We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milwaukee Events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Boscobel, United States
1 review
“Milwaukee Events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Doubletree is within walking distance of many venues: the Milwaukee Theater was just 3 short blocks away as well as the Admirals Hockey game. It is great to stay and not worry about parking or driving to an event.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you found the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown to be in a great location for your activities. We do hope that your team won and that you will be back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    228
    59
    16
    12
See reviews for
160
170
36
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a good place to stay. Cheap hot sheets, noisy rooms, seedy neighborhood, mediocre food at best. I was approached by beggers 4 times in one outing within a block of the hotel. Surely there must be better places to stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We do apologize that you had a less than wonderful experience at the hotel and in Milwaukee in general. Please know that the area by the hotel is very safe as is the city. We do hope that you will come to Milwaukee to give our wonderful city another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I went to a benefit for a local girl who had Leukemia in November and saw that The Double Tree-Downtown Milwaukee had donated a free overnight stay and valet parking with a thirty dollar gift certificate to the restaurant for breakfast the next day! My husband has stayed in many Double Tree hotels and was really excited to see that we could get a free getaway one weekend and it would be a nice date night for the two of us! He had always had a great experience. We have tried to use the gift card now with many difficulties! First you have to call between 8:00Am and 4:00Pm and speak to one person the manager of reservations in order to book with a gift certificate so we did that. My husband called and they said they had a King size room for $199.00 a night available and asked for a credit card number when he stated that we had a gift certificate the woman said “You can’t use that for the 20th.” my husband said “So you will not honor the certificate?” And the woman said “That’s correct.” My husband asked why and the rude woman said “Because we don’t have many rooms left and the gift certificate says blackout dates apply.”
I cannot believe that they would make it so hard to use a gift certificate that they donated to a benefit! I understand that they want to make money but there is a polite way and a rude way of running a business. I can honestly say that we will not book anymore with The Double Tree- down town Milwaukee or anywhere else. We are very disappointed in the lack of professionalism that they work with. More then likely we will just throw away this gift certificate! At least the money I put in to win this silly gift certificate went to a good cause and not The Double Tree! I would NOT recommend getting a gift certificate to anyone for The Double Tree!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Please accept this as our explanation for a donated gift certificate redemption.
DoubleTree as a hotel donates many gift certificates to charitable organizations these are donated with stipulations.
If we are not selling out we are more than happy to have you stay with us.
The date you had called about was a date we predicted to sell out (1 room left to sell when you called).
So the date would be a black out date as specified on the certificate.
We understand whenever we say no to a request we risk upsetting the caller.
Whereas the donation was given to create good will we seemed to have achieved the opposite.
It is our hope you will give us another date for you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is great. The front desk was always courteous and on several occasions very helpful in giving directions, getting taxis and information. Our room was very clean and there were no problems at all. My room faced the street on the 6th floor and there was no traffic noise. Convenient location, class facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and the customer service they provide. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the price you pay, you would expect something comparable to a Marriott Courtyard, at least.

The hotel is clean, quiet, and in a nice area of town. There is no self parking, the only choice is hotel valet parking ($15/ night which is reasonable). The breakfast choices were very standard for American buffet style breakfast (scramble eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, pancakes, yogurt, and an assortment of juices).

The issue I had with this hotel, traveling with a family, is that there is not a whole lot to entertain the kids. No pool (shame on me for not checking prior to booking), very limited kids TV channels, NO pay per view, and a very weak internet room connection. In addition, the rooms are VERY small if traveling with family.

The staff was very nice and polite. They offered the kids cookies upon arrival. The personal at the breakfast room was super nice to the kids as well.

Location is great, we were close to the museum, marquette university, the mall and some good restaurant choices. All kid friendly things in the area, however, close at 5pm. From 5pm until sleep time was the challenge for me as there were not that many options at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and the time that you took to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that you did enjoy the amenities that the hotel has to offer and we too would love to be able to accommodate our guests with a pool but unfortunately, we are not able to. Please know that in the summer we do have a wonderful sun deck where you are able to order food or just enjoy the outside. We do hope that you enjoyed all the other attractions that Milwaukee has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently took our daughter & her friend to a concert at The Rave/Eagles Club. We chose this hotel due to reviews, price, & proximity. We were very happy with the staff, cleanliness, & location. The rooms are small, but clean (which is very important to us). They are up to date on furnishings & decor & had a refrigerator, microwave, and a dual-cup coffee maker. Our only complaint was the temperature of the room. We turned the heat down as far as the thermometer would go & the fan on high to cool the room down. No covers were needed that night! When checking out, I informed the persons at the desk of our discomfort. They graciously offered up 2 breakfasts or free parking. We took the parking as we were already ready to leave and said that they can either have the hotel on air conditioning or heat & that with the weather, it's been very hard to guess at which one to turn on. We would try this hotel again simply due to the staff & cleanliness.

Room Tip: We always choose a room away from the elevator so that when the hotel is busy, there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do apologize for the challenges we experience when the weather in Wisconsin is trying to figure out which season it is in. It is great to hear that the staff and the condition of our hotel will bring you back to visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is great. The front desk was always courteous and on several occasions very helpful in giving directions, getting taxis and information. Our room was very clean and there were no problems at all. We faced the street and were on the 4th floor and there was no traffic noise other than emergency vehicles. If I come to Milwaukee again I will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. It is always wonderful to hear positive feed back and to know that we succeeded in helping to make a memorable experience while visiting Milwaukee. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning customer service is just one of the things to expect when you stay at our downtown hotel in Milwaukee, WI. Our friendly team is known for exceptional service that you are sure to remember. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown offers a prime central location with proximity to shops, restaurants and attractions. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel, while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Upon arrival at our downtown Milwaukee hotel, you will be treated to our warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in one of 243 guest rooms and suites featuring complimentary WiFi access. Refresh with cocktails and hearty American cuisine at the Avenue Bar & Grill. Stay active throughout your stay in the inviting atmosphere of our fitness center. Find many local corporations nearby including the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Miller Brewing Company, Johnson Controls and the Manpower Group. Marquette University campus is within walking distance of our hotel. Drive 15 minutes to General Mitchell International Airport (MKE). Host a business meeting or social event in bustling downtown Milwaukee. Our hotel offers flexible meeting and ballroom space for up to 250 guests. From business meetings and conferences to cocktail parties and weddings, our hotel offers a relaxed setting for any type of event. Benefit from A/V equipment, a 24-hour business center, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.