We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Double Tree. My husband and I have 5 children and don't often get a night away. My Mom bought a gift certificate to the Double Tree for us and it was AWESOME! The lobby was nice and the customer service was excellent. Our room was VERY clean! The pillows and bedspread were warm and comfy..

We are from the area so knowing downtown & the surrounding area I was impressed. Parking is so limited so the valet service was an added bonus! The location is also close to the trendy riverwest and downtown scene! All in all I highly recomend. I will probably book a block for my daughter's first communion out of town guests! This hotel would be great for families, couples, or business.

Room Tip: Just ask about the upgrade or to switch double for a king vs versa. ~ very accomidating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that we were able to be a part of your get away. I am sure with five children a little time away can be relaxing. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    178
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
112
129
27
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is a great find. Close to all attractions in downtown Milwaukee, free wifi, inexpensive parking, BEAUTIFUL rooms...I could go on forever. The staff are all courteous, attentive and know the local attractions. Our third time there and it will be our forever choice in Milwaukee. Best price in town!

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side and we heard some bus traffic. Not bad but if you're a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are grateful that we were able to ssist in making your trip memorable. Please come back and visit us soon. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I always get great customer service from this location from multiple employees, this place really takes care of you. Nick in the restraunt/lounge and Chris Curry always make the dinning-experience a plus on site!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown and the Avenue Bar and Grill. We have been fortunate to have many of our team members with us for quite some time and they not only make the guest experience great but it makes for a fun bunch to work with. We are glad that they were a part of your experience. Please come back and see us soon! Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The front desk guest service staff, especially Lindsey and Stephanie, are quite helpful and attentive to the hotel gues upon check in. They suggest restaurants, provide directions as needed, and follow-up with the guest after checking into the room to insure the room is okay. A pleasant change from the usual greeting upon checking in- "Are you checking in."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our Front Desk Staff. Welcoming with a can do attitude is one of the many attributes that we at Doubletree pride ourselves on. It is great to see in writing that we have accomplished that for you! Thank you for recognizing the staff that made a difference for you. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is my second stay at this property and it was great. Everyone is really friendly and they make you feel right at home. I like the fact the hotel is not overwhelming or too big, also makes it feel cozy. Rooms are nicely appointed as well. We had breakfast in the morning at the Avenue Bar and Grill and I noticed the same waiter was working as during our last stay- and he was as friendly this time as he was the last time. I would reccomend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor with a nice view of the downtown. I think any room offers a good city v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response about your recent stay at the Doubletree. What a great time to be downtown Milwaukee and participating in all the activities of St. Patricks Day. Please come back and visit us in the future! Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Okay, the more I think about it, the more a rate it high high among Doubletree options. Great gym, far better than usual. Great and amazing breakfast! Service among the best I run into. They allowed a hugely helpful late checkout that made life work well. Rooms clean and equiped and good wifi that worked well and fast speeds. And good rates compared to local establishments.

Room Tip: I liked being near the fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at the Doubletree. It is great to hear that we were able to accommodate all of your travel needs and provide you with good service. We do hope that any travels that bring you to Milwaukee will also bring you back to the Doubletree. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Me and several others have stayed here together for outings to Milwaukee for nightlife and casino play etc., the rooms are clean (I highly recommend the corner rooms...larger and spacious). The staff has been friendly and the parking is slightly less for Valet than several other downtown locations. Your vehicle is then kept in a secure attached garage, so you have peace of mind. Computer lab and workout area is more than adequate, and they have a nice looking bar on site...though we have not actually visited their bar. There is a store across the street if you need snacks or drinks of any sort. In the end, this Doubletree is worth staying at when you're looking for an evening out in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Corner "KING" rooms with sleeper sofas are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that you have been able to utilize our location to fulfill all of your fun travel needs. We too believe that it is a great location with lots of possiblities for the attractions in the area. Please come and visit us in the future for summer is right around the corner. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee is best known for its customer service, warm hospitality...and the famous DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located next to the Delta Convention Center and steps away from the BMO Harris Bradley Center, you will be in the thick of the downtown dining, theater and shopping areas. Catch a game at Miller Park, just minutes away, or check out the beautiful Lakefront area and the famous Milwaukee Art Museum. Comfortable guest rooms and spacious suites are available for your stay. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.