We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jacuzzi room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“jacuzzi room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

nice. with mini bar. right around the corner from Carnevor :)

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    78
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
26
144
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stayed here for just one night on Valentines Day 2.14.2010. When I called the hotel I got a cheaper rate than what was offered online so that was GREAT!!. I booked a Jacuzzi Suite and it was everything and more of what I expected it to be. The jacuzzi is BIG 2 people can fit in there no problem and I am 6 ft tall. The aveda bath products were really nice. Put the Bath crystals in the jacuzzi and I felt really soft and the fire place heats up the room ALOT. I also looooved the radio with the CD player it was really nice, almost had a Bose Sound system effect to it. THE BEDS ARE SUPER COMFORTABLE.
I ordered the 8 oz steak dinner from the room service and it was very good and so was french toast the next morning.
Only bad things would be the street parking sucks and you have to pay 25.00 for overnight valet but its worth it if you have a nice car and don't want to risk parking downtown on the street at night...and I was going to order the 16oz steak but they didn't have it which I didn't understand.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Disapointed in the size of the room. Got the SPA room and didn't feel like a spa! The fireplace didn't work and the mini frig was not running. Valet was $25 for the day which was credited because of the fireplace. The staff was nice and helpful. Really enjoied the London Cab!!! They bring you any where for free. (tip) The lobby was small and the bar was cozy. I will stay at another hotel next time I am in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I read some mixed reviews here on Tripadvisor and almost cancelled my reservation at the Hotel Metro on Madison. What are people thinking? This was one of the most outstanding hotel stays for the $ I have ever enjoyed. Fun spacious rooms with unique design.

Loved: the large tub for two and the large well lit vanity in the bathroom, the lobby and red elevator doors, free internet in the lobby, the front desk's help with finding good nearby clubs.

Criticisms: There were two large flat screen TVs in the room - I have no use for TV.

My friend and I stayed in three hotels in three days - this is the one we will remember and go back to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I had an excellent stay at Hotel Metro.....I was a first time visitor and will be coming back. The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are spacious and clean. Overall my stay was fabulous and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Milwaukee..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I thought that with such great reviews this was going to be a great place to stay. I was completely disappointed. The front desk staff was utterly rude. Not to mention it was $25.00 dollars to park my vehicle for the day, ridiculous. They do not offer a shuttle and the taxi that they offer to guest is a joke. The rooms a spacious the only up side. I think that they really need to work on having a friendlier staff. The lobby is atrocious I would never recommend this place to anyone. The don't even offer a business center its a computer in the lobby, really wow. Along with that there work out facility has about 3 machines. I think that this place is over priced and needs a lot of help if its ever going to survive. I am going to stay at the Ambassador or the Pfister next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I contacted the Hotel directly and managed to get a special rate. Did not eat in the Hotel. However the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. My day was made when Cindy Crawford walked by the Hotel whilst I was having a drink outside.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#19 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.