We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So So Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here in early October with three grilfriends. We had a double bed room, which is not enough bed space for four people. The hotel its self was okay, nothing really stood out about it. We checked out the restaurant attached to the hotel and it was way to expensive so we went elsewhere to eat. The neighborhood was okay so we felt safe to going to and from the car at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your "girls weekend" stay! We appreciate you taking the time to do this!

Our Hotel is more of a boutique-styled facility, focusing on customer service, our location close to attractions such as the nearby Bayshore Town Center Mall, the beautiful views of the Milwaukee River/Estabrook Park banks, and our noted restaurant, The Anchorage.

The Anchorage, while known for its seafood entrees, does offer a wide variety of different options from breakfast to dinner, from small-plate to full entrees, all at affordable, "non-hotel" prices.

Hopefully on your next Milwaukee visit we may welcome you back to our Hotel, as well as tempt you to dine in The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    114
    69
    36
    12
See reviews for
92
75
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
crystal lake, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always stay here when we do a show in Milwaukee. This hotel is a perfect 5 minutes from the downtown Milwaukee area & close enough to a Mall for some decent restaurants. No free breakfast, but there is coffee. There is a restaurant on site, but we have never tried it. This hotel is always spotless. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are good sized, nicely decorated & beds are comfortable (don't know how hotels don't get the message that not everyone loves a feather pillow, cough, cough, sneeze) It's usually a very quiet hotel, however, this past weekend we were plagued by college kids - why do people think it's ok to talk & laugh in a hotel hallway in the middle of the night? Also appreciate that there are volume control "lock" on the tv - you can't make it go louder than the middle level. We will be staying here again when we do the same show next year, but question again, the practice of boosting the room rate on Saturday nite. We paid one rate on Friday & higher on Saturday even though it did not seem to be sold out.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room, much more scenic than the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River here on Trip Advisor, as well as making us your home-away-from-home for your Milwaukee shows!

Our location, with easy access to I-94 and I-43, places guests conveniently near Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to other area attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Miller Park.

I'm glad to read that you appreciated le levels of service and friendliness of our staff as well, since they all work hard for our hotel and restaurant guests. I'm also glad you appreciated the fact that we cannot control the conduct of our guests. Sorry that their exuberant conversations effected you at a late hour.

We do hope to see you again for your next Milwaukee show, and invite you to make time to dine in our restaurant, The Anchorage! As you can read on their own Trip Advisor site, we're proud to say that The Anchorage is not your typical hotel food outlet!

See you next year!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here during September 2012. Reminds you of those older Hiltons you come across now and again. Going through a refurb programme and we were upgraded to a river view room. Large and quiet. Breakfast hasn't had the makeover it really needs except that the Sunday Omlette Station was a great relief from the overlooked dry cold sausages and bacon waiting at the "buffet".

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay!

Responses pro and con are very appreciated, as they help us to make our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage, much better in terms of customer service and quality.

We have done a number of different enhancement projects to our property, such as extensive re-wallpapering and carpeting in our public areas and new TVs in our guestrooms to name a few. We also have done a number of upgrades to The Anchorage, including a fresh, new decor and revamped menus.

To read that you experienced less-than-satisfactory items on your breakfast buffet was immediately address with the kitchen staff. Other patrons have praised our menu upgrades and our breakfast buffet itself (please see the comments under “The Anchorage” on this Trip Advisor site), and with a buffet style format, the staff needs to be more attentive to quality, re-stocking items, and presentation.

I'm confidant that these items will be remedied on your next visit to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms are pretty much as pictured. The carpets, room and bath were very clean. No surprises or smells. Good water and adequate lighting. Nice, comfortable bed and furnishings. The website indicates there is a charge for wi-fi but that is not the case, just get the log-in. Flat screen tv & remote worked well. Some noise from hall, but overall pretty quiet in the room. Staff was excellent, we arrived in the wee hours and there is a full-time security person available too, but neighborhood is quite safe and no concerns with needing to go in and out at any time. Family recommended Solly's Restaurant across the street, amazing burgers. Did not try the hotel restaurant, but the bar (closes at midnight) was nice & received a 2 for 1 drink coupon at check-in. Competent and helpful desk staff made coming and going easier. Did not use or view the pool Stayed 2 nights and no problems at all. Would definitely recommend and would stay again..

