We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - smack downtown and right by the conference centre (where our event was). The rooms are nothing special to write about, a little on the small side, but the bed was certainly comfortable. The complimentary internet worked well. I was pleasantly surprised one day to have management knock on the door to verify maid service was done (internal quality control I guess).

The hotel was quite full but the elevators didn't take ages to arrive at my (top) floor.

I was impressed with the restaurant staff. Numerous of them were VERY pleasant. The price of the meals were very reasonable, bordering on cheap for the buffets. The food was just fine.

I frequented the bar - service was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do hope that business travel will bring you back this way again in the future and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    200
    55
    15
    9
See reviews for
135
141
30
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we travel to Milwaukee. The staff that work there are amazing! Very friendly too. We love the breakfast buffet that is served there every morning and the bar atmosphere is very relaxing whether you are enjoying a beer, cocktail or just a soda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate the glowing comments about our hotel and our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write of your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was clean (smelled fresh). Business center was nice to have since I forgot my prints and needed to print some handouts (did have trouble with printing but still a nice service). Staff was friendly. Great location...within walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent two nights at the Double Tree with my wife while visiting friends travelling from Denver in early May 2013. Overall the Double Tree has quality rooms with decent size, comfortable beds, and good quality fixtures. The service was solid.

The Location is probably the Double Tree's best asset. Just across the street from the Frontier Airlines Center and only a few blocks to the River and some of the best dining in Milwaukee (and Wisconsin), what's not to like? There is a Starbucks and Dunkin Doughnuts within 200 feet. It is easy access and and off the interstate highway was well, so you can easily get out to Miller Park to catch a Brewers game (which we did), head over to the exciting Third Ward, or other parts of the region.

The downsides include the limited parking, lack of pool, and very limited fitness center. Due to the limited parking, parking is Valet only. That's a cool service, but it slows you down if you need to get anything from your car or to get your car out to head out on the town, especially while it is busy. The lack of a pool is not a big deal, but a nice extra. The Fitness Center is important for me while travelling, and the Double Tree just as a hotel room were a couple of treadmills are stashed - without ventillation or anything else. Good thing it is a good location for running.

Overall I give the Double Tree 4 out of 5 for good rooms and location, and down for the limited amentities. The value was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are honored you chose to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown and that you found our location to meet all of your needs. It is also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of so many of the wonderful sights and activities that Milwaukee has to offer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, and we hope to have you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here when visiting Marquette University. The school is only a short walk away and very convenient. We were pleased with the hotel - not a great value but it's hard to get a great rate in downtown Milwaukee during the week. Overall, very good - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location and close to Marquette. Please come back and visist us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is an older downtown property but it it is being renovated and it already fits the bill of a solid example of what a Doubletree should be.
The service folks from the valets to the front desk were friendly and helpful.
The property is across a parking lot from the historic Hilton Milwaukee and is in easy walking distance of literally a hundred or more stores, restaurants and bars.
The only quasi negative I would say is that the hotel only offers valet parking and does not have a self parking option but it is a relatively reasonable charge of 15.00 per night.
This was my first time staying at the Doubletree but it certainly won't be my last.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location and that our staff made an impression. Please come back and visist us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I hope that you get a chance to meet Andrew. He was the front desk clerk during my stay at the hotel. He is super sweet, kind, thoughtful and obviously loves his job! Also, the beds and pillows are super comfortable. My head hit the pillow and I was out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We appreciate the feedback and the glowing words about your good night sleep and of course Andrew! He is wonderful and thank you for recognizing him. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning customer service is just one of the things to expect when you stay at our downtown hotel in Milwaukee, WI. Our friendly team is known for exceptional service that you are sure to remember. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown offers a prime central location with proximity to shops, restaurants and attractions. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel, while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Upon arrival at our downtown Milwaukee hotel, you will be treated to our warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in one of 243 guest rooms and suites featuring complimentary WiFi access. Refresh with cocktails and hearty American cuisine at the Avenue Bar & Grill. Stay active throughout your stay in the inviting atmosphere of our fitness center. Find many local corporations nearby including the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Miller Brewing Company, Johnson Controls and the Manpower Group. Marquette University campus is within walking distance of our hotel. Drive 15 minutes to General Mitchell International Airport (MKE). Host a business meeting or social event in bustling downtown Milwaukee. Our hotel offers flexible meeting and ballroom space for up to 250 guests. From business meetings and conferences to cocktail parties and weddings, our hotel offers a relaxed setting for any type of event. Benefit from A/V equipment, a 24-hour business center, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.