We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hilton property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee River

Save Saved
You added Hilton Milwaukee River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Milwaukee River
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hilton property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Who would have expected to find a gem like this in the outskirts of Milwaukee? Beautiful facility in the middle of redecorating...WONDERFUL seafood in the restaurant...with great wait staff...and very helpful and pleasant staff in all other areas. This property has easy access to the highway. It is a great place to stay when you are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about both our Hotel and our restaurant! They are appreciated!

Combined with our dedicated staff members, we are very proud of our levels of service, of our unique location that is close enough to Downtown or the Bayshore Town Center Mall yet rural enough with a river-side locale, and of our numerous, recent enhancements such as new TVs and carpeting.

Most of all, though, we are especially proud of our restaurant, The Anchorage! It also received a number of recent enhancements, from menu to decor, and is certainly not your standard hotel restaurant! (The Anchorage equally has a dedicated Trip Advisor site should you also care to place direct comments there as well.)

I do invite you back soon for your next lodging and dining trip!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    108
    66
    32
    11
See reviews for
80
71
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

And I would have given this hotel four stars had the restaurant staff been the slightest bit happy to have customers. I was with three other business associates and really felt like we were a bother. I looked around at other diners and could see they weren't feeling very welcomed either. This is such a contrast to big city hotels where the competition for business is tough. The meal itself was very good although a bit pricey. That just goes without saying at hotel restaurants.

Now on to the rooms. They were clean, updated and had nice furnishings. The complimentary toiletry items were of a higher quality than what I usually find. The reception staff was competent and courteous. Plenty of parking was available and it is free.

As I said I would stay again at this Hilton as the rooms are nice and the area around the hotel is picturesque with the river and city parks right there.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay!

I was pleased to read about many of your positive experiences at our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage. We have made numerous enhancement and upgrades to our property, and with the upgraded toiletries, complimentary weekday hors d'oeuvres reception, and repaved parking lot, you experienced many of them.

But I can assure you that we will strive to earn that 4th star in your review as you mentioned within areas of our restaurant. That certainly is not indicative of the levels of service, quality of food, or uniqueness of ambiance that is our collective goal.

The Anchorage equally received many upgrades including a new, contemporary decor and revamped menus, and the staff does have to be to the task for our guests.

That said, I look forward to welcoming you back soon for that 4th star, showing you that your recent dining experience was an anomaly, and not the norm.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location was the reason I chose this Hilton. While I found the staff very friendly and helpful the hotel itself is not up to par with other Hilton's I have stayed at. Elevator is so slow! Expect a long wait. Room was clean but outdated. Bathroom is extremely small yet there is a huge open unused space as you enter the room next to the bathroom. Could defnitely benefit from using some of that wasted space to redo and enlarge bathrooms. Beds/Pillows were good and had a good nights rest. Riverview...well...it was more like a small amount of stagnant water and trash along the banks. Obviously during my stay it hadn't rained in some time and this area of the country was having a drought. I'm sure the riverview is some what better when there is actually water running in the river. Not sure I'd opt for the riverview on a future stay. Breakfast in the on site restaurant was good with good service. Overall I would probably stay here again for location, not opt for a riverview room, and hope for more updating on the rooms and common areas in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments here on Trip Advisor about our Hotel!

Our unique location does generate favorable guest comments, with our Hotel being within striking distance to Downtown Milwaukee, the lakefront, and the numerous area attractions. It also places guests close to the neighboring communities of Glendale, Whitefish Bay, and Shorewood. In this manner guests can enjoy their unique shops, cafes, and attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center.

I am glad to read about your positive comments about our Hotel’s staff and our restaurant, The Anchorage. I am quite proud of these two elements of our Hotel, especially as they enhance guests’ experiences while staying here!

In regards to our guestrooms and property conditions, we have made a variety of enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River over the past few months. They have included, but are not limited to items such as new 37" flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage. More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.........and lastly a recently repaved parking lot.

Regarding the river? I'm sure that you appreciate that we are at the mercy of Mother Nature. The Milwaukee area and much of the Midwest experienced severe drought conditions this past summer, which has had an adverse effect on the water levels of our adjacent Milwaukee River.

The Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage both look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I only have good things to say about the Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel. It was very convenient to the places I had business at. My room was very comfortable; nice size television screen; nice bath products. I appreciated the half price drink coupon given to me by the front desk attendant for the Anchorage Restaurant. I did not make use of the fitness center; but I was able to use the free computer in the business center. I also appreciated that the wait-person the next morning adjusted my buffet breakfast rate to a continental breakfast rate. Nice touch. Mind you I was paying an industry rate for my room, but even so the value was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and your compliments about our Hotel, about our restaurant, The Anchorage (equally with a Trip Advisor site should you like to make direct comments there as well), and most important, our hotel and restaurant staff!

