We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we were impressed. It had some of the friendliest staff we've ever encountered at a hotel. Warm chocolate chip cookies when you arrive is a nice touch, too! Our room was spotless, though a bit small. Luxurious linens, a comfortable bed, and multiple pillows gave us a great night's sleep. The valet parking was very convenient and cheaper than parking at nearby hotels. We will definitely stay here again when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the quality of our sheets and most importantly getting a good night sleep. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    195
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
128
138
29
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for a convention. Loved the Valet Parking and the warm cookie upon check in. The room was nice but a very small bathroom. Great location. The only problem that I had was while in our meetings we could smell cigarette smoke in the convention room. We also smelled cigarette smoke in our room. We were on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced by the cigarette smell. Please know that when notified we do try to find where the problem is coming from and take care of it. Wisconsin is a no smoking state and unfortunately, there are people who choose to ignore the rules. It is wonderful that you found our Valet to be a great service and you enjoyed our cookies they are yummy. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to the Milwaukee area we stayed at this fine hotel. Upon registering they gave us homemade chocolate cookies,mmmmmm very tasty. We wanted to be near the Potawatamie Casino and this hotel is very close ,also very close to Marquette University. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the Casino,free of charge a nice feature. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I just wish they didn't charge for the parking after all you are staying at their property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are glad that you were able to explore the area and take advantage of some of the activities that Milwaukee has to offer. We do charge for parking but have worked to maintain a low cost and hopefully a great service with the valet. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here to be near the casino. Which was the main reason for being here. The rooms were nice. The casino sent me a hotel voucher and free valet. So my stay was extra special. Even if I didnt get a break I would still stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Happy to hear you were able to take advantage of their special promotion and that the hotel provided you with a great stay. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Double Tree hotel in downtown Milwaukee, WI is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. You get an amazing chocolate chip cookie at check in. The hotel rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfortable with lots of pillows and the sheets are nice and soft.

Room Tip: Ask for suite or mini suite they have microwaves and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the cookies and the location. Please come back and visit us in the future while traveling in Milwaukee on business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of January. We were promptly greeted and given warm chocolate chip cookies from the front desk. A valet is available to park your car for $15 a day with in and out privileges which is great. Our room was on the 9th floor, two double beds which were very comfy, a mini-fridge and desk area and a nice sized bathroom. The location was great as we could walk to dinner and cab it home from the 3rd ward. It was a perfect base for exploring Milwaukee and I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. We also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling to Milwaukee, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great Valet protected parking. Warm cookies are a nice touch. Did not like the fact that they won't give you Hilton Honors points if you book under a corporate account and get a discounted rate. Why would I bother signing up for Hilton Honors if I don't get credit for staying here weekly on business travel. How else would anyone rack up at least 16 stays to get a free room through Hilton Honors if it wasn't a business traveler. No individual is gong to have 16 room stays unless it's for work. Ridiculous. Hotel was great, these membership deals are not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience at the Doubletree Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that you find value in our valet parking and you enjoy the cookies. I do hope that our conversation privately has cleared any misunderstanding regarding your HHonors. We look forward to future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.