We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Your Next Stay
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very convenient location for my trip. The jacuzzi in the room was interesting. The roof top spa was also very nice. They let me check in early, which was very helpful. Courteous and helpful staff. The attached restaurant has happy hour menu/drinks. I would prefer to have heavier shades for the windows, however.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you aucklandflower for writing a TripAdvisor Review. We understand you have many choices for hotel accommodations in downtown Milwaukee and we look forward to having you stay on your future visits! Our guest rooms all offer either an over-sized soaking tub or jacuzzi tub which offers jets; the jacuzzi tubs are normally in our King Spa Suites as well. I also checked into the blackout drapes in our guest rooms to see if we were having any issues, and housekeeping is going to come up with a great idea to find the draw for them since our guests are having a hard time finding the 'draw or pull' for our blackouts! We look forward to having you stay with us again and when making your reservations you can ask for a jacuzzi tub or soaking tub!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    61
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
21
117
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I liked the location and service, especially from Angie at the front desk. The Aveda bath products were nice. But I was really disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom. The shower was years overdue for a bleaching. And the decor struck me as more 80s and old than 30s and chic. The bed was comfortable and valet was always quick with my car. I just expected a cleaner and more updated room for the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you cdarwin for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate having you choose Hotel Metro for your overnight stay in Milwaukee from such a long list on Expedia.com/Hotels.com! First, thank you for noting that Angie, our Rock Star guest service representative, did a great job providing you service during your stay - I will make sure she has noted your awesome comment.
We also took a moment to look up which room you were a guest in, since we are updating our bathroom stand up showers with frameless glass walls and doors, and new slate tiles with approximately 18 left to do. Hotel Metro's decor is also a reflection of the early 1920's to 1930's design as the building was built in 1937. The Art Deco movement was at it peak and we reflected that with the curvature of the half wall in each suite, the art work, style of furniture and colors used on the walls and living area furniture.
We hope you will choose Hotel Metro on your next travels to Milwaukee and would love to give you a personal tour and walk thru of all the great rich history Hotel Metro has to offer.
Yours in hospitality,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I were very excited to stay at the Metro. My son had booked the hotel and paid for our room as a special present for our wedding anniversary. We were excited as we had traveled from Arizona to visit family. The staff is wonderful and I have to say very friendly. The room however was another story. The date was August 27, 2013, the weather hot and humid which was the temperature in out room. The temperature never changed and at 11p we called to the front desk and told them. Since the room was were asked if we wanted to just go to another room to sleep. We did not want to move all our clothes from one room to another, so we opted to just go to another room. I feel my son should have gotten some credit for this inconvenience. The room cost him $285.00. We paid the $27.00 parking. Since I am a travel agent of more that 40 years I expect better you the hotel. Thank you Mrs T Jackson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs T Jackson - Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor and commenting on our outstanding guest service employees. It is nice to hear positive feed back from guest(s) and especially from a hospitality/travel person that understands the day to day experiences! I remember having you and your husband check out and I apologize for the inconvenience