We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff / Average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
So. Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great staff / Average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Centrally-located downtown, near Marquette Univ. campus and restaurants. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts nearby. Stayed 2 nights. Front desk staff was very courteous & helpful with information on local attractions and restaurants & calling for cabs when we needed them. Ate 1 dinner & 1 breakfast at the hotel and it was very good, especially for a hotel restaurant. People in our party had steak & fish, both good. The breakfast buffet was excellent, although maybe a bit pricey at $11 or 12 each, but it sure was convenient on a snowy cold morning. The sleep number bed we had was not very comfortable for 2 people; I wonder if there was something malfunctioning with it. Might stay again if in the area, but other than the friendly staff & restaurant, the room itself was only average.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    162
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
101
118
23
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The location is within walking distance of Starbucks, there is a 24 hour convenience store and a liquor store across the street. Valet parking, check in and check out was a breeze. The room was a King corner suite with a great view of the city. Comfortable sitting area. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable. Plenty of room to move around. Snacks and bottled water were available in room when we arrived.
The room service was fast. We had a bottle of wine, a burger, a sandwich and dessert for $58 including tip. There is an 18% gratuity included on the bill. The tray included ice water and individual bottles of condiments. We received a call about an hour after we ordered to make sure we were satisfied with the food and service. Nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel is located at the heart of Milwaukee, either walking distance or a short cab ride to many of the city's best-known landmarks. It

The staff is very expedient and helpful, which makes the hotel seem like a nice bed and breakfast rather than a chain hotel. The decor also goes the way of B&Bs, with its pastel shades and floral motif. The design is a bit dated as with the architecture itself, but the staff more than compensate for these with their perkiness.

Housekeeping, however, requires some attention. I arrived one night to find my bath tub dirty; I did not complain since I didn't want anyone fired. But then, in hindsight, maybe I should have, since the following day I returned in the afternoon to find my room still not clean. And when the housekeeping arrived, I asked her to fix the bathroom up. Instead, she left the bunch of towels and the soap/shampoo in their plastic on the bathroom countertop without fixing them in their proper places. Darn return to my kindness!

Anyway, despite this sour incident, the delicious cookies remain the most memorable part of my stay in this hotel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Stayed at the Doubletree hotel as it was a one of 3 downtown host hotels for the event I was attending.

I must say all of the staff were exceptional and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. I was able to check in to my room at 11:00 am and the front desk staff was friendly and efficient.
I will agree the room was a bit small, I stayed in room 900 and we had a mini fridge and microwave which came in handy during our 6 night stay. The beds were typical Hilton comfortable and provided a good nights rest.

The hotel was conveniently located and was in easy walking distance to shopping and food options. The pool area was nice and the fitness room was small but adequate for a quick workout. I also noticed two free washer and dryers for guest use.

I ate the breakfast buffet every morning and the food was excellent with a nice choice of all the breakfast favorites that were fresh and cooked properly.

Overall I was very pleased and would stay here again if I ever need to travel to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I am a loyal Hilton chain customer because of the typical reliability of the accommodations and service. This hotel was OK and has many very good points. However, there are a couple of improvement opportunities.

Good points are the location, hotel has a nice appearance, the availability of a shuttle service, the chocolate chip cookie, the majority of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast buffet, business center, free news paper delivery and free wi-fi access.

Some opportunities are the room cleanliness - specifically the carpet had a couple of very sticky spots. One day I was not given a bath mat, but I did not call housekeeping to report it since I got back to my room late that evening. I am sure they would have resolved it, if I had taken the time to call. The hotel is near a busy road so there was some traffic noise, but it was not too bad.

One safety caution is the heavy steal bed frame that the box spring sits on. It was recessed in on the sides of the bed, but at the foot of the bed it extended about 1 inch beyond the mattress and it was covered by the dust ruffle. My small toe jammed into it which resulted in swelling and it turning black and blue. The next morning I could not wear my shoe due to the swelling. I informed a young woman at the reception desk, however, her response was in my opinion - rude. After I informed her of the incident she did not initially respond which was quite awkward, so I tried to explain the incident again and she then said that she cannot say that the bed caused my injury. I was not asking for her or the hotel to admit any liability, but I thought they should know that there is a potential safety concern with the bed frame. It would have been nice to be treated like a valued customer and to have the hotel staff respond with some empathy like - do you need ice, thank you for letting us know, I am sorry to hear of this incident, etc. I would suggest they train their staff how to more appropriately respond to a safety incident when something happens on their property. Hopefully this one individual represents an isolated situation as I found all the other staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I highly recommend this Doubletree for your stay in Milwaukee. I was only there one night, but I found that it was one of the nicest I've stayed at. The room was very clean, and included many amenities: Neutrogena shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, sunblock(!), facial cleanser, rainbath, etc. I also had snacks (chex mix) and water in the room, though that may be because of my Hilton Honors membership (my co-workers, not HHonors members, did not have these amenities). Starbucks is 1/2 block away. Baseball stadium, riverwalk and lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Kudos to the staff who were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, hot and dusty from a long motorcycle ride thru the midwest. How nice to visit a hotel where everyone seems to enjoy their job, with no "attitude." Despite the comfiest mattress, we had a nearly sleepless night due to rowdy guests in the next room; but the following morning when my husband told the management about the issue they bent over backwards to make it up to us. They were considerate, friendly, and highly attentive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.