We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Milwaukee. The stay was even better this weekend as the staff was very courteous and the hotel had great rates. Its also been remodled from the inside. The manager went out of her way to make me feel welcomed and I really appreciated that. If you are in the Miwalukee area and need a nice quiet place to stay this is it.

P.E.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River!

It's pleasing to read that the combination of our recent upgrades and enhancements, coupled with a welcoming and helpful staff, has earned us the honor of being your preferred Milwaukee hotel for your visits!

We look forward to continuing to provide these levels of service for your future visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    122
    80
    38
    19
See reviews for
102
85
36
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our club meets regularly at the Hilton for a lunch event. We've developed a strong relationship with Karen Dawson, who oversees our event logistics. We inevitably have moments right before and after the "start time" when we aren't sure exactly how many people will show up. This last time, we had several people arrive up to 15 minutes late due to issues beyond their control, and Karen and her staff were quick to accommodate them and serve them seamlessly along with the 40 others. Karen also handled a difficult member with diplomacy. We look forward to doing future business with you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments in regards to your banquet function recently held at The Hilton Milwaukee River! Very appreciated!

Of the many different elements and services within our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, we are quite proud of the levels of service from our banquet department, led by Karen.

Working alongside the banquet staff and the kitchen staff, she makes sure that our guests receive the best-possible service, food quality, and response to their meeting / catering needs.

I'm glad to hear that your event was a success, and we do look forward to being a part of many more!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A few miles north of downtown Milwaukee. Northern exposure to pleasant views of the Milwaukee River. Near major shopping district. Mufti-story, older building that has been up-dated. Large, free parking lot a plus compared to expensive downtown parking. Setback far enough from highway to be quieter. Very helpful lobby staff. Older main single elevator is quite slow. My room was smaller but adequate. Main disappointment is the indoor pool. It is small and quite shallow (4'-3'); not suitable for swimming. Also lacks rest rooms. Exercise room equipment is mediocre. Main plus is a top-notch restaurant with a river-front view, the Anchorage. Specializes in sea food. Very attentive staff. Reasonable prices. Good variety in breakfast buffet and you can also order off the menu. Hotel can accommodate meetings and events.

Room Tip: The elevator at the east end may be a good option. North-side rooms may have river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about both the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as for our restaurant, The Anchorage!

We do consider our Hotel to be quite unique, ranging from our location (close to Downtown and to the Bayshore Town Center, yet pastoral enough with a river-side, parkway site) to our staff (we are proud of their combined efforts) to amenities like our complimentary, open-air parking.

For future visits, we do have a 2nd elevator located towards the back of the building. Many guests rely solely on the main elevator just off of the lobby, not knowing of the other one. And while not on the larger gymnasium or water-park scale, our indoor pool does receive many compliments for accommodating guests looking for a lap-pool version.

I am glad to read of your comments of our restaurant, The Anchorage! Celebrating nearly 40 years of dining excellence in the area, The Anchorage is widely appreciated for its unique and fresh seafood entrees, with selections flown-in from all coasts. But as you mentioned, their new menu also includes the addition of Allen Brothers steaks and a bountiful daily breakfast buffet! (We encourage you to also provide comments on their dedicated Trip Advisor site.)

Our entire staff does look forward to welcoming you back for a return hotel or dining visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We didn't want to drive home tired after a Brewer's night game so we crashed here. It was a quick drive from the ballpark and just off the Interstate so it was convenient. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Even better was that the heating/cooling in the room was intelligently designed so it was easy to use and it didn't make so much noise that it disturbed our slumber. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for your comments following your stay with us while in town for a Brewer game!

Our location does offer guests easy access from I-94 and I-43 to Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to the numerous area attractions such as Miller Park. It also places guests conveniently close to the wonderful 'northshore' attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, the Sprecher Brewery, and the UW-Milwaukee campus.

In addition to enjoying our location, I am glad to read that you equally enjoyed both our enhanced guestrooms and our hotel / restaurant staff, as they do work hard to provide great hospitality and customer service!

If in town again for another ballgame, or perhaps for another social outing, we hope to welcome you back here to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now - weekends and weekdays. The hotel is fully renovated and is typical Hilton throughout. River view rooms are better than parking lot views - but nothing to take a picture of.

