We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The reception was very welcoming and they offer cookies for guests checking in. The rooms were moderate sized, but comfortable. The bathrooms were well stocked and clean. The property had all necessary business amenities and is highly suitable for business travellers. THe breakfast options are fabulous. The restuarant and bar offers good options for dinner as well. The location is fantastic...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that the hotel met your needs and that you enjoyed the cookies. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    204
    56
    15
    10
See reviews for
142
145
30
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at the hotel just as a bus load of POM-POM squads did! thought we were doomed-
ANDREW was at the front desk and called us right up! he was wonderful and took care of us right away. The fresh cookies are a nice touch- On saturday it was so nice we walked to the grand ave. mall and had lunch at water street brewery about 5 blocks away. Thanks to all the staff for the great customer service. The only disapointment was the restaurant, slow service when we where the only table on a saturday night when they opened...and fair to midland food.
would not suggest eating. there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. The weekends can bring quite a mix of activities and it is great to hear that while there was lots of activity in the hotel it did not affect your stay. We do work hard to keep our groups together and our individual travelers away from the activity. Andrew is a wonderful member of our team! I do apologize for the service in our restaurant and we will look into the issues. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Thanks to staff at DoubleTree. Nice property and well-run. We arrived for a wedding nearby along with our kids (separately) and were treated well. Valet parking was a bargain. Very convenient location, not just for downtown but to Milwaukee freeways. And as it turned out, major streets to the west side. Made multiple trips to airport to pick up arriving family in minimal time. Decent food and beer in the bar, too. My wife and I grew up in town and since leaving have made numerous return trips over the last 29 years. Safe to say, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors have something of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Weddings while a very joyous occasion can be stressful. Wonderful to hear that our hotel was located in the right place to assist with making easy transitions and that the weekend went well. Please come back and see us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Everyone was so accomodating and attentive. Waived the extra charge for a class of wine from the bar when our coupon had a limited $ amount; threw in an extra breakfast when we ordered 4 buffet breakfasts--could go on and on. We typically NEVER eat buffets and do NOT like them. The breakfast buffet was amazing! Extremely clean. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that your stay went well and that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel. I do hope that each and every stay with us is exactly like this one. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Enjoyed an overnight stay there. Very pleasant staff, lovely room and reasonable price. There were a lot of events (weddings, etc.) going on but the hotel made sure they didn't disrupt the peace and quiet for other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay with us at the Doubletree. Wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy you get away. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checked in last minute after switching from another hotel that disappointed - Danielle at check in was wonderful! Very accommodating and helpful. Room was very nice. Location had easy access to everywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that so many of our staff were able to leave an impression and that your stay with us was memorable. You sound as though your trip was busy and you were able to see and do lots of things Milwaukee! Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

By the end of a two night stay, more than anything, I was extremely impressed by the exceptional customer service I experienced throughout the hotel. Andrew and Asa at the front desk, Chris and David in the restaurant, and Jessica in the lounge all stand out as extremely helpful, fun, and very outgoing employees. Each one provided something unexpected -- personal recommendations, a second set of complimentary breakfasts, a variety of samples and tastings in the lounge, directions, etc. Not begrudgingly or because there was an issue, but because it seemed to be part of their outgoing, friendly nature. This service was personable, conversational, and Disney class. It's nice to have employees not complain to you or intimate their job and/or manager and/or life is a big hassle. Even the valet attendants seemed excited to be there, which may be far from the truth, but no employee hinted as such.

Took advantage of a LivingSocial deal that included complimentary cocktails and breakfast, and added a second non-LivingSocial night; a great decision as there is so much to do in this area. The hotel is located within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, theaters, breweries, the public market, Third Ward, etc. The breakfast buffet was more than plentiful and extremely tasty. The loose, casual, fun atmosphere and banter of the staff with customers was spilling over from table to table. In the lobby and the restaurant, managers were visible throughout the stay, engaging us to ensure everything met our needs several times throughout the weekend.

Complimetary coffee, bottled water, pretzels, and a granola bar were in the room upon arrival and replinished daily. The room was adequate, no issues with the kingsize bed, nice plasma TV, the bathroom was small, but manageable.

Room Tip: See whether they have suites if you need a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Thank you for recognizing the staff that left an impression with you. I will be sure to share your comments. It is always a great feeling to hear that someone enjoyed their time with us and their visit to the city. Milwaukee is a treasure and it is wonderful to know that others see it the same way. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning customer service is just one of the things to expect when you stay at our downtown hotel in Milwaukee, WI. Our friendly team is known for exceptional service that you are sure to remember. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown offers a prime central location with proximity to shops, restaurants and attractions. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel, while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Upon arrival at our downtown Milwaukee hotel, you will be treated to our warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in one of 243 guest rooms and suites featuring complimentary WiFi access. Refresh with cocktails and hearty American cuisine at the Avenue Bar & Grill. Stay active throughout your stay in the inviting atmosphere of our fitness center. Find many local corporations nearby including the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Miller Brewing Company, Johnson Controls and the Manpower Group. Marquette University campus is within walking distance of our hotel. Drive 15 minutes to General Mitchell International Airport (MKE). Host a business meeting or social event in bustling downtown Milwaukee. Our hotel offers flexible meeting and ballroom space for up to 250 guests. From business meetings and conferences to cocktail parties and weddings, our hotel offers a relaxed setting for any type of event. Benefit from A/V equipment, a 24-hour business center, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.