We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summerfest Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Summerfest Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I hosted guests from various parts of the great state of Wisconsin to stay at this classy hotel. They were sold out, yet the staff was friendly and helpful. Nice indoor pool and a small but pleasant area just off the pool and outside that was great for catching up. Clean and spacious lobby area while we waited for our rooms. The accomodations were extremely clean but lacked a small refrigerator and/or microwave. The price was certainly right and it is conveniently located right next to the freeway, so getting around the city of Milwaukee was easy. The next day, a complimentary breakfast was included for each guest at the fine Anchorage restaurant. Great food and service in a terrific restaurant at no charge, that is tough to beat. Going back is a no brainer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for providing us with your comments during your group's gathering here at our Hotel!

I'm glad to read that the combination of our recent improvement projects, our dedicated staff members, our convenient location, and most of all, our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, all made for a great stay.....as well as earning your comments of a 'no brainer' when contemplating a return!

Look forward to welcoming you back!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    129
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
103
88
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

When in Milwaukee, we have been staying at the Hilton Milwaukee River for the last five years. This year in particular was very positive. My wife and I would truly recommend this Hotel for your stay! The location is excellent. It is close to I 43 and a short drive on the Interstates to Downtown Milwaukee, the County Zoo, the Potawatomi Casino and so much more. Great service and friendly staff as well as having a fine Restaurant in the Anchorage are what we return for every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments, as well as for your loyalty over the last five years! Both very appreciated!

We are proud that the combination of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage (which has its own Trip Advisor listing for comments), our convenient location to the attractions of both Glendale and Milwaukee, and most of all our friendly staff has earned your continued patronage over the years.

We look forward to being a part of your great Milwaukee-area visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a date Hilton in need of a refurbishment. The door leading in to the room must be made of paper. As people got off the elevator, I could hear every word they said. At one point, I did wake up in the middle of the night as there were some noicy guests returning from a night in the town. The A/C was kind of noicy as well. I have no idea as to why the A/C was set at 61F.

The lounge was like stepping back in to that 70's show. It was charming in a strange kind of a way.

The breakfast was pretty poor. The scrambled eggs were way over cooked.

On the positive side - Service was great. The staff did a good job to make you feel welcome. Hilton just need to make sure that the rest of the property matches the capabilities of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

Your comments do assist us in providing the best possible levels in terms of service and amenities to our guests, as well as addressing and correcting any critical issues.

With regards to our noise levels?
We do apologize, as on occasion certain guests' conduct is out of our direct control, thus affecting other patrons. We work swiftly with our Front Desk staff to immediately address these issues.

With regards to our property condition?
We have made a variety of recent enhancements to both the Hilton Milwaukee River as well as to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses (part of the Hilton approved "Serenity Collection"), new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, and the addition of a gift shop/vending area

More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries, and new nameplates and guestroom number plaques.

The most in-depth change, though, involved our restaurant and lounge area. Celebrating nearly 40 years of area dining excellence, The Anchorage completely remodeled both its decor (to reflect a more contemporary look) as well as its menus. This all accents our unique setting along the scenic banks of the Milwaukee River!

Again, we are very proud of our Hotel, of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and the levels of service provided by our staff. We treat our convenient location as a strong amenity for our guests, placing them with close proximity to Downtown Milwaukee as well as the immediate attractions and businesses in the Glendale / Northshore areas. We also continue to make improvements and enhancements to our property to benefit our guests.

And we hope that we may be able to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich, GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iron mountain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fabulous, honest place to stay. The hotel was very clean, had a river view and staff were very friendly. I left my wedding ring there and they called to me to let me know. Anyone could have taken the ring and kept it. These rings are very important to me because not only were they my wedding rings but also my belong to my grandma. Thanks again Hilton, I will definitely use you again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your compliments on our Hotel, and in particular, with our staff in regards to your jewelry that was left behind!

Our fantastic staff accents an equally fantastic facility.....from our unique location to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I wouldn't stay here again. The hotel needs an update in a big way as the decor is dated and somewhat dingy. The resturant is fair at best (dinner) - but the breakfast was actually pretty good. Despite being Gold, I got the room next to the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments.

Our Hotel has undergone a variety of enhancement projects, from the technical/behind-the-scenes ones like new TVs and an upgraded WI-FI network, to the more practical/visual ones like new corridor wallpaper and carpeting, a remodeled lobby area, and a remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage. Other projects included new banquet furniture, new bedding and linens, and a repaved parking lot as we continue to make improvements.

We are very proud of The Anchorage and its notoriety of being a premier dining destination for nearly 40 years. Seafood is the main focus, but we also highlight the options for other bills-of-fare such as steaks and pastas, as well as our popular Breakfast Buffets that you enjoyed.

We thank you for your continued patronage being a "Hilton HHonors" Gold member, and suggest that a room preference request, i.e. away from the elevators, be added to your profile. In this way, especially on days like your visit when our occupancy is quite high and room types limited, we may be able to pre-check your guestroom for arrival.

Hope to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Made reservations a few days before arrival on a spontaneous trip to Milwaukee. Close to a few parks and very easy to get to. Staff was nice. A good deal compared to other hotels in the area. Bed was comfy. Definitely would go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Glad your spontaneous trip to Milwaukee lead you to our unique Hotel!

Our staff, the access to all in-and-around Glendale and Milwaukee, and our recent enhancements including bedding and linens? All items that we are VERY proud of here!

Hope to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stay was perfect, hotel very clean and the team there is friendly, Excellent Hotel and Anchorage Restaurant staff outstanding!! Breakfast was awesome too. We will be back for sure. My Wife and I Thank you for an Excellent Weekend.

Room Tip: River View Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Belated thanks for your comments!

As the GM for the Hotel and our noted restaurant, The Anchorage, it is always warming to read adjectives like "perfect", "awesome", “outstanding” and "friendly" affixed to descriptions of our hotel, our restaurant, and our staff! That is what we all collectively strive for here!

The Anchorage also has its own dedicated Trip Advisor listing for your direct comments on both staff and quality as well.

Glad we made for an excellent weekend, and we hope to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.