We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay at Hotel Metro. This place has character. The room was large with a living room/lounge type area with a tv, two comfy chairs and a coffee table in addition to the fridge which was well stocked. The other side, separated by the 3/4 wall other users mention also had another TV. The bathroom was big and stocked with Aveda products. The tub was large and easily fit two people.

The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Everyone from the door guys, front desk to the cleaning folks were very nice and made sure we had everything we needed.

As we stayed New Years Eve, we especially appreciated the extra mile Hotel Metro took to make sure we were able to have a good time. We found complimentary champagne in the room, then were informed of the vintage car which would drive us anywhere within a few mile radius for free. That was fun. We also appreciated check out time being pushed back to 2pm.

On top of all this, the hotel is conveniently located to almost anything you might need or want to do. For us, it was a short 5 minute walk to the Pabst Theater. I feel like we got a great experience at just the right price. We'll definitely stay again the next time we find ourselves in Milwaukee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Jenny H.,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We understand you have many choices when staying in downtown Milwaukee and we are excited you chose Hotel Metro!
When you come back to stay with us, our vintage London Cab runs guests to local entertainment venues on select days and then during the summer to all our amazing festivals and events!
(we also have complimentary bicycles during the summer months for guests to use, first come first serve to tour our lakefront and housing areas!)
Please let us know how we can assist you in your needs or amenities for your next stay anytime! We look forward to having you stay with us and thank you again for choosing Hotel Metro.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    84
    47
    25
    14
See reviews for
28
157
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very nice room but not much of view in our king suite. Well appointed, nice bed, good pillows.

Room had a spa tub that may have accomodated two. Resonably priced for a dowtown hotel. Staff was friendly and check in was efficient.

Ate a late night snack in the dining room and service was efficient and the food was good.

Overnight valet parking is $27.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you rgbatsch for your great TripAdvisor review on Hotel Metro! We appreciate guest(s) like you that take the time to tell us when we are doing a great job!
Your review will be shared with our Rock Star employees so that they understand we made a difference in a positive way to our guests!
We look forward to having you stay with us when in the downtown Milwaukee area in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 741 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hotel Metro is a quality 4-star hotel that is well suited for a business traveler or someone enjoying the Milwaukee nightlife. I was in Milwaukee on business, and chose the Hotel Metro for its central location. I was not disappointed. All of my meetings were within walking distance of the hotel. Valet parking is available at a reasonable rate, and the lobby is very comfortable and inviting as a meeting point.

My room was very large. The hotel makes great use of a 3/4-height wall to great two seperate and distinct spaces within the room. The livingroom area has a comfortable couch and two chairs, along with a desk, honor bar and flat screen TV. The bedroom area has a king-sized bed with flat panel television nightstands and plenty of storage for clothes and personal belongings.

The bathroom is very large, and has a tub that is easily twice the size of a standard bath tub. There is a seperate shower. The vaniety has ample space for toiletries.

The free wi-fi boast a strong signal and high speed access to the internet. The wi-fi is among the best I've found in any hotel. Strong signal throughout the room and in/around the hotel.

I have stayed at the Pfister Hotel; the Hyatt and InterContinental in Milwaukee. I prefer the Hotel Metro to those hotels.

The Pfister centrally located and is the most grand and elegant of these hotels, but is almost double the nightly rate of the Hotel Metro. To me, the difference in accomodations does not warrant paying the extra cost. Hotel Metro is the pick over the Pfister based on value.

The Hyatt is comparably priced, but not centrally located. Also, the Hyatt rooms are tired and in desperate need of updating. Hotel Metro is the pick over the Hyatt based on location and comfort.

The InterContinental is comparably priced, but does not offer the comfort or optimal location. The InterContinental rooms are small, and some of the rooms need updating. The InterContinental is located near the Marcus Center, but is too far from the business district (especially in the cold Milwaukee winter). Hotel Metro is the pick over the InterContinental based on location and comfort.

I plan to stay at the Hotel Metro on my next trip to Milwaukee, and would encourage others to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Happy Holidays STP 1606!! Thank you for writing an awesome TripAdvisor review for Hotel Metro and the team!! We understand you have many choices in downtown Milwaukee when visiting and we look forward to your next stay with us.
I wanted to give you a little information on our 3/4 walls in our suites since you had complimented on how well we used it! Hotel Metro was designed in 1937 as an office building. The curvature of the northwest corner main entrance had a big architectural influence when capturing the art deco elegance throughout the hotel. The smooth curves are used throughout with the front desk, the walnut and chrome pillars in the lobby and METRO, the glass entrance immediately inside the front entrance and the 3/4 walls that were added to create our guest suites.
We look forward to your next stay with us and if you would like additional information, please ask for myself or any of our Rock Star staff can give you historical 'tidbits' on Hotel Metro and what makes it so amazing.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Second time staying here. Great retro hotel. Good restaurant, nice saltwater hot tub. Rooms very large with great amenities. Friendly staff. Place has some kinks like noisy radiators and thin walls which can be a distraction. Stayed in 502 which had two bedrooms but problems with the radiator. Small exercise room with only a few pieces of equipment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Dick A for your review on Tripadivsor from your past overnight stay, and for choosing Hotel Metro for your hotel accommodations while in Milwaukee.
Hotel Metro is heated and cooled from using steam heat which is not only Green, but also part of our Historic Hotel charm. We apologize for any inconveniences that you may have had to heating, but please know we are currently working on having each suite equipped with a great thermostat and reporting system for our future guests.
We are also glad that you choose to use our rooftop exercise and spa facility and will take note on the comment of equipment; we try to cover all the exercise needs of our guests with treadmills, bicycles, stair climber and free weights in a limited room area. You will notice changes on your next stay!
Thank you again for choosing Hotel Metro in downtown Milwaukee and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well, we tried it again, mistake, big mistake. I just don't get it, why would anyone stay here? The rooms are smelly, noisy and the staff is less than professional. Great location and wonderful lobby restuarant. Hopefully one day they will redo the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a wonderful romantic evening at The Hotel Metro. We loved the charm. Our room had a fireplace and an two person Jacuzzi as well as a separate shower. The room was huge. My only complaint is I hated the pillows and the curtains let a lot of light in a night. We thought the staff was very friendly and loved our ride in the London cab to our dinner reservations. We asked for a later check out and they were happy to accommodate us. We had sunday brunch and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for some romance and charm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our 4-day stay at Hotel Metro couldn't have been better. I loved the Art Deco styling, the courteous staff and the central location. On Saturday my husband and I made the short walk east to the Milwaukee Art Museum perched right on Lake Michigan; enjoyed a current exhibition there; lingered over a wonderful seafood lunch another short walk away at Harbor House; shopped the unique boutiques and funky shops in the Third Ward warehouse district (got there by foot, of course), and attended the party with a live band in Hotel Metro's bar that evening. Special thanks to Marc, Latrelle and Ann(e) for making us feel so welcome.

We plan to return in the summer to enjoy the rooftop bar and spa.

One small suggestion: We would have appreciated a small microwave in the room with which to heat up our coffee.

Room Tip: Because we were staying for four nights, the reservationist was kind enough to book us a suite away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you Queenofcomfort for your review of Hotel Metro on Tripadvisor. You have named a few of our amazing Star employees and we have shared your comments with them!

Hotel Metro offers microwaves upon guest request - so please keep that in mind for your future stays with us.

Zen on seven our rooftop seating area and bar opens mid May through September on Monday nights to the public starting at 5:00pm, so we will see you there in 2014!!

We know you have many choices for hotel accommodations in downtown Milwaukee, so thank you again for choosing Hotel Metro for your recent stay and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#14 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#15 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.