We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of months 2011/2012. It is an excellent package for business. it is not really luxurious , but all you need. The rooms were nice..could need some improvements ( like bathroom fixtures etc.. ) - but overall good. Breakfast is good and "real" ( atmosphere about average , however , for restaurant and bar ) . The have a full bar and restaurant on site and food is elevated sports bar food. They have a daily special which is pretty healthy actually. Staff is super nice - valet parking is quick. One of our team had an emergency at the place...and they took care of her and her stuff..can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to know that we able to accommodate your travel needs while you were away on business. Please come back if ever your travels put you in our area to visit. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    171
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
106
123
26
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our third time staying at this hotel. Once again, another fantastic visit.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The desk staff was very friendly.
We got a great deal on the room and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good. We had dinner at Mimma's Cafe. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is always wonderful to hear that we provide consistent service and that we have people who come back on regular basis to visit us and our hotel. We look forward to your future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I arrived here to visit a friend who was coming in town. Upon my arrival I was greeted and bags were taken immediately to the room. I then was greeted again by customer service. The lobby was huge and decorated with many antiques. I was escorted to my room on the 26th foor. Very peaceful. Rooms were spacious, linen smelled fresh, and beds were comfortable and cozy. I would definately return on my trip back to Milwaukee

Room Tip: The higher floors the best (20 and up).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is wonderful that you have taken the time to write a review of the property that you stayed at however, I do believe that your review is of the Hilton which is right across the street from us the Doubletree by Hilton. Good to know that the Hilton was good to you. If you ever have the opportunity we would love to have you visit us. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just returned from a quick weekend stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful, rooms are spacious enough, clean, and tastefully decorated. We've traveled enough to know that this hotel had something special going on - the entire staff was exceptional. Check in was speedy, pleasant, and efficient. The Front Desk Staff is knowledgeable and eager to help you find your way around the city, pulling out maps and giving suggestions. Breakfast and drinks in the attached Avenue Restaurant and Bar were also enjoyable. The buffet breakfast was much nicer (and tastier) than the typical continental breakfast offered in some hotels. Again, the staff took it to another level. David (the assistant director of food and beverage) seated us every morning making sure we had everything we needed. Our waitstaff, Curtis and Bryan took special care always engaging in pleasant conversation and making us laugh. They actually seemed like they liked their job and made you feel more like a family member coming back home. Valet parking was efficient and the attendants always pleasant. Even the housekeeping staff had smiles and inquiries about your day. We will certainly be back to this Double Tree the next time we visit Milwaukee and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: We loved the view of the city from the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. So happy to hear that you had a great weekend. It is nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of the outlets that the hotel has. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I had a quick getaway to Potowatami Casino and stayed overnight. Everything was top notch. They ran us over to the casino in the hotel shuttle. The room was clean and quiet. We had a drink in the bar, which was also very neat and breakfast at the grille the next morning. Even the valet was very helpful (without being prompted) with directions, etc. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do love our customers. It is always wonderful to hear about a great weekend. Please come back and visit us again. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel all over the country on business and meet many nice hotel employees. Even though I arrived late at this hotel and was anxious to get to the room, I couldn't help but notice how exceptionally helpful the staff was. From the valet to the front desk employees..EVERYONE went a little further in service than normal. My stay was short, but the service, attitude or culture..whatever you want to call it...made an impression and made the stay much more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do have the advantage of being a smaller hotel giving us the ability to get to know and take care of our guests. I am glad that you were touched by the staff that you came in contact with. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here recently for a business trip. Close to everything, especially if you are going to a Bucks game. Room was clean and fine. The room was very warm which may have been due to unusually warm temperatures outside. Had to sleep with the window open. Good breakfast buffet that was reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that you found the location to meet all your needs and that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast buffet. Please come back and visit us on your next visit. Have a wonderful holiday. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;