We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Valentine's Day package is a must for a couple.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“The Valentine's Day package is a must for a couple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The deal is very affordable and the Anchorage is a a must dine. It is very close-by to Bayshore Mall where they have many stores from the Apple Store to the IPic Theatre. We will be back for our fourth time next year. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments following your Valentine's Day Package stay with us!

Like our other 'holiday' packages such as for New Year's Eve, we typically include dining vouchers for our restaurant, The Anchorage, allowing guests to enjoy all aspects of our Hotel! Additionally, guests also enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the neighboring Bayshore Town Center Mall!

We hope to welcome you back to both the Hotel and to The Anchorage before next Valentine's!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    114
    69
    36
    12
See reviews for
92
75
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband had surgery and we stayed there because of the hospital discount and because they had a shuttle service to the hospital. The beds were soft, the room was super clean and the service was excellent. Did not get to eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool.
We did use the shuttle, and the driver, Vincent, was a very kind man. Very soothing, when I was a nervous wreck myself. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
First and foremost, I hope that your husband is doing better!

Our Hotel often assists families when another family member needs local hospitalization. So we realize that your visit is more of necessity, and not social/business. Therefore I am proud of our staff members, such as Vance at our front desk, who provide service up-and beyond during these situations!

Your main focus in these circumstances should be the recovery of a loved one, and not the services, amenities, and offerings of our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage.

I hope that we may be able to welcome both you and your husband back under much better terms! All the best!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have stayed twice here and although the hotel is slowly renovating itself, its just a normal place to spend the night, much like a Doubletree or Embassy. The property is a bit out of the way from town but is quiet, the beds wonderfully comfortable, and the 'Anchorage' restaurant above average. If you get a great price here, its worth the overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations, as yes, we have slowly made some great enhancements to both our Hotel and signature restaurant!

Our restaurant, The Anchorage (equally with its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct commentary) was completely remodeled to begin our projects. New bedding, TVs, an upgraded complimentary WI-FI system, and hallway carpeting and wallpaper soon followed to name a few.

We are only 3 miles north of Downtown Milwaukee, and less than a mile from the Bayshore Town Center off of I-43, placing our unique Hotel in close proximity to most of the area businesses and attractions.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everyone was so courteous and couldn't do enough for us. Service was excellent from the bartender to the wait staff. The food was delicious with great presentation. We will definitely be back, it was very easy to get to from the Highway.

Aurora

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel, and in particular, our restaurant!

The Anchorage is such an iconic and popular fixture for the Hilton Milwaukee River, and is certainly not your typical 'hotel restaurant'. Both hotel guests and local dining patrons have enjoyed their offerings for almost 40 years!

Our kitchen and waitstaff both work hard to present our dining guests with great service, unique ambience, and signature entrées! Glad to read that enjoyed it all! (The Anchorage also has a dedicated Trip Advisor listing if you would like to also provide your comments directly onto their site for future dining guests.)

We do hope to welcome you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a much older property vs. other Hilton hotels. Do not expect any modern designs or amenities. The shortcomings of this hotel include a tiny fitness center with very limited equipment and the existence of only one elevator for the entire property.

What makes up for the shortcomings is that the basics for business travelers are met. Clean and quiet rooms. Free parking and free wifi. Close proximity to Bayshore Mall that offers good choices for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us! Very appreciated, as they can assist us in maintaining our standards and services.

Our property is listed officially as a 3-star, AAA-rated facility, and is in good standing with all current Hilton brand standards. Out facility was also built in 1974 (not that 'old' for a solid, well-maintained structure), and has recently undergone substantial improvements built around its solid oak and natural marble signature features.

We have also just completed various enhancement projects to our hotel and restaurant that included new bedding and linens, new hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom flat-screen TVs, an upgraded WI-FI network, and new in-room safes.

Our Hotel is accented by our highly-popular restaurant, The Anchorage, that also received a total make-over for its decor and its menus, as they celebrate close to 40 years od service in the area!

We are in close proximity to the Bayshore Town Center Mall and its stores and attractions, but certainly encourage you to give The Anchorage a try as opposed to mall food!

We do hope that the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage can be a part of your area travel plans in the future!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel to the highway, just a few exits from downtown but in a great quiet spot by the Milwaukee River. The rooms are lovely with pleasant views, half overlook the river but the other half overlook UWM and the woods, and the restaurant is fantastic, one of the best in Milwaukee with delicious seafood and friendly staff. The adjacent bar has free appetizers from 5-7, great drinks, and beautiful views. Bayshore shopping center, a major indoor/outdoor "lifestyle mall" with dining, movies, and every store you can think of, is very close and the staff will take you there in the van if you ask. The indoor pool is small but a nice bonus for kids. A well-run property worth considering if you're visiting Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view if you can get it, but all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River! All appreciated!

We are proud of numerous features here.....our convenient location to many of the area attractions, our pastoral setting next to the Milwaukee River, and especially our restaurant, The Anchorage (an area favorite for almost 40 years, also with a separate Trip Advisor listing/commentary as well.).

Also key is our staff members, adhering to high service levels and standards, which makes our guests feel welcome in that 'well-run' environment that you mentioned.

Both the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is not a Hilton hotel, it should be branded within another hilton family brand, probably a hampton. Rooms are small, bathroom is very small and linens quality was poor. Should be renewed soon to maintain standards.
Service was good and has a convenient shuttle service that may take you nearby (there is a nice shopping and dinning center)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, pro or con, as they assist us in maintaining our high standards. And we are sorry that your feelings about our Hotel were as they were.

However, for your benefit as well as others who read this valuable website, I can assure you that we do maintain high levels of service and amenities.

Beginning early last year, we have just completed substantial enhancements to our property that included new bedding and linens, a remodeled restaurant, new public hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom flat-screen TVs, a remodeled indoor pool, new in-room safes, and new banquet furniture. Most important, is that we are in compliance with all current Hilton brand standards.

Our Hotel is accented by our highly-popular restaurant, The Anchorage, as well as our proximity to the Bayshore Town Center Mall, and is glad to read that you appreciated both.

With our updates listed above, we do hope that the Hilton Milwaukee River can be a part of your area travel plans!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.