Rooms are well appointed, maybe a little on the dark side. Bathrooms are spacious, modern, and clean.

The hotel bar and restaurant are OK. I've had breakfast here, it is is solid. HHonors Gold and Diamond members are offered the buffet breakfast, which is well prepared and offers a variety of choices. Restaurant staff has been consistent across visits and are always warm and friendly... I can't say the same for the bartender in the evening. Other hotel staff are friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel, the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as on our restaurant, The Anchorage!

Our hotel and restaurant did recently complete a phase of improvements and enhancements, and I am glad that you noticed and appreciated our upgrades based on your previous visits!

One of the upgrades included new carpeting and wallpaper in our public and guestroom hallways. It does now give a deep, rich look that tastefully accents the natural oak trim that ornaments the Hotel and restaurant areas.

We are also very proud of The Anchorage in terms of restaurant quality, service levels, and unique river-view ambiance that accent their new decor and menu offerings. While you received exemplary service in the restaurant area, I do apologize if your bar service was not to your liking. This has been brought to the attention of the appropriate staff and managers. I encourage you to also provide your restaurant comments directly to The Anchorage's listing also here on Trip Advisor.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next Milwaukee visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel has a 2 star dark Best Western 70s decor in the entrance, lobby, and all the halls. Fortunately, the room was a little better and appeared recently updated. My 3 and 4 year olds never saw a pool they did not like, except this one. They jumped in and went right back up to the room complaining that was too cold.

The breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise. It was $13 (complimentary with my Hilton Honor Gold) that would still be a great value that I would pay for. The fruit included raspberry and blueberry, greek yogurt, omelette station.

This is more a Hampton Inn than a Hilton. Even the breakfast was not good enough for me to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your notations here on Trip Advisor! !

Our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, both have gone through substantial improvement projects, many to the pleasure and accolades of our guests. However, your comments gave a much different sentiment. I am in receipt of your comments, and I wanted to respond in kind, designed to better our unique hotel facility as well as to inform all of our recent changes.

In order to better our hotel, we have made a variety of enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River over the past 15-odd months. They have included, but are not limited to items such as new 37" flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, an additional hotel van for more complimentary corporate/social shuttle service, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

Recent completions now showcase totally new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways, corridors and lobby areas, revamped menus for lunch and dinner service, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our Patio that overlooks the Milwaukee River, upgrades our guestroom bedding, linens, shower curtains/rods, towels, and in-room toiletries, increased landscaping to our exterior façades.........and lastly a totally repaved parking lot.

We are equally proud of The Anchorage, with their new menus and decor. And I am glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, a favorite to over-night guests and local dining patrons alike.

Regarding our indoor pool? With the change of the season now, going from an unseasonably hot and stifling summer to more fall-like temperatures, I will alert our maintenance staff to adjust the water temperature accordingly.

I hope that with these new bits of information that we may welcome you back!

Regards,

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our room was very affordable which is why my boyfriend and I chose this place. Great location, near the neighborhood of Shorewood which has great food, shopping and parks. Shorewood may be my favorite part of Milwaukee. As for the hotel, they are going through some modernization so some of the things in the room are nice and new such as the dressers and carpet. But other things were old and out-dated such as the stained chairs and moldy fridge. The hotel does give a notice about the changes and I think when they are all finished it will be a very nice hotel. Great tolietries provided and the staff was very helpful and friendly. If you don't need to be in downtown Milwaukee, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks you for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Our location, being within striking distance to Downtown Milwaukee, the lakefront, and the numerous area attractions, also places guests close to the wonderful 'northshore' communities such as Glendale, Whitefish Bay, and Shorewood. In this manner guests can enjoy their unique shops, cafes, and attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center.

We have accomplished many different upgrades and enhancements in the past few months, featuring items such as new carpeting and wallpaper, a remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage, and new flat-screen TVs for the guestrooms. Future enhancements are certainly planned.

But one of the more important items with upgrades, customer service, and hospitality is cleanliness, and the condition of your refrigerator was immediately brought to the attention of our housekeeping department.

I am also glad that you appreciated the other enhancements here, specifically the friendliness and responsiveness of our staff members and the in-room toiletries.

We all look forward to making the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage your preferred choice......for Milwaukee AND Shorewood!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.