We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Hilton Milwaukee River, WI” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Pensacola, FL, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away from Hilton Milwaukee River, WI”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rude managers; not responsive to complaints of inadequate facilities; management does not wish to correct major problems that detract from the facilities. In this case, the elevator was inoperative, and it did not appear that any maintenance was being performed over the weekend. Many guests were froced to use the stairs rather than wait for an elevator (on one other) that was overused and therefore for more inconvenient that the stairs. Further, it appeared that the air conditioner was turned off at night, interfering with sleep due to hot stuffy room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Regarding our elevator?

Our staff was certainly aware that this was a serious maintenance issue, as the Otis Elevator Company in fact shut down our one cab themselves for these serious and unanticipated hydraulic repairs. And between guests and staff, all combined efforts and patients to make the best out of this situation.

It was a problematic circumstance, but one that had to be done for safety's sake. It certainly was not done to inconvenience guests and staff that then had to use other methods to gain access to our upper floors, namely our 2nd elevator unit at the opposite side of the building or the stairs.

Again, we were at the mercy of the elevator company doing these substantial repairs.

To imply that work was not being properly addressed because their work truck or their own maintenance personnel were not immediately visible to the guests certainly was not the case. Work in fact was being done throughout, as pre-fabricated parts matching our elevator model had to be shipped in.

Obviously, until this large hydraulic unit arrived on property, was installed, and subsequently inspected for local code approval, the elevator could NOT be used.

We apologize for the inconvenience, assuring you now that all is in proper working order.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    116
    74
    37
    14
See reviews for
97
77
32
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean, comfortable and well situated. Gym is really small.

The hallway was so noisy. I don't know if I was the other guests or the housekeepers.

Self-parking is a plus. Front desk staff warm and friendly. Good location and fairly priced accommodations with good access to highways.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Belated thanks for your comments after your stay!

Many other guests also praise our unique hotel and restaurant for its friendly staff, cleanliness, and convenient location.

We do also remind our staff to be courteous in the hallways, as well as take a pro-active approach to other hotel guests that may get too exuberant during their stay.

Hope to welcome you back!

-- Michael Dietrich, GM
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First appearances matter and as I walked into the reception area I was greeted by a smell of damp and a poorly lit area. It turned out that the heavy rainfall of the previous weeks had flooded the carpeted area in the reception side lounge and that was creating the smell. Trying to dry a carpet with a fan is pretty pointless and by the end of the week the situation had not improved. It was still damp, though they had brought in contractors with a wet pick up to try to resolve the situation
The lobby area remained dark and oppressive however. The room was large airey and comfortable in contrast with a view over the river. Nothing to complain about here - all the necessary mod cons were available and the bathroom was clean and while old not too tatty.
Breakfast in the restaurant was OK. Confusing menu but thankfully some of the serving staff were good enough to make sure that I got the best deal rather than racking up massive bills. Service was prompt where needed and the area decent enough to have a leisurely breakfast when allowed to.
The Housekeeping staff were polite pleasant and helpful, the reception staff slightly less so and seemed a little disinterested in their guests - probably driven by the fact that they were in the gloom almost constantly of the reception area.
Having said all that I would recommend it and would stay again as it is ideally located to the highway, has Glendale retail and restaurant village close at hand and is't so far from Milwaukee down town to make a trip by car simple and quick.

Room Tip: aim for the rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments, observations, and compliments on your earlier stay!

Yes, the proverbial "100 Year Floods" did cause havoc for our Lobby area. But as you saw first-hand, we did have contractor immediately on the scene making their corrective repairs. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Glad you enjoyed both our friendly and efficient staff members, housekeeping in particular, as well as our signature restaurant, The Anchorage! Both areas and amenities seem to earn constant praise from our guests staying with us!

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again for a future Milwaukee / Glendale / Bayshore area visit!

-- Michael Dietrich // General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at the Hilton Milwaukee River. I was welcomed and treated with great respect by the staff and found my room to be comfortable, quiet, and perfect for getting work done. While I have had issues with internet connectivity at other hotels, I had none here. I am a Hilton Honors member and I love that they always remember to welcome me as one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Glad to read that you had a fantastic stay with us earlier this year!

We are very proud of the levels of customer service that we receive compliments on, and look to continue stressing these high levels!

Of the many enhancements that we have done over the past few months, from new carpeting and wallpaper to a remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage, we do also highlight the fact that we also made high-level, technical improvements to our complimentary WI-FI system. Not as apparent or glamorous as the other new items, but just as valued to our guests!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The people were all fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The hotel could use some updating. Elevator was broken for days, lobby was closed because it flooded and had large fans drying it off. Exercise room was sparse and the bike did not appear to work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding our elevator and lobby areas. The elevator, being a machine, did break-down unexpectedly on us. We also experienced very heavy rains on top of a quick snow melt that did cause some flooding in our Lobby area. Nothing like a 1-2 punch for us!

I can assure you now that all is in proper working order in both areas. These unfortunate instances did take away from the positives of our Hotel.

We are quite proud of our staff and their attentiveness to guest needs, and am glad to read that you enjoyed their efforts! We are also proud of the enhancements that we have made to our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage, over the past 2 years.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses (part of the Hilton "Serenity Collection"), new public-area wallpaper and carpeting, new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

We do hope to welcome you back soon...and without the negative issues that were out of our control.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in serious need for both renovation and better management. There were elevator issues (yet they still allowed its use), housekeeping issues (not picking up trays or delivering towels) and lobby issues (it was flooded).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Yes...it was an embarrassing situation regarding our elevator. We were aware of a steadily increasing issue that required a major replacement part. But we were also assured that the unit would function properly until the elevator company would make the required repair.

Obviously, this was not the case, and once this issue arose again, we did in fact shut down this cab for safety's sake.

A similar embarrassing circumstance occurred with our lobby area as well, which was negatively affected by the Milwaukee area's recent bout of severe, torrential rain storms and flooding where our drain tiles simply could not keep up with the deluge. Again, immediate maintenance attention was brought to this matter.

I'm sure you appreciate that, with any working machine, coupled with the elements of Mother Nature, that there may be issues that arise that are out of our control. We thankfully are actively and successfully correcting both items.

I have also personally addressed the items that are more in our control, such as housekeeping's responses to guestroom requests, as well as the restaurant's responses following room service orders.

We are proud of both areas of the Hotel, as our housekeepers have received service awards from Hilton, and our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, is an area icon.

I can assure you that these issues were isolated gaffes, and we apologize for any inconveniences. I do hope that we may prove ourselves to you for a future visit to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed here twice when I had to be in Milwaukee on business. The hotel is very well maintained, the restaurant buffed breakfast is well stocked, and the rooms are clean and quiet. Isn't that what you really want in a hotel?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Belated 'thanks' for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Our Hotel and destination restaurant, The Anchorage, proudly presents clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as memorable dining all in a very unique setting.

But we also strive to do this with a dedicated staff that sets us apart!

Glad that we are your hospitality choice for your Milwaukee business trips

-- Michael Dietrich, G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TravelClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.