We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribute to the King Stay in Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest--USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tribute to the King Stay in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Awesome hotel, with an excellent caring staff. Definitely a great hotel! From the cookies to the valet, they were all trained well and respectful to the customers. The shuttle was a great add. The restaurant staff was super. Location in downtown Milwaukee was just right. Definitely recommend this hotel to any Milwaukee traveler. They will treat you right.

No pool, but a nice layout for the hotel. They were a
ttentative and ready to serve the guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us at the Doubletree Milwaukee Downtown. The tribute to the King event is one of our favorites. It is always great to see and experience the festivities. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    209
    56
    15
    11
See reviews for
144
151
30
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is in a place you can move around by yourself with no trouble and quickly. This is fantastic because you can decide to hosting for business and after meeting day you can choose excellent restaurants very close to the hotel.

Also important to say for foreign travelers that the city looks safe and pretty clean.

People I got in touch also were friendly inside the hotel, milwaukee airport, shootle driver, etc....

Fortunately I have no trouble to register in or to comment about and this reinforce my recommendation for you to choose the hotel if you need on your next trip, this could be an excellent choice and decision. You will be happy, no doubt!!!

Not far away you can reach good stores and outlets such as best buy, etc....

The weather in September 2012 was great and pleasant during a week.

The hotel offers you good services, the daily rate reasonable and as said well installed and located.

You will love it!!!!

Make your choice and review sharing your next experience.

Have yoy all a happy new year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is an amazing feeling to read when someone's stay has gone so well. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday Dec. 22 and had a wonderful experience. From the convenient FREE valet parking to the front desk and wonderful service for breakfast - a shout out to Angela our server who made us feel so welcome and special. And to David the food and beverage asst. director who we exchanged trip advice with, thanks! Don't overlook this hotel the next time you stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. In reading your review I would believe you to be the purchaser of a Living Social Certificate. Thank you for the wonderful review but I do need to correct one statement and that being Valet parking is not free. The is a fee but because you had purchased a certificate it was included in your stay. The vouchers were a great little value and we appreciate that you chose to spend time with us. Please come back and visit in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very happy with our stay at The Double Tree. Check in was quick and efficient and we were quickly on our way to an upgraded room on the 10th floor. The hotel is older than I had expected and is in need of some cosmetic updates - however, the rooms were very clean and the entire property very well kept. There are flat screens in the rooms and there was granite in the bathroom but the hotel carpet looked old and so did the curtains in the room. We had Bucks tickets and it was a quick 4 or so block walk to the stadium and even on a very cold night - it was easy. When we returned the front desk clerk remembered that we went to the game - which was very nice. All n' all a great stay and we will return when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Thank you for all the wonderful comments from the cleanliness of the rooms to the helpfulness of the staff. When everything comes together it can just make for a great experience. Please visit us again in the future we will look forward to your visit. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of months 2011/2012. It is an excellent package for business. it is not really luxurious , but all you need. The rooms were nice..could need some improvements ( like bathroom fixtures etc.. ) - but overall good. Breakfast is good and "real" ( atmosphere about average , however , for restaurant and bar ) . The have a full bar and restaurant on site and food is elevated sports bar food. They have a daily special which is pretty healthy actually. Staff is super nice - valet parking is quick. One of our team had an emergency at the place...and they took care of her and her stuff..can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to know that we able to accommodate your travel needs while you were away on business. Please come back if ever your travels put you in our area to visit. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our third time staying at this hotel. Once again, another fantastic visit.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The desk staff was very friendly.
We got a great deal on the room and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good. We had dinner at Mimma's Cafe. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is always wonderful to hear that we provide consistent service and that we have people who come back on regular basis to visit us and our hotel. We look forward to your future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I arrived here to visit a friend who was coming in town. Upon my arrival I was greeted and bags were taken immediately to the room. I then was greeted again by customer service. The lobby was huge and decorated with many antiques. I was escorted to my room on the 26th foor. Very peaceful. Rooms were spacious, linen smelled fresh, and beds were comfortable and cozy. I would definately return on my trip back to Milwaukee

Room Tip: The higher floors the best (20 and up).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is wonderful that you have taken the time to write a review of the property that you stayed at however, I do believe that your review is of the Hilton which is right across the street from us the Doubletree by Hilton. Good to know that the Hilton was good to you. If you ever have the opportunity we would love to have you visit us. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning customer service is just one of the things to expect when you stay at our downtown hotel in Milwaukee, WI. Our friendly team is known for exceptional service that you are sure to remember. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown offers a prime central location with proximity to shops, restaurants and attractions. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel, while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Upon arrival at our downtown Milwaukee hotel, you will be treated to our warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in one of 243 guest rooms and suites featuring complimentary WiFi access. Refresh with cocktails and hearty American cuisine at the Avenue Bar & Grill. Stay active throughout your stay in the inviting atmosphere of our fitness center. Find many local corporations nearby including the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Miller Brewing Company, Johnson Controls and the Manpower Group. Marquette University campus is within walking distance of our hotel. Drive 15 minutes to General Mitchell International Airport (MKE). Host a business meeting or social event in bustling downtown Milwaukee. Our hotel offers flexible meeting and ballroom space for up to 250 guests. From business meetings and conferences to cocktail parties and weddings, our hotel offers a relaxed setting for any type of event. Benefit from A/V equipment, a 24-hour business center, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.