All very much appreciated!

From high-profile changes like new flat-screen TVs in our guestrooms and a complimentary WI-FI system, to lower-profile, yet equally important additions such drink specials in the restaurant and upgraded in-room toiletries, the Hilton Milwaukee River is proud to offer these to our guests!

But none would be effective if it wasn't also for a dedicated staff to provide these as well!

We look forward to being a part of your future Milwaukee travel plans!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and blocked 5 rooms for a wedding. We had asked for two of the rooms to be adjoining, and because of it some of our party had to get moved to a different floor. However we were given an upgrade of another room to compensate--which was very nice of the staff to do. The hotel was still being remodeled, but most of the work appeared to be finished. The river view rooms had a nice view, especially since the leaves were changing. The location is right of the interstate and in a quiet part of Glendale surrounded by medical and office buildings. A residential neighborhood and two county parks are north of the hotel across the river. It is near Bayshore Mall and shopping in Whitefish Bay and Shorewood are also rather easy to get to. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was all very nice. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would stay again if in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River following your recent stay with us to attend a wedding!

Our Hotel, along with our restaurant, The Anchorage, completed a variety of different upgrade projects, and I'm glad that you noticed and appreciated them!

From new flat screen TVs and bed linens/towels in the guestrooms to a more powerful, complimentary WI-FI system, and from a remodeled restaurant with both a new décor and menus to new carpeting / wallpaper in our public corridors, our facility has accomplished many improvements.

Glad to read that you also ventured out-and-about within our Milwaukee / Glendale neighborhood! Our location, with easy access to I-94 and I-43, places guests conveniently near Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to other area attractions such as the near-by venues of the Bayshore Town Center and the Sprecher Brewery. (Complimentary area shuttle service provided by the Hotel is also available.)

We do hope to see you again for your next Milwaukee visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here in early October with three grilfriends. We had a double bed room, which is not enough bed space for four people. The hotel its self was okay, nothing really stood out about it. We checked out the restaurant attached to the hotel and it was way to expensive so we went elsewhere to eat. The neighborhood was okay so we felt safe to going to and from the car at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your "girls weekend" stay! We appreciate you taking the time to do this!

Our Hotel is more of a boutique-styled facility, focusing on customer service, our location close to attractions such as the nearby Bayshore Town Center Mall, the beautiful views of the Milwaukee River/Estabrook Park banks, and our noted restaurant, The Anchorage.

The Anchorage, while known for its seafood entrees, does offer a wide variety of different options from breakfast to dinner, from small-plate to full entrees, all at affordable, "non-hotel" prices.

Hopefully on your next Milwaukee visit we may welcome you back to our Hotel, as well as tempt you to dine in The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always stay here when we do a show in Milwaukee. This hotel is a perfect 5 minutes from the downtown Milwaukee area & close enough to a Mall for some decent restaurants. No free breakfast, but there is coffee. There is a restaurant on site, but we have never tried it. This hotel is always spotless. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are good sized, nicely decorated & beds are comfortable (don't know how hotels don't get the message that not everyone loves a feather pillow, cough, cough, sneeze) It's usually a very quiet hotel, however, this past weekend we were plagued by college kids - why do people think it's ok to talk & laugh in a hotel hallway in the middle of the night? Also appreciate that there are volume control "lock" on the tv - you can't make it go louder than the middle level. We will be staying here again when we do the same show next year, but question again, the practice of boosting the room rate on Saturday nite. We paid one rate on Friday & higher on Saturday even though it did not seem to be sold out.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room, much more scenic than the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Hilton Milwaukee River, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River here on Trip Advisor, as well as making us your home-away-from-home for your Milwaukee shows!

Our location, with easy access to I-94 and I-43, places guests conveniently near Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to other area attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Miller Park.

I'm glad to read that you appreciated le levels of service and friendliness of our staff as well, since they all work hard for our hotel and restaurant guests. I'm also glad you appreciated the fact that we cannot control the conduct of our guests. Sorry that their exuberant conversations effected you at a late hour.

We do hope to see you again for your next Milwaukee show, and invite you to make time to dine in our restaurant, The Anchorage! As you can read on their own Trip Advisor site, we're proud to say that The Anchorage is not your typical hotel food outlet!

See you next year!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Milwaukee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee River

Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Hilton Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hilton
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Milwaukee River 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Milwaukee River is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Hilton Milwaukee River is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced Hilton property! Your attendees’ leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed and newly remodeled Anchorage Restaurant and River’s Edge Pub, our popular "Hilton HHonors" guestroom points program, and other specialized Hilton services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milwaukee River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.