We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for business. I can see what people raved about in the reviews about The Anchorage and i agree with them. I enjoyed my breakfast overlooking the river. There were plenty of food choices.
My room is pretty spacious and just average. The bathroom is a bit small and getting outdated. I wish they would have put a microwave and fridge in the room. I didn't know if they do offer this or not.
The fitness room is a decent size. LA fitness is just down over at Bayshore mall and that's where i went since i have membership with them which is just nearby. There are plenty of restaurants and retails in Bayshore area. I like that the hotel is nearby Trader Joes and not far from Whole Foods either.
They only have 1 elevator and it was pretty slow especially in the morning because many people get in and out of elevator from different floors.
No coin laundry available at the hotel and no Executive center either for Diamond members.

Overall, it was a decent stay and really like the location of this hotel as it's close to freeway and entertainment. They also have pretty good rates. So, i probably would look somewhere else first before booking this hotel for my next stay as they don't have the amenities that I am looking for.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about our Hotel!

While we do not offer your desired amenities of a huge fitness center or a coin laundry facility, we do pride ourselves on other noted features which many of our guests enjoy.

Our location places guests within close proximity to both Downtown Milwaukee as well as to the Bayshore Town Center Mall, all within a relaxed setting along the Milwaukee River banks.

We are also very proud of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, which has won numerous awards and accolades for its wonderful entrees, primarily fresh seafood.

Should your travels bring you back to the Milwaukee area, we do look forward to welcoming you back!

-- Michael
Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    118
    76
    38
    15
See reviews for
98
78
33
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Remscheid, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel people are very friendly and service oriented. The rooms very nicely equipped, I really had bad experiences in other Hilton hotels.
The Anchorage bar and restaurant had good food, breakfast buffet was good.
The riverview from my room was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thak you for your comments about your recent stay with us!

We are very proud of our levels of customer service here at the Hilton Milwaukee River, accenting the unique amenities of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, our riverside location, and our spacious guestrooms.

We all look forward to being of continued service for your Milwaukee-area stays!

Regards,

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed March 3, 2013.
The check in very courteous and professional.
Anchorage restaurant and bar is a unexpectedly good surprise .
Breakfast buffet is very good.
Ruverview rooms very scenic .
The hotel is very close to highway, very convenient to MKE and all points in Wisconsin.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor about our Hotel as well as our restaurant, The Anchorage! All very appreciated!

What is the old adage?
The 3rd time is the charm?

Glad to read that our staff, unique location, and our levels of service and food quality all combined to earn your repeat patronage!

We are especially very proud of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, as we celebrate over 35 years of great seafood in the area! (They also have a dedicated Trip Advisor listing for direct dining / culinary comments.)

Here's to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel could use a once over, as it was a bit dated. Not terrible, and a good value for the price. Restaurant was good. Had a hard time getting the fan working right (I'm picky).

Not a terrible place, not the best Hilton I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here following your recent stay with us, as they help us be a better facility!

We have made a variety of recent enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River, while still retaining its original charm and style.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses, new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage. More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.

Our initial project was to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed their levels of service and quality. The Anchorage also has a dedicated response listing on Trip Advisor, where your comments/observations would be greatly appreciated as well!

We look forward to a return visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location is good in between Milwaukee and shopping but accommodations are outdated. AC unit noisy, mattress was 'springy', bathroom caulking was aging and fitness center is a small sweat box with poor ventilation. Had updated Precor equipment which was nice (1 bike, 2 ellipticals, 1 treadmill if I recall). Sunday breakfast buffet was typical buffet, items were warm at best since not enough people cycled through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

As was equally stated to you via the Hilton Guest Assistance forum and other similar direct e-mail correspondences, your comments do assist us in providing the best possible levels in terms of service and amenities to our guests, as well as addressing and correcting any critical issues.

With this being more of a public forum to assist other future patrons, I would like to clarify a few items in regards to our guestrooms and property conditions, as we have made a variety of recent enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses (part of the Hilton approved "Serenity Collection"), new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.........and lastly new nameplates and guestroom number plaques.

The key here is 'new', not outdated as you suggest, as all of these additions enhance our total property, are all Hilton approved, and are all current, brand-standard models and designs.

Again, we are very proud of our Hotel, of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and the levels of service provided by our staff. We treat our convenient location as a strong amenity for our guests, placing them with close proximity to Downtown Milwaukee as well as the immediate attractions and businesses such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Johnson Controls. We continue to make improvements and enhancements to our property to benefit out guests.

And we hope that we may be able to welcome you back on much better terms!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked my hotel for a trip to Concordia University Wisconsin and I can say I was pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the facility. It is located just off of the interstate which made it very easy to find. The hotel was very clean and the staff always helpful with any needs during my stay. The on-site restaurant had excellent fish which is somewhat hard to come-by in the Midwest and their breakfast buffet was very good. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I was able to enjoy a view of the river. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about both our Hotel as well as our restaurant...all very appreciated!

We are very proud of our levels of customer service, of our unique location that is close enough to Downtown Milwaukee in addition to the north shore/Bayshore Town Center Mall areas.

We have completed a series of enhancements, highlighted by new bedding. Glad to read that you enjoyed the “Hilton Serenity Collection” bedding!

Most of all, though, we are proud of our restaurant, The Anchorage, in being able to provide fresh, unique seafood entrées at affordable prices! It also received a number of recent enhancements, from its menu to its contemporary decor, and is certainly not your typical hotel restaurant!

The Anchorage equally has a dedicated Trip Advisor site should you also care to place direct comments there as well.

I do invite you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia and all I have to say is what a great place to stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the pool was awesome. We will stay here again. It is located in Glendale, about 10 minutes away from Milwaukee, which is nice to get away from the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
We also have to agree with you......we do think we have a great place to stay!
And with our restaurant, The Anchorage, also a great place to dine!

Our location allows guests to be away from it all a bit, but also within convenient striking distance from most Milwaukee-area attractions and businesses.

Please come back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.