which many other guests have complimented us on.

We are equally proud of The Anchorage, accenting a near 40-year history with their new menus and contemporary décor. I am glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, a favorite to over-night guests and local dining patrons alike.

Should your travels bring you back to the Milwaukee area, we look forward to welcoming you again!

-- Michael Dietrich, G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff everywhere in this hotel were friendly and helpful. The front desk staff always had a big hello and a smile, they did their job well and were always pleasant. The cleaning staff outside our room always greeted us with a friendly hello. The restaurant staff, Ryan in particular, was especially understanding and helpful when we arrived after a long drive and suggested options for dinner when we really didn't know what we wanted. But above all was the maitre'd cum barman who was suave and gentile and on Sunday morning when hundreds of guests were lined up for buffet breakfast agreed to our request to simply sit at the bar and have coffee with our relatives. He went out of his way as he was extremely busy and never showed any irritation with us but was always polite and friendly.

These people are the stars of this hotel. We ordered room service breakfast one morning which was a huge mistake. We knew it would be more expensive but we thought we'd get decent food but that was not the case. It was simply put -- inedible. The coffee was better though than the coffee machine offering in the room. Yes, inedible and very expensive. It would be one thing to have it be expensive and very tasty, that would be acceptable. The restaurant food was much better, to be expected I'd guess, with their signature seafood soup (can't remember it's actual name) quite good.

The mattress was very soft and the pillows were so soft that it took several of them to make one good pillow, fortunately there were many pillows. However, if one has back problems this bed is not for you. I was truly surprised to find that I actually slept through the night.

I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for your insights and comments following your recent stay with us! All appreciated!

Of the many services and amenities that our Hotel offers, two certainly stand out. And both were positively cited in your comments. They are our staff members, especially in our front lines, and our award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage, which has their own dedicated Trip Advisor listing for your direct comments to our restaurant as well.

From bartenders and waitstaff in The Anchorage, to the front desk and housekeeping staff members on the Hotel side, we all work together to create a positive experience for our guests.

This said, I do apologize if you felt that room service was sub-standard. I'd like to think that this was an anomaly, as the same staff that garnishes praise in The Anchorage itself with its service and culinary quality (our signature soup is the Red Snapper with Sherry by the way!), is the same staff that facilitates our room service. I will personally address these concerns with the staff involved, though, to make sure that this is corrected.

With more positive experiences than negative ones, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our unique Hotel and signature restaurant again!

-- Michael Dietrich
G.M. / Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in the Hilton family chain. It is not the newest or the fanciest in any way but it feels like home. The staff is always fantastic from the front desk to the restaurant. This location doesn't the Hilton family proud. I would highly recommend this hotel for a friendly comfortable stay with oversized rooms and great people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and compliments!

With our dedicated staff, our noted restaurant (The Anchorage), and our sizable guestrooms, we look forward to continuing to earn your praise and recommendations!

Glad we are part of your favorite hotels in the Hilton family, including hotels overall, for your travels! Come back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and a short drive from downtown Milwaukee. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant had a very delicious breakfast buffet. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments!

We share with you the pride of an efficient and friendly staff, our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and the unique location that is close to the many social and business attractions of the immediate Glendale and Milwaukee areas.

Please visit us again!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I originally hesitated booking this room based on the negative reviews. Glad I didn't listen to them. We were there for one night only. We did not try the pool or restaurant. We stayed on points and had no problem getting a reservation a couple of days prior to our arrival.

The room was rather large...larger than most. Beds appeared to be new, as the mattresses were comfy. Bathroom was fine with standard amenities, including liquid bath gel in addition to standard bar soap. I have to admit that the color scheme in the hallways/carpets felt a bit strange to me, but that did not take away from the comfort and cleanliness of the room.

If you are looking for a clean, nice place to stay for the night, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We're also glad that you didn't listen to the lesser comments (thankfully in the minority compared to the positive ones), as we continually strive to be a very unique and personable Hotel for our guests!

We have made a variety of substantial enhancements to our Hotel, with new bedding and linens being one of them in addition to new flat-screen TVs, new hallway carpeting and wallpaper, and in-room safes. Many of our guests compliment the color schemes and patterns for a more modern feel.

We also made improvements to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, which will soon celebrate its 40th anniversary! A totally new decor now accents a new menu that highlights our seafood heritage, all in a setting that overlooks the scenic river banks.

Should your travels bring you back to the Milwaukee area, we hope to welcome you back here!

-- Michael Dietrich // G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.