Room Tip: View of river was nice -- we were even numbered on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your insightful and detailed commentary following your stay with us! All very appreciated!

The Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as our restaurant, The Anchorage, completed a variety of different upgrade and enhancement projects over the past several months, and I'm glad that you noticed and appreciated them!

From new flat screen TVs and bed linens/towels in the guestrooms to a more powerful, complimentary WI-FI system, and from a remodeled restaurant with both a new décor and menus to a repaved parking lot, our Hotel has accomplished many guest-driven changes.

But none of these would have the importance they do if it wasn't for a diligent and dedicated staff. You comments also thankfully highlighted the efforts of the housekeeping and front desk staffs!

Glad to read that you also ventured out-and-about, making a delicious stop at Solly's! Their butter burgers are quite the rage! For your next visit, there is also the Sprecher Brewery, Kopp's Custard, and the Bayshore Town Center Mall all in close proximity to our Hotel. (Complimentary area shuttle service provided by the Hotel is also available.)

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Milwaukee. The stay was even better this weekend as the staff was very courteous and the hotel had great rates. Its also been remodled from the inside. The manager went out of her way to make me feel welcomed and I really appreciated that. If you are in the Miwalukee area and need a nice quiet place to stay this is it.

P.E.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River!

It's pleasing to read that the combination of our recent upgrades and enhancements, coupled with a welcoming and helpful staff, has earned us the honor of being your preferred Milwaukee hotel for your visits!

We look forward to continuing to provide these levels of service for your future visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our club meets regularly at the Hilton for a lunch event. We've developed a strong relationship with Karen Dawson, who oversees our event logistics. We inevitably have moments right before and after the "start time" when we aren't sure exactly how many people will show up. This last time, we had several people arrive up to 15 minutes late due to issues beyond their control, and Karen and her staff were quick to accommodate them and serve them seamlessly along with the 40 others. Karen also handled a difficult member with diplomacy. We look forward to doing future business with you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments in regards to your banquet function recently held at The Hilton Milwaukee River! Very appreciated!

Of the many different elements and services within our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, we are quite proud of the levels of service from our banquet department, led by Karen.

Working alongside the banquet staff and the kitchen staff, she makes sure that our guests receive the best-possible service, food quality, and response to their meeting / catering needs.

I'm glad to hear that your event was a success, and we do look forward to being a part of many more!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A few miles north of downtown Milwaukee. Northern exposure to pleasant views of the Milwaukee River. Near major shopping district. Mufti-story, older building that has been up-dated. Large, free parking lot a plus compared to expensive downtown parking. Setback far enough from highway to be quieter. Very helpful lobby staff. Older main single elevator is quite slow. My room was smaller but adequate. Main disappointment is the indoor pool. It is small and quite shallow (4'-3'); not suitable for swimming. Also lacks rest rooms. Exercise room equipment is mediocre. Main plus is a top-notch restaurant with a river-front view, the Anchorage. Specializes in sea food. Very attentive staff. Reasonable prices. Good variety in breakfast buffet and you can also order off the menu. Hotel can accommodate meetings and events.

Room Tip: The elevator at the east end may be a good option. North-side rooms may have river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about both the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as for our restaurant, The Anchorage!

We do consider our Hotel to be quite unique, ranging from our location (close to Downtown and to the Bayshore Town Center, yet pastoral enough with a river-side, parkway site) to our staff (we are proud of their combined efforts) to amenities like our complimentary, open-air parking.

For future visits, we do have a 2nd elevator located towards the back of the building. Many guests rely solely on the main elevator just off of the lobby, not knowing of the other one. And while not on the larger gymnasium or water-park scale, our indoor pool does receive many compliments for accommodating guests looking for a lap-pool version.

I am glad to read of your comments of our restaurant, The Anchorage! Celebrating nearly 40 years of dining excellence in the area, The Anchorage is widely appreciated for its unique and fresh seafood entrees, with selections flown-in from all coasts. But as you mentioned, their new menu also includes the addition of Allen Brothers steaks and a bountiful daily breakfast buffet! (We encourage you to also provide comments on their dedicated Trip Advisor site.)

Our entire staff does look forward to welcoming you back for a return hotel or dining visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.