We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always my first choice Hilton property Downtown MKE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Appleton WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always my first choice Hilton property Downtown MKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This continues to be my first choice Hilton property when I stay in downtown Milwaukee. For our stay on May 17th, check in was quick but thorough. Cookies were warm and delicious as usual. I didn't have time to go up to the room as we had a dinner to get to but I knew there wouldn't be any unpleasant surprises. The rooms are always clean and the beds super comfortable. Bottled water and snacks are always waiting in the room in case you need them.

I really like the valet parking, it's a steal at $15.00. It is a big selling point for me at this property. I don't have to park or worry about my car. Even when it is busy, I haven't had to wait more than 5 minutes. They staff appropriately for busy times.

If I return late at night, I never feel unsafe in the area. The entrance is well-lit.

Keep up the great work DoubleTree!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for the glowing words about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to know that we are able to exceed your expectations with every stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    171
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
106
123
26
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean and the hotel staff to be exceptionally polite and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good. The wireless internet service took a bit of work to figure out, and the street noise could be a loud at times (even if your room is on the upper levels of the hotel). Great location if you are attending conferences at the convention center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee downtown. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of the services the hotel has to offer. We do apologize that you found the street noise to be a disturbance. Please know that if we have the opportunity to have you visit us again in the future we do have complimentary ear plugs at the front desk for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We travel a great deal. This hotel needs to be redone. It feels tired. I literally had the pipe on my bathroom sink fall apart. The location is close to the convention center - but also close to the bus station, draw your own conclusions about the folks that hang around the bus station.

The front desk folks were always very pleasant. Not what I expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Our goal is to every guest leave feeling that it was the best experience that they have ever had and I apologize that your stay was just ok. I do hope that the activities that brought you to Milwaukee were everything that you had hoped they would be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and exceptionally clean. It's updated, has an excellent restaurants and bar on site. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars is that I have been to other hotels that go steps further. A big plus is that they have free washers and dryers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We do hope that when back in Milwaukee for business or pleasure you will come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for work last week. The rooms were large and comfortable-- the beds were great. The hotel is located close to downtown, near Marquette, and close to the river walk area. The staff was friendly and helpful-- they resolved a booking issues for a coworker quickly. They have onsite valet parking which was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. Milwaukee is a great city and there are many activities to enjoy while visiting. It is great that we were able to accommodate your travel needs and we will forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - smack downtown and right by the conference centre (where our event was). The rooms are nothing special to write about, a little on the small side, but the bed was certainly comfortable. The complimentary internet worked well. I was pleasantly surprised one day to have management knock on the door to verify maid service was done (internal quality control I guess).

The hotel was quite full but the elevators didn't take ages to arrive at my (top) floor.

I was impressed with the restaurant staff. Numerous of them were VERY pleasant. The price of the meals were very reasonable, bordering on cheap for the buffets. The food was just fine.

I frequented the bar - service was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do hope that business travel will bring you back this way again in the future and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we travel to Milwaukee. The staff that work there are amazing! Very friendly too. We love the breakfast buffet that is served there every morning and the bar atmosphere is very relaxing whether you are enjoying a beer, cocktail or just a soda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate the glowing comments about our hotel and our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write of your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.