We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee River Inn

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milwaukee River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Downers Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We didn't want to drive home tired after a Brewer's night game so we crashed here. It was a quick drive from the ballpark and just off the Interstate so it was convenient. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Even better was that the heating/cooling in the room was intelligently designed so it was easy to use and it didn't make so much noise that it disturbed our slumber. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for your comments following your stay with us while in town for a Brewer game!

Our location does offer guests easy access from I-94 and I-43 to Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to the numerous area attractions such as Miller Park. It also places guests conveniently close to the wonderful 'northshore' attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, the Sprecher Brewery, and the UW-Milwaukee campus.

In addition to enjoying our location, I am glad to read that you equally enjoyed both our enhanced guestrooms and our hotel / restaurant staff, as they do work hard to provide great hospitality and customer service!

If in town again for another ballgame, or perhaps for another social outing, we hope to welcome you back here to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    114
    69
    36
    12
See reviews for
92
75
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now - weekends and weekdays. The hotel is fully renovated and is typical Hilton throughout. River view rooms are better than parking lot views - but nothing to take a picture of.

Rooms are well appointed, maybe a little on the dark side. Bathrooms are spacious, modern, and clean.

The hotel bar and restaurant are OK. I've had breakfast here, it is is solid. HHonors Gold and Diamond members are offered the buffet breakfast, which is well prepared and offers a variety of choices. Restaurant staff has been consistent across visits and are always warm and friendly... I can't say the same for the bartender in the evening. Other hotel staff are friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel, the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as on our restaurant, The Anchorage!

Our hotel and restaurant did recently complete a phase of improvements and enhancements, and I am glad that you noticed and appreciated our upgrades based on your previous visits!

One of the upgrades included new carpeting and wallpaper in our public and guestroom hallways. It does now give a deep, rich look that tastefully accents the natural oak trim that ornaments the Hotel and restaurant areas.

We are also very proud of The Anchorage in terms of restaurant quality, service levels, and unique river-view ambiance that accent their new decor and menu offerings. While you received exemplary service in the restaurant area, I do apologize if your bar service was not to your liking. This has been brought to the attention of the appropriate staff and managers. I encourage you to also provide your restaurant comments directly to The Anchorage's listing also here on Trip Advisor.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next Milwaukee visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel has a 2 star dark Best Western 70s decor in the entrance, lobby, and all the halls. Fortunately, the room was a little better and appeared recently updated. My 3 and 4 year olds never saw a pool they did not like, except this one. They jumped in and went right back up to the room complaining that was too cold.

The breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise. It was $13 (complimentary with my Hilton Honor Gold) that would still be a great value that I would pay for. The fruit included raspberry and blueberry, greek yogurt, omelette station.

This is more a Hampton Inn than a Hilton. Even the breakfast was not good enough for me to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your notations here on Trip Advisor! !

Our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, both have gone through substantial improvement projects, many to the pleasure and accolades of our guests. However, your comments gave a much different sentiment. I am in receipt of your comments, and I wanted to respond in kind, designed to better our unique hotel facility as well as to inform all of our recent changes.

In order to better our hotel, we have made a variety of enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River over the past 15-odd months. They have included, but are not limited to items such as new 37" flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, an additional hotel van for more complimentary corporate/social shuttle service, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

Recent completions now showcase totally new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways, corridors and lobby areas, revamped menus for lunch and dinner service, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our Patio that overlooks the Milwaukee River, upgrades our guestroom bedding, linens, shower curtains/rods, towels, and in-room toiletries, increased landscaping to our exterior façades.........and lastly a totally repaved parking lot.

We are equally proud of The Anchorage, with their new menus and decor. And I am glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, a favorite to over-night guests and local dining patrons alike.

Regarding our indoor pool? With the change of the season now, going from an unseasonably hot and stifling summer to more fall-like temperatures, I will alert our maintenance staff to adjust the water temperature accordingly.

I hope that with these new bits of information that we may welcome you back!

Regards,

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our room was very affordable which is why my boyfriend and I chose this place. Great location, near the neighborhood of Shorewood which has great food, shopping and parks. Shorewood may be my favorite part of Milwaukee. As for the hotel, they are going through some modernization so some of the things in the room are nice and new such as the dressers and carpet. But other things were old and out-dated such as the stained chairs and moldy fridge. The hotel does give a notice about the changes and I think when they are all finished it will be a very nice hotel. Great tolietries provided and the staff was very helpful and friendly. If you don't need to be in downtown Milwaukee, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks you for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Our location, being within striking distance to Downtown Milwaukee, the lakefront, and the numerous area attractions, also places guests close to the wonderful 'northshore' communities such as Glendale, Whitefish Bay, and Shorewood. In this manner guests can enjoy their unique shops, cafes, and attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center.

We have accomplished many different upgrades and enhancements in the past few months, featuring items such as new carpeting and wallpaper, a remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage, and new flat-screen TVs for the guestrooms. Future enhancements are certainly planned.

But one of the more important items with upgrades, customer service, and hospitality is cleanliness, and the condition of your refrigerator was immediately brought to the attention of our housekeeping department.

I am also glad that you appreciated the other enhancements here, specifically the friendliness and responsiveness of our staff members and the in-room toiletries.

We all look forward to making the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage your preferred choice......for Milwaukee AND Shorewood!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World - But based in US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I would rather have stayed at the downtown Hilton, but this was much closer to where I was working. Located next to the Milwaukee river, our room on the second floor had a nice view of it. Our room was clean and comfortable, although we found the duvet too hot for late summer. A simple request got us switched to a more conventional blanket and sheet. Bed was comfortable, although the whole bed would shake when my spouse changed positions. Individual coils would have resolved that.

The pool looked fine, but didn't seem adequately heated for my spoked taste in swimming. The exercise room seemed adequate and was actually used by the guests when I was there.

The shower was perfect! Good stream and steady temperatures.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. The Anchorage Restaurant connected to the hotel was quite good as well.

I'd stay there again if I needed close access in the area. I doubt that there's anything nicer within 5 miles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks you for your comments following your recent stay with us! Very appreciated!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant, The Anchorage, and our proximity to the major attractions and downtown areas of Milwaukee!

With the seasonal change to fall after a very brutal summer, we will increase the pool temperatures more. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

We have made some enhancements to our facility, especially within The Anchorage restaurant, and are quite proud of both their quality of entrees and levels of customer service.

Based on your recent stay, I do hope that we have earned your confidence for return visits and dining experiences!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were there for a very large wedding. The staff was helpful and kind. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and quiet.
The 'river view' is not what I expected but it was still better than looking out over the parking lot.
We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments via Trip Advisor from your recent stay at the Hilton Milwaukee River! (I hope that you had a great time at the wedding!)

One of the many assets of both the hotel and our Anchorage restaurant is our Housekeeping Department! They do work very hard to assure guests of receiving a perfect guestroom during their stay.

We do receive a variety of different comments regarding the views from the guestrooms. While not a huge body of water, the river views do provide a unique view with the typical, seasonal changes and growth. The Milwaukee River's banks are protected areas from our park system, so a 'natural' state is preserved.

We also get many compliments from our parking lot views as well, as the area does feature many classic buildings that have won area landscaping and lighting honors.

I'm glad to read that you would certainly stay with us again, and look forward to that trip here!


-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice Hilton five miles from downtown Milwaukee but at half the price. Rooms are small but clean, and is everything you would expect from a Hilton. Breakfast buffet has a lot of great choices and will leave you stuffed. The only negative is the horrible orange interior walls and doors and is in obvious need of a new paint job. Nice hotel to stay though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Milwaukee River Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. Very appreciated!

We are proud of many elements for our Hotel.....our location that places you within minutes of the major attractions within Milwaukee, including Downtown and the lakefront.....our competitive but fair pricing, giving guests full-serviced affordability.....and our restaurant, The Anchorage, an area favorite for over 35 years! All items that you positively referenced. (I encourage you to provide your comments to their Trip Advisor site as well!)

We are also proud of the upgrades that we have recently completed, such as new carpeting/wallpaper, fresh paint, new TVs, and an upgraded WI-FI system. The new color scheme featuring a burnt-orange motif accented with black trim and earth tones were directly approved by Hilton itself, and has received many compliments from other hotel guests who have noticed and appreciated our enhancements.

We have also refurbished our restaurant, The Anchorage, with a new decor and revamped menus, again to the praise of many other patrons.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and look to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milwaukee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee River Inn

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee River)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milwaukee River Inn is a full-serviced hotel and conference facility located near the corner of Port Washington Road and Hampton Avenue. Overlooking the banks of the scenic Milwaukee River, our Hotel is only minutes away from the major attractions, businesses, and social venues within the greater Milwaukee area. Combined with our convenient freeway access and our complimentary open-air guest parking, your guests and clients should have very easy access to our facility for your events! Proudly featuring 161 guestrooms featuring complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet, along with nearly 4,500 square feet of unique and flexible meeting / dining space, the Milwaukee River Inn is also able to professionally host and cater events in our various salons totaling up to 225 attendees! Additionally, our corporate-styled Hotel facility will present your guests with all of the formalities of a full-serviced hotel property! Your attendees' leisure time can be conveniently spent with our proximity to shopping and entertainment at the elegantly remodeled Bayshore Town Center, attractions of different styles and tastes, and county parks and golf courses. This is all in addition to our own numerous in-house amenities, our highly-acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, celebrating 40 years of dining excellence, and other specialized guest services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Milwaukee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.