We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Business Travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent Business Travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel could use a once over, as it was a bit dated. Not terrible, and a good value for the price. Restaurant was good. Had a hard time getting the fan working right (I'm picky).

Not a terrible place, not the best Hilton I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here following your recent stay with us, as they help us be a better facility!

We have made a variety of recent enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River, while still retaining its original charm and style.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses, new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage. More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.

Our initial project was to our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed their levels of service and quality. The Anchorage also has a dedicated response listing on Trip Advisor, where your comments/observations would be greatly appreciated as well!

We look forward to a return visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    118
    78
    38
    16
See reviews for
98
81
34
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location is good in between Milwaukee and shopping but accommodations are outdated. AC unit noisy, mattress was 'springy', bathroom caulking was aging and fitness center is a small sweat box with poor ventilation. Had updated Precor equipment which was nice (1 bike, 2 ellipticals, 1 treadmill if I recall). Sunday breakfast buffet was typical buffet, items were warm at best since not enough people cycled through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

As was equally stated to you via the Hilton Guest Assistance forum and other similar direct e-mail correspondences, your comments do assist us in providing the best possible levels in terms of service and amenities to our guests, as well as addressing and correcting any critical issues.

With this being more of a public forum to assist other future patrons, I would like to clarify a few items in regards to our guestrooms and property conditions, as we have made a variety of recent enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses (part of the Hilton approved "Serenity Collection"), new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.........and lastly new nameplates and guestroom number plaques.

The key here is 'new', not outdated as you suggest, as all of these additions enhance our total property, are all Hilton approved, and are all current, brand-standard models and designs.

Again, we are very proud of our Hotel, of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and the levels of service provided by our staff. We treat our convenient location as a strong amenity for our guests, placing them with close proximity to Downtown Milwaukee as well as the immediate attractions and businesses such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Johnson Controls. We continue to make improvements and enhancements to our property to benefit out guests.

And we hope that we may be able to welcome you back on much better terms!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked my hotel for a trip to Concordia University Wisconsin and I can say I was pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the facility. It is located just off of the interstate which made it very easy to find. The hotel was very clean and the staff always helpful with any needs during my stay. The on-site restaurant had excellent fish which is somewhat hard to come-by in the Midwest and their breakfast buffet was very good. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I was able to enjoy a view of the river. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about both our Hotel as well as our restaurant...all very appreciated!

We are very proud of our levels of customer service, of our unique location that is close enough to Downtown Milwaukee in addition to the north shore/Bayshore Town Center Mall areas.

We have completed a series of enhancements, highlighted by new bedding. Glad to read that you enjoyed the “Hilton Serenity Collection” bedding!

Most of all, though, we are proud of our restaurant, The Anchorage, in being able to provide fresh, unique seafood entrées at affordable prices! It also received a number of recent enhancements, from its menu to its contemporary decor, and is certainly not your typical hotel restaurant!

The Anchorage equally has a dedicated Trip Advisor site should you also care to place direct comments there as well.

I do invite you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia and all I have to say is what a great place to stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the pool was awesome. We will stay here again. It is located in Glendale, about 10 minutes away from Milwaukee, which is nice to get away from the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
We also have to agree with you......we do think we have a great place to stay!
And with our restaurant, The Anchorage, also a great place to dine!

Our location allows guests to be away from it all a bit, but also within convenient striking distance from most Milwaukee-area attractions and businesses.

Please come back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The deal is very affordable and the Anchorage is a a must dine. It is very close-by to Bayshore Mall where they have many stores from the Apple Store to the IPic Theatre. We will be back for our fourth time next year. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments following your Valentine's Day Package stay with us!

Like our other 'holiday' packages such as for New Year's Eve, we typically include dining vouchers for our restaurant, The Anchorage, allowing guests to enjoy all aspects of our Hotel! Additionally, guests also enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the neighboring Bayshore Town Center Mall!

We hope to welcome you back to both the Hotel and to The Anchorage before next Valentine's!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband had surgery and we stayed there because of the hospital discount and because they had a shuttle service to the hospital. The beds were soft, the room was super clean and the service was excellent. Did not get to eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool.
We did use the shuttle, and the driver, Vincent, was a very kind man. Very soothing, when I was a nervous wreck myself. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
First and foremost, I hope that your husband is doing better!

Our Hotel often assists families when another family member needs local hospitalization. So we realize that your visit is more of necessity, and not social/business. Therefore I am proud of our staff members, such as Vance at our front desk, who provide service up-and beyond during these situations!

Your main focus in these circumstances should be the recovery of a loved one, and not the services, amenities, and offerings of our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage.

I hope that we may be able to welcome both you and your husband back under much better terms! All the best!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have stayed twice here and although the hotel is slowly renovating itself, its just a normal place to spend the night, much like a Doubletree or Embassy. The property is a bit out of the way from town but is quiet, the beds wonderfully comfortable, and the 'Anchorage' restaurant above average. If you get a great price here, its worth the overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations, as yes, we have slowly made some great enhancements to both our Hotel and signature restaurant!

Our restaurant, The Anchorage (equally with its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct commentary) was completely remodeled to begin our projects. New bedding, TVs, an upgraded complimentary WI-FI system, and hallway carpeting and wallpaper soon followed to name a few.

We are only 3 miles north of Downtown Milwaukee, and less than a mile from the Bayshore Town Center off of I-43, placing our unique Hotel in close proximity to most of the area businesses and attractions.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.