We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton on the River is a Great experiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
New York, City, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hilton on the River is a Great experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Hilton in location near many business in a City that has so much culture and yet no traffic. The Restaurant on the River is fantastic with outside deck seating right on the river. The staff is great on making sure the stay was carefree so I could just get the business I was doing done. Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your commentary here on Trip Advisor!

While we tout many of our amenities such as our outstanding restaurant, The Anchorage, or our complimentary WI-FI service, or our levels of customer service, we sometimes overlook our unique setting as an important amenity as well. It places us near the primary attractions within the Glendale / Northshore communities such as the Bayshore Town Center, The Sprecher Brewery, and UW-Milwaukee, all while situated along the banks of the Milwaukee River.

Thanks as well for your comments on The Anchorage, a very popular area dining destination known for its seafood, its visuals, and its patio. They also have a separate Trip Advisor listing for your direct/specific comments.

Hope we can welcome you back to both relax and to get your business obligations successfully completed!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    114
    69
    36
    12
See reviews for
92
75
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was in town to race in triathlon and I found the location of this hotel to be convenient for my preparation.The location of this hotel is not downtown but near by the local stores, restaurants and parks. This help avoid all the construction delays. I even was told of a back way to get to downtown, which helped me avoid all freeways on race day. The employees here were very helpful and nice at all hours of the day. I had to call ahead of time because I was getting a package delivered. The only problem I had was that because this hotel is one of the older hotels, was the noise. There was a lot of activity there that weekend and that noise was easily heard from my room at different hours of the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, as well as allowing us to be your local host for the recent Triathlon hosted in the area!

Yes, our fantastic location places guests within proximity to all of Downtown Milwaukee's attractions, venues, and Lakefront areas. But it also gives you great access to the Glendale area's primary attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, the Sprecher Brewery, Kopp's Custard, and Solly's Burgers! We also offer complimentary parking and a serene setting along the banks of the Milwaukee River.

All of these features are accented by a dedicated staff in both our Hotel and our Anchorage restaurant, making sure guests receive great service during their visits!

With such a high volume of triathlon participants, coupled with our other weekend/festival guests, we do apologize for the odd-hours of activity and possible noise.

We hope you did well in the event, and look forward to a return visit soon!

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When we arrived there was a very visible stain or something on one of the beds. After calling to ask for new bedding they only brought a comforter, no sheet to cover it which was actually the problem. After going to the front desk they actually took care of the problem and ensured that all of the bed linen was changed. The room quality besides this was not to what I would call Hilton standards and if I wasn't staying as part of a wedding party I would have changed hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, as pro or con, they assist us in making sure our standards are maintained.

While pleased to read of the positive response you received from our front desk staff, I was naturally disappointed to read your comments about our housekeeping staff / linens.

I can assure you that this is certainly not to our standard presentations for our guestrooms, nor for the housekeeping staff attending to them. Both issues were personally and immediately addressed.

Making other positive enhancements to our property such as new carpeting and wallpaper, new TVs and in-room safes, and especially new linens and bedding, all accenting our wonderfully-acclaimed Anchorage restaurant, I don't want your incident to either be viewed as the norm, nor deter you from future considerations.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Checked in very late with reservation but staff was very helpful. Ended up with bottom floor near service hallway as they were full. Business center still open and well equipped. Room adequate but bed/pillows too soft. Restaurant breakfast buffet was fast and sufficient, allowed us to work at the table a while. Not much of a river here, but it was a nicer view than city or parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the assistance of our staff members, our 24-hour business center, and our Anchorage restaurant. All signature features of our Hotel!

Sorry that our primary signature feature, the Milwaukee River (hence our name!!) did not cooperate! Opposed to other summers, we have been recently very dry, and that affected the water levels dramatically. But like you mentioned, the views are still much more appealing than from a more urban facility.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich, GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calimesa, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Outstanding hotel and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone who worked there was professional and friendly! Food at the Anchorage was great! The hotel bar was very nice with wonderful bartenders! The manager, Kathy, was amazing! She helped us with everything we needed! We would highly recommend the Hilton Milwaukee River!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your glowing comments following your stay with us!

From the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant, I do stress high levels of customer service presented to our guests. We are also very proud of our restaurant, The Anchorage, and their specific service levels, entrée selections, and river-view ambiance. (The Anchorage also has their own dedicated Trip Advisor listing should you care to make specific comments there about our staff and culinary quality.)

I am very glad to read of your high recommendations for the Hilton Milwaukee River, and look towards your return!


-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great service, friendly and helpful staff! This is my third trip to Milwaukee in the last few months and the Hilton has provided excellent service on each stay. The Staff is always helpful and very friendly. The restaurant staff is prompt but not over bearing, food choices are also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel's staff and customer service levels, as well as those relating to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage!

We are naturally quite proud of both!

I'm glad to read that you have selected us for your recent Milwaukee-area stays, and look forward to your continued patronage!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved it! It was just minutes outside the city on the Milwaukee River. Loved the view of the river, the comfy bed, roomy room, outstanding desk help, and food in the Anchorage restaurant. Stayed on the Sprecher Package which got us free breakfast, 4 pack of Sprecher products to take home, 2 Sprecher glasses, and 2 passes for a tour of the brewery. Also just minutes away from Bayshore Mall if shopping is your thing. We happened upon a lovely drive from the Bayshore area to Milwaukee that followed the lake and passed massive mansions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us under one of our more popular overnight guestroom packages, "The Sprecher Brewery Package".

Yes, our unique location places our guests within proximity to all of Downtown Milwaukee's attractions, venues, and Lakefront areas. But it also gives you great access to the Glendale area's primary attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center Mall, Kopp's Custard, Solly's Burgers, and of course the namesake of this package special, The Sprecher Brewery! And for our facility, all along the banks of the Milwaukee River to boot!

These features are all accented by a dedicated staff in both our Hotel and our Anchorage restaurant, making sure guests receive great service during their visits!

Hope you visit us again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich, GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.