We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here when our daughter participated in the USA Triathlon Nationals and our stay could not have been better. Everyone at the hotel from the valet to the front desk to housekeeping were very accommodating and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. We made good use of the refrigerator and microwave. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The Doubletree staff enjoyed having all the tri athletes and seeing what it takes for such a great accomplishment. I do believe that most of the comments were I don't think I could do that! It was an exciting time for us also and we are excited to have you all back next year. Thank you for sharing your stay and we look for ward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    142
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
103
22
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this Doubletree for the duration of the Bead and Button Show (and a few more days besides) and I was extremely happy overall with the hotel and staff. I would say that the location is not that great because there tends to be a bit of 'mugging' going on outside by people begging for money and after you've given several times a day this tends to get a bit much, and because of that I was not so happy wandering around on my own after dark in the area but that is out of the hotel's control.
My room was always spotless though I was a bit disconcerted to find that the maid had decided that the teabags I had brought from the UK in a bag were where for some reason I might be storing old used coffee bags, and had added all the old coffee bags to my tea thereby rendering my tea totally useless (next time I will hide the stuff).
Other than that, I can honestly say I was very happy.
The front desk staff were always there to help and as a single female traveller visiting from outside the country it made a big difference to have people saying hello, good morning and welcome back as and when I left the building.
I used the restaurant just once, but what I had was fine, no complaints - though the restaurant was eerily empty. Parking and driving to the location of the hotel is easy (even for a Brit!) and I do believe the parking valets shared the same sort of relief as I did each time I made it back to the car park with the car in one complete piece. Valet parking worked perfectly, it was not a pain at all to wait a few moments for one of the guys to bring the car down from wherever they'd put it once I left it with them - there seemed no expectation of tips as when they were offered they were accepted, but with some surprise (maybe that was because a British person was offering a tip!).
There are a couple of little mini-mart type shops nearby that have scant food and drink offerings but are ok for stocking up with milk etc. There is also a Starbucks just around the corner. I'd recommend anyone staying at the Doubletree take a short trip with their car to the Milwaukee Public Market to buy some yummy stuff to stock their in-room fridges with. There was always tea and coffee in the room - a microwave and the aforementioned fridge swung the balance for me when I was deciding between hotels in the area as I knew there would be days I would be so busy I would not have chance to go out to eat.
Its not in the best of areas but the staff do go out of their way to look after their customers - I always felt safe inside the hotel. As long as you are aware of your situation at all times and remain focused on keeping yourself and your belongings safe whilst walking around after dark and exercise common sense I am fairly sure Doubletree customers would be fine. Daylight hours were generally OK.
I'm fairly sure I'd stay at the Doubletree again when I go to the Bead and Button Show next year, its a great base. I did have the opportunity of checking out a couple of the other hotels in the area whilst I was attending classes and the Doubletree compares favourably. Their best asset is their lovely staff at this location.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator at the ends of corridors tend to be quieter. Obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It would seem that you were able to become quite familiar with Milwaukee while you were here. We appreciate all the great feedback on our staff and our facility. I do apologize for inconvenience caused while you were with us regarding items in your room. The Bead and Button show is a favorite for us for you are the first convention of the summer and we enjoy having you. We do hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent three nights at this Doubletree and we were pleased with our stay. The price was reasonable. The hotel provides free internet but no breakfast (unless you want to save your cookie till the next morning). Valet parking is $15/night which isn't bad for downtown in a large city. Nearby lots charge $12 day but with no in/out privilege. The location is excellent. It's diagonally across the street from the convention center and a short walk to the river. There are many good restaurants within walking distance. We hardly used our car during the time we were there. Our room had a refrigerator and a microwave. Other than the beds being a little too soft, the room was comfortable and it was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. Be sure to visit the Pabst Mansion and the art museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful feedback about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is alway great to hear when our guests have a good experience and that they got to enjoy some of the attractions that Milwaukee has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your travels. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the people in the valet parking where extremely friendly. every one of the staff that we met where polite and had a nice smile. they greeted you before you you had the chance to say anything to them first. they all where very sincere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Our valet staff is our first impressions and I am so glad that they were able leave one with you. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff and your comments. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean, comfortable, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend. The restaurant was clean, food was very good. Location was excellent, walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Room was clean, beds comfortable, and service was excellent too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to meet all you needs and expectations. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We needed a place to stay close to the Harley Davidson Museum and were very happy we chose this hotel.

The location is great. Close to many good restaurants and easy to get to from the museum.

The front desk staff was fabulous and helpful in making recommendations about where to eat dinner and their suggestions were spot on.

The room was clean and comfortable.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was unbelievable. One of the best breakfast buffets we have had in a long, long time and very reasonably priced too.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Green Features: Loved that they gave you the opportunity to recycle your bottles and papers within your room.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Wow...thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your feed back and the fact that you took the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location to be great and that our staff was helpful. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STREETSBORO, OHIO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

desk was well staffed at check in time. Desk staff was nice and helpful with credit card issues and local information. Building was maintained and clean. Hotel operations was considerate toward guests. Hotel location is great for downtown walking. Typically pricy for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that our staff was able to be of assistance while you were staying at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay and sharing you thoughts and comments. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree
Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.