We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Convention Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Fine Convention Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Doubletree is a fine hotel for a conference. It's a little dated, but the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Doubletree's standard warm cookie on check-in is always a nice touch, too. It's not the nicest or most charming hotel you'll ever stay in, but the Doubletree is a solid choice close to downtown and Marquette.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We truly appreciate the nice review, and are glad that you were pleased with our friendly and award-wining team, clean and comfortable guest rooms, and our freshly baked chocolate chip cookies upon arrival! We are thrilled to hear your comments on the DoubleTree being a “fine hotel for a conference” and a “solid choice”. We agree that we offer an excellent location in the heart of downtown Milwaukee (close to Marquette University and local attractions). Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you back again on future visits, and we look forward to welcoming you back with our signature chocolate chip cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    192
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
127
136
29
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff is the best that I have seen! They are professional, efficient and friendly. A+
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Location is great for visiting the Riverwalk and the Convention Center.
On-site restaurant serves good local fare.
And, of course, the cookies are yummy

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It is wonderful to here that you found our staff to be wonderful and provide you with the best possible service. The cookies are a favorite and please feel free to ask for another. I am glad that the location of our hotel worked well for your travels. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown and we look forward to future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having stayed at two other hotels in downtown Milwaukee, I can firmly say I would not mind going back to the DoubleTree. The Hilton across the street is nicer and if I were staying for more than a couple days I might spring for that hotel, but the DoubleTree was great for our stay. When we walked into the lobby, we were immediately greeted by everyone behind the desk. Before we had even gotten our confirmation number out they had pulled up our name, our room requests (which they fulfilled) and our HHonors number. Everything was very clean. The elevators were quick and the hallways were quiet at night. Our room was slightly smaller than the average Marriott/Hilton/Hyatt, but still not a huge problem. The microwave and mini fridge were a nice surprise though! I hadn't been in a room with either of those in a while! Complimentary wifi for all guests and bottled water for HHonors members. The televisions were really nice (sometimes iffy signal) and had lots of channels including HBO! The housekeeping was very accommodating. We did not need them to clean our room since we were only there two nights, but they were happy to come in and just replace our towels. The hotel is diagonal from the convention center and near the 3rd Ward, which has tons of restaurants. The only downside were the mattresses; but I am hardly ever comfortable sleeping on one that is not my own so I do not hold this against the DoubleTree specifically.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown-we know there are many other options in the Milwaukee area, and we truly appreciate your choice of our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed, and thorough review of your great stay with us. We are happy to hear you were pleased with our warm welcome and smooth and efficient check-in process, accommodating Housekeeping team, and convenient downtown location. In addition, we are glad you were able to take advantage of some of our great amenities including our complimentary high speed internet , the abundant channel package on our 32-Inch LCD HD TVs(including HBO!), and our most recent addition of new Refrigerators and Microwaves in every guest room. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we hope to host you again on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Almost everything about the Milwaukee Doubletree was great. My room was immaculately clean, spacious, and equipped with very comfortable beds, clean linens, a microwave and a fridge. Wifi was speedy. No street noise. I was happy with what this hotel offers for the price.

The only bad experience the whole time was when I was preparing to check out, reception would only call a cab rather than the less expensive shuttle service that I had taken to get there from the airport. Unlike many other hotels, the Milwaukee Doubletree does not have its own airport shuttle.

The Doubletree will put you close (a few minutes walk) to the various convention centers. There's no late-night place within a couple of blocks to get a burger or a slice, but if you're hungry after the hotel restaurant closes then at least there's a convenience store where you can pick up something to put in the microwave.

Bottom line, I'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a pretty nice view of the city and its worth asking for a room up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown, and for your valuable feedback! We’re glad that you were pleased with our immaculately clean and spacious guest rooms, comfortable DoubleTree Sweet Dreams beds and bedding, and convenient downtown location within walking distance to various convention centers. Furthermore, we are glad you were able to take advantage our amenities including complimentary high speed internet and refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room. However, we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations in offering a shuttle service to the airport. We value your feedback as suggestions, as we are always looking for ways to improve for our guests. I will share your comments with the rest of our Management team and we will keep them in mind as we work to improve the guest experience. We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, and we truly appreciate your continued loyalty. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to host you again on future visits to the Milwaukee area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, ia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I love downtown Milwaukee and this put me right in its' heart. The room was clean and quiet, the bed and linens were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, the parking was easy, and the facilities (including the second floor sun deck) were all good. The only downside was a rather cramped bathroom, but it was a minor inconvenience at worst. I'd stay there again with no regrets. Not world class, but the value was fantastic.

Room Tip: ice buckets are metal, so stay away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton while traveling to the Milwaukee area. We truly appreciate the wonderful feedback on your stay with us! We’re pleased you enjoyed our award winning customer service from our team members, efficient valet parking, convenient downtown location (within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, bars and other locations) and clean and comfortable guest rooms! In addition, we are glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our nice outdoor oasis in the city-our sundeck. It makes our day to hear your will stay with us again, and that the value is fantastic! Thank you again for the great review, and we look forward to hosting you on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff was incredible friendly and cooperative, lots of smiles and well wishes from staff. There was a bachelor party in the few rooms next door and even they were fun and friendly. Great downtown location, close enough but far away enough from Marquette U where my daughter is a freshman. I'll be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown while visiting your daughter at Marquette University and for the great review! We are couldn’t be happier to hear comments on our team being “incredibly friendly and cooperative”. We are also pleased to hear your enjoyed our fantastic location in the heart of Downtown Milwaukee (close to Marquette University) and our clean hotel! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a great stay @ this downtown Milwaukee Location! It was clean and the staff was eager to help! Also the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Lindsay! Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We love hearing how clean and comfortable our hotel is, as we strive to provide a “home away from home” experience for our guests! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our helpful and award winning team, convenient downtown location, and comfortable Sweet Dreams bedding and beds. We are thrilled to hear that you would definitely recommend our hotel, and will stay with us again on future visits to the Milwaukee area! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback! We look forward to hosting you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.