We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - room - location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff - room - location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checked in last minute after switching from another hotel that disappointed - Danielle at check in was wonderful! Very accommodating and helpful. Room was very nice. Location had easy access to everywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that so many of our staff were able to leave an impression and that your stay with us was memorable. You sound as though your trip was busy and you were able to see and do lots of things Milwaukee! Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    177
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
110
126
27
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

By the end of a two night stay, more than anything, I was extremely impressed by the exceptional customer service I experienced throughout the hotel. Andrew and Asa at the front desk, Chris and David in the restaurant, and Jessica in the lounge all stand out as extremely helpful, fun, and very outgoing employees. Each one provided something unexpected -- personal recommendations, a second set of complimentary breakfasts, a variety of samples and tastings in the lounge, directions, etc. Not begrudgingly or because there was an issue, but because it seemed to be part of their outgoing, friendly nature. This service was personable, conversational, and Disney class. It's nice to have employees not complain to you or intimate their job and/or manager and/or life is a big hassle. Even the valet attendants seemed excited to be there, which may be far from the truth, but no employee hinted as such.

Took advantage of a LivingSocial deal that included complimentary cocktails and breakfast, and added a second non-LivingSocial night; a great decision as there is so much to do in this area. The hotel is located within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, theaters, breweries, the public market, Third Ward, etc. The breakfast buffet was more than plentiful and extremely tasty. The loose, casual, fun atmosphere and banter of the staff with customers was spilling over from table to table. In the lobby and the restaurant, managers were visible throughout the stay, engaging us to ensure everything met our needs several times throughout the weekend.

Complimetary coffee, bottled water, pretzels, and a granola bar were in the room upon arrival and replinished daily. The room was adequate, no issues with the kingsize bed, nice plasma TV, the bathroom was small, but manageable.

Room Tip: See whether they have suites if you need a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Thank you for recognizing the staff that left an impression with you. I will be sure to share your comments. It is always a great feeling to hear that someone enjoyed their time with us and their visit to the city. Milwaukee is a treasure and it is wonderful to know that others see it the same way. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife booked this Hotel through "Living Social" as we had an event in the downtown Milwaukee area that would prohibit the safety of driving back to our home in the suburbs. It included 2 free drink coupons and breakfast the next morning. Upon checking in the person was very helpful. He was a trainee and, unfortunately, he keyed our card to an existing guest who was not happy. On my end, they handled it very well and from what I heard of the phone conversation from the unhappy guest, it also was handled as well as could be expected.

The rooms were modern and well appointed, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was very good. The buffet is what was included in our deal and all items were well presented, fresh and warm.

It is a downtown hotel so the noise of the city can be a factor but it was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is so great to hear that you were able to be so close and take advantage of the Living Social coupon. We often do not get to be tourist in our own backyard. Please come back and visit again. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stay here every time I go to Milwaukee for business. The staff is courteous and helpful. Upon check in the staff was very accomodating in getting me my favorite room. The staff in the resturaunt is great. Every morning when I arrived for breakfast my coffee and orange juice arrived at my table without a word. This is the ONLY place I will stay in Milwuakee. Great place.

Room Tip: I live in the country so I prefer a quiet room. 10th floor on the back side of the hotel is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are happy to know that you have choosen us as your hotel. It is wonderful to have familiar faces visit us on a regular basis. Please come visit us again soon and have a wonderful holiday season. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I came to the Double Tree for a two day conference. Everything was handled well and convenient. The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit including fresh berries. All meals were included in the conference and I didn't have to leave the hotel. Staff were everywhere taking care of my needs and the coffee was always made. The room was warm and inviting, The exercise equipment was in great shape. I took the bus in from the airport for $2.25 and it dropped me off and picked me up right in front of the hotel. Everything was included in the conference fee. I reported a leak under the bathroom sink and it was fixed when I got back to my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. You group arrangements were nicely done and we were only the executors of the functions. It is great to know that we were there at every turn to accommodate your needs. Please come back and visit us again and Milwaukee has a lot of wonderful activities that could be the fuocus. Need to have some fun! Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the DoubleTree for 3 nights and were very pleased with our experience. Two in our party were in wheelchairs and the handicapped accessible rooms exceeded our expectations. The staff was warm and very helpful. The location was convenient. I felt it was a great value.

Room Tip: rated kids activities and pool average because these are areas I did not explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your visit at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee downtown. We receive specs on what is necessary to be considered accessible but you don't very often get to hear if it really works. Thank you for sharing that our rooms meet the needs of those traveling with wheelchairs it is nice to know that we have what it takes. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bremen, Oh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was very pleased with my 2-night stay at Doubletree, in downtown Milwaukee. All my needs were met, as needed. The room met my expectations, the bed and pillows were wonderful. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious! The valet staff was very timely. All in all, an ideal hotel stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that you were able to sleep. I can only imagine when traveling for business purposes that a good night sleep could be hard to come by. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.