We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Lithia, FL
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Clean, but Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton Milwaukee River for a business trip. The room was clean. Internet service was good. No appliances were available (microfridge, microwave). At $139 per night, I expected better. There was a nice patio on the back with a view of the Milwaukee River, although the river is not that scenic. The restaurant also had a nice view of the river. Breakfast was not included, but you could have a nice buffet for $14 in the restaurant. They serve cookies and lemonade to there customers in the evening for free. The hotel is right between the bad part of Milwaukee and the nicer area of Glendale. Go north for restaurants and shopping.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    135
    82
    38
    19
See reviews for
104
89
35
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Whenever we travel to Milwaukee, Wi. we stay at this lovely hotel which is just north of the downtown area. The hotel is fantastic and the employees are the best at welcoming us during our stay. You also cannot beat the price nor the service. We will definitely stay again on our visit next year!

Room Tip: Nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, your praise of our hotel and its staff, and for your continued patronage!

We also our proud of our unique location that gives guests easy access to areas around the immediate Glendale area like the Bayshore Town Center, as well as to the downtown and lakefront areas of Milwaukee.

Looking forward to your next visit!

-- Michael Dietrich / G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is in my city, but we were having out of town clients who stayed at the hotel. My experience was with Karen and her staff in coordinating a dinner and meeting room. We were offered options for both, along with suggestions on the set-up of the rooms for maximum efficiency and comfort. Not being an event coordinator, I appreciated the insight. On the day of the events, the staff was very attentive and helpful to me and our group. We would definitely consider having another event here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments relating to our Hotel, to our catering staff, and about the levels of professional service that you received for your dinner party.

With all food service prepared by our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, we are very proud to have this as an important amenity to offer to both our Hotel guests, as well as to the local residents that have made The Anchorage a favorite for almost 40 years!

The Anchorage also has its own Trip Advisor listing for your comments too!

Glad your event was a success, and please visit us again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend the Wisconsin beer lovers fest. http://wisconsinbeerloversfest.com/
The package deal included transportation to the event which was less than a mile away. Unfortunatly they had no shuttle bus as you would expect. I saw 1 (one) SUV giving rides to the fest. It could fit 4 plus the driver. Given the mob of people we opted to walk to the event. The room had no fridge, or microwave. The fridge would have been handy for us. The room was clean however. The bed was not the nice adjustable kind you get at the garden inn's. The shower curtain bar was bent downward which is not a big deal but it made the curtain drift toward the middle of the shower.
The package also came with a full breakfast. It was a very nice one with custom omlets. The manager was very attentive and took our order directly so we did not have to wait for the cook.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and myself traveled from Muskegon, MI to Milwaukee on the Lake Express Ferry to purchase a Zodiac. It was a bumpy ride over as Lake Michigan was running 4-5 foot waves. How nice was it to get to The Hilton and find a great friendly staff and a award winning restaurant connected to the hotel. The Anchorage restaurant is wonderful! Everything was top-notch, from the staff, river view room and the dining experience. Nothing but a A+ for this property. Not one thing could have been better!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Belated "thanks" for taking the time to comment on our Hotel as well as our noted restaurant, The Anchorage (who also have their own, designated Trip Advisor listing for comments), which combined to make the wild ride on the Lake Express more relaxing once here!

We are so very proud of The Anchorage, a well-respected dining institution for almost 40 years! Equal pride is shown for our staff, which strives to present guests with a warm, comfortable environment.

Should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee, either by the ferry or by car, we hope to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We brought a relative from Poland for the Beer Lovers Festival, and were disappointed there were so few shuttles. About 50 people were waiting to go and one tiny van pulled up. Luckily many people decided to walk, or we would have had to wait an hour to get there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't like to worry about the age of a hotel unless the company lets the age show . . . this hotel was not very new but was very clean and comfortable with a friendly bar staff and a functional fitness center that was conveniently opened 24 hours. Thanks for the service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.