We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service from the second you walk in the door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service from the second you walk in the door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stay at the DoubleTree in Downtown Milwaukee every time I am in town on business which is at least 2-3 times a year. Jeff the Manager and his team are always very friendly and very welcoming from the moment you walk in the door. The rooms are always clean, fresh with modern amenities, the Internet connection is consistently stable and easy to connect to.

Once I forgot my charger for my mobile phone, I called the front desk hoping I could use a Hotel staffs charger - they had a spare that they loaned me for my stay :-)

I will always be returning to the DoubleTree - Thank you Jeff and Team !
John White - Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It is always wonderful to hear when your guests have received great customer service. We appreciate you taking your time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    177
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
110
126
27
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As a returning guest this hotel my experience is they are very consistent with their delivery of exceptional customer service. From the cleanliness and the quietness of the rooms to the wireless internet provided I would not second guess staying here at Doubletree in downtown Milwaukee, it is centrally located and the Manager Jeff and his team are top notch !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We appreciate the feedback and the glowing words about our hotel and our staff. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent sevice from the moment we walked in the door. We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always had excellent sevice. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. We also enjoy the restaurant which is located on the first floor. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is always wonderful to hear when your guests have received great customer service. We appreciate you taking your time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscobel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Doubletree is within walking distance of many venues: the Milwaukee Theater was just 3 short blocks away as well as the Admirals Hockey game. It is great to stay and not worry about parking or driving to an event.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you found the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown to be in a great location for your activities. We do hope that your team won and that you will be back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a good place to stay. Cheap hot sheets, noisy rooms, seedy neighborhood, mediocre food at best. I was approached by beggers 4 times in one outing within a block of the hotel. Surely there must be better places to stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We do apologize that you had a less than wonderful experience at the hotel and in Milwaukee in general. Please know that the area by the hotel is very safe as is the city. We do hope that you will come to Milwaukee to give our wonderful city another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I went to a benefit for a local girl who had Leukemia in November and saw that The Double Tree-Downtown Milwaukee had donated a free overnight stay and valet parking with a thirty dollar gift certificate to the restaurant for breakfast the next day! My husband has stayed in many Double Tree hotels and was really excited to see that we could get a free getaway one weekend and it would be a nice date night for the two of us! He had always had a great experience. We have tried to use the gift card now with many difficulties! First you have to call between 8:00Am and 4:00Pm and speak to one person the manager of reservations in order to book with a gift certificate so we did that. My husband called and they said they had a King size room for $199.00 a night available and asked for a credit card number when he stated that we had a gift certificate the woman said “You can’t use that for the 20th.” my husband said “So you will not honor the certificate?” And the woman said “That’s correct.” My husband asked why and the rude woman said “Because we don’t have many rooms left and the gift certificate says blackout dates apply.”
I cannot believe that they would make it so hard to use a gift certificate that they donated to a benefit! I understand that they want to make money but there is a polite way and a rude way of running a business. I can honestly say that we will not book anymore with The Double Tree- down town Milwaukee or anywhere else. We are very disappointed in the lack of professionalism that they work with. More then likely we will just throw away this gift certificate! At least the money I put in to win this silly gift certificate went to a good cause and not The Double Tree! I would NOT recommend getting a gift certificate to anyone for The Double Tree!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Please accept this as our explanation for a donated gift certificate redemption.
DoubleTree as a hotel donates many gift certificates to charitable organizations these are donated with stipulations.
If we are not selling out we are more than happy to have you stay with us.
The date you had called about was a date we predicted to sell out (1 room left to sell when you called).
So the date would be a black out date as specified on the certificate.
We understand whenever we say no to a request we risk upsetting the caller.
Whereas the donation was given to create good will we seemed to have achieved the opposite.
It is our hope you will give us another date for you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is great. The front desk was always courteous and on several occasions very helpful in giving directions, getting taxis and information. Our room was very clean and there were no problems at all. My room faced the street on the 6th floor and there was no traffic noise. Convenient location, class facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and the customer service they provide. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.