We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and convenient in N. Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid and convenient in N. Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my hotel of choice whenever I'm in Milwaukee. The rooms are a bit older and need remodeled, but everything is always clean and very well managed.
The two highlights of this hotel is Vance the doorman, who always greets everyone with a sincere smile, and Brian the bartender, who may be my favorite one in the entire country. Overall, a solid stay when you're in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    118
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
99
82
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel however our room was near the pool and lobby and the hallway noise was loud at times. I would ask for a more remote room next time. Also, the riverview was fine but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I’m glad to read that you had a nice stay with us, and do apologize if other guests were too loud during your stay. We try to regulate that as much as possible.

The lay-out of our Hotel does offer some seclusion from the Lobby, in addition to our Indoor Pool being the farthest removed from the lobby area.

Please do ask our Front Desk or Reservation Department for any special guestroom requests, and we will do our best, based upon availability, to honor them!

Hope to welcome you back!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodruff, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Customer service is lacking in this hotel which makes this a very unpleasant experience. In the past we have experienced extremely noisy guests after a wedding reception in the hotel. The food is substandard. A common drink was not able to be mixed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
Pro or con, we do take them all to heart and react accordingly.

I can assure you that we strive to present a quality environment with quality service for all of our guests. We of course, cannot fully regulate their behavior.

What we can regulate is the quality of the food and beverage service in our restaurant, The Anchorage. I am dismayed about your May comments, as even into mid-October our restaurant has received constant praise for their standards. I do apologize if you felt that it was less.

I hope that this will not prevent you from making a return visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager / Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel staff was so friendly, the rooms are nice and clean and very comfortable! What I really enjoyed was the Anchorage Restaurant that is part of the hotel, the food is great and I love the bar area!! They even have an outdoor patio where you can sit for dinner and drinks and it is on the river, this place is a must visit if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here in early May and had a great experience. Easy access to downtown. Very professional and polite staff. Accommodations excellent. A bonus - breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was excellent. Would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for selecting us for your recent stay, as well as for your comments!

The praise that we receive from many of our guests about our location, offerings views of the river combined with convenient access to local attractions like the Sprecher Brewery and the Bayshore Town Center Mall, are matched with the ones we receive about our signature restaurant and our staff members.

The Anchorage, soon to celebrate its 40th anniversary, is also a popular destination for Sunday Brunch, and I'm glad you enjoyed!

Please visit us again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rude managers; not responsive to complaints of inadequate facilities; management does not wish to correct major problems that detract from the facilities. In this case, the elevator was inoperative, and it did not appear that any maintenance was being performed over the weekend. Many guests were froced to use the stairs rather than wait for an elevator (on one other) that was overused and therefore for more inconvenient that the stairs. Further, it appeared that the air conditioner was turned off at night, interfering with sleep due to hot stuffy room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Regarding our elevator?

Our staff was certainly aware that this was a serious maintenance issue, as the Otis Elevator Company in fact shut down our one cab themselves for these serious and unanticipated hydraulic repairs. And between guests and staff, all combined efforts and patients to make the best out of this situation.

It was a problematic circumstance, but one that had to be done for safety's sake. It certainly was not done to inconvenience guests and staff that then had to use other methods to gain access to our upper floors, namely our 2nd elevator unit at the opposite side of the building or the stairs.

Again, we were at the mercy of the elevator company doing these substantial repairs.

To imply that work was not being properly addressed because their work truck or their own maintenance personnel were not immediately visible to the guests certainly was not the case. Work in fact was being done throughout, as pre-fabricated parts matching our elevator model had to be shipped in.

Obviously, until this large hydraulic unit arrived on property, was installed, and subsequently inspected for local code approval, the elevator could NOT be used.

We apologize for the inconvenience, assuring you now that all is in proper working order.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean, comfortable and well situated. Gym is really small.

The hallway was so noisy. I don't know if I was the other guests or the housekeepers.

Self-parking is a plus. Front desk staff warm and friendly. Good location and fairly priced accommodations with good access to highways.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Belated thanks for your comments after your stay!

Many other guests also praise our unique hotel and restaurant for its friendly staff, cleanliness, and convenient location.

We do also remind our staff to be courteous in the hallways, as well as take a pro-active approach to other hotel guests that may get too exuberant during their stay.

Hope to welcome you back!

-- Michael Dietrich, GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.