We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just returned from a quick weekend stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful, rooms are spacious enough, clean, and tastefully decorated. We've traveled enough to know that this hotel had something special going on - the entire staff was exceptional. Check in was speedy, pleasant, and efficient. The Front Desk Staff is knowledgeable and eager to help you find your way around the city, pulling out maps and giving suggestions. Breakfast and drinks in the attached Avenue Restaurant and Bar were also enjoyable. The buffet breakfast was much nicer (and tastier) than the typical continental breakfast offered in some hotels. Again, the staff took it to another level. David (the assistant director of food and beverage) seated us every morning making sure we had everything we needed. Our waitstaff, Curtis and Bryan took special care always engaging in pleasant conversation and making us laugh. They actually seemed like they liked their job and made you feel more like a family member coming back home. Valet parking was efficient and the attendants always pleasant. Even the housekeeping staff had smiles and inquiries about your day. We will certainly be back to this Double Tree the next time we visit Milwaukee and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: We loved the view of the city from the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. So happy to hear that you had a great weekend. It is nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of the outlets that the hotel has. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    195
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
128
138
29
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I had a quick getaway to Potowatami Casino and stayed overnight. Everything was top notch. They ran us over to the casino in the hotel shuttle. The room was clean and quiet. We had a drink in the bar, which was also very neat and breakfast at the grille the next morning. Even the valet was very helpful (without being prompted) with directions, etc. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do love our customers. It is always wonderful to hear about a great weekend. Please come back and visit us again. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel all over the country on business and meet many nice hotel employees. Even though I arrived late at this hotel and was anxious to get to the room, I couldn't help but notice how exceptionally helpful the staff was. From the valet to the front desk employees..EVERYONE went a little further in service than normal. My stay was short, but the service, attitude or culture..whatever you want to call it...made an impression and made the stay much more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do have the advantage of being a smaller hotel giving us the ability to get to know and take care of our guests. I am glad that you were touched by the staff that you came in contact with. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here recently for a business trip. Close to everything, especially if you are going to a Bucks game. Room was clean and fine. The room was very warm which may have been due to unusually warm temperatures outside. Had to sleep with the window open. Good breakfast buffet that was reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that you found the location to meet all your needs and that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast buffet. Please come back and visit us on your next visit. Have a wonderful holiday. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The reception was very welcoming and they offer cookies for guests checking in. The rooms were moderate sized, but comfortable. The bathrooms were well stocked and clean. The property had all necessary business amenities and is highly suitable for business travellers. THe breakfast options are fabulous. The restuarant and bar offers good options for dinner as well. The location is fantastic...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that the hotel met your needs and that you enjoyed the cookies. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at the hotel just as a bus load of POM-POM squads did! thought we were doomed-
ANDREW was at the front desk and called us right up! he was wonderful and took care of us right away. The fresh cookies are a nice touch- On saturday it was so nice we walked to the grand ave. mall and had lunch at water street brewery about 5 blocks away. Thanks to all the staff for the great customer service. The only disapointment was the restaurant, slow service when we where the only table on a saturday night when they opened...and fair to midland food.
would not suggest eating. there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. The weekends can bring quite a mix of activities and it is great to hear that while there was lots of activity in the hotel it did not affect your stay. We do work hard to keep our groups together and our individual travelers away from the activity. Andrew is a wonderful member of our team! I do apologize for the service in our restaurant and we will look into the issues. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Thanks to staff at DoubleTree. Nice property and well-run. We arrived for a wedding nearby along with our kids (separately) and were treated well. Valet parking was a bargain. Very convenient location, not just for downtown but to Milwaukee freeways. And as it turned out, major streets to the west side. Made multiple trips to airport to pick up arriving family in minimal time. Decent food and beer in the bar, too. My wife and I grew up in town and since leaving have made numerous return trips over the last 29 years. Safe to say, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors have something of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Weddings while a very joyous occasion can be stressful. Wonderful to hear that our hotel was located in the right place to assist with making easy transitions and that the weekend went well. Please come back and see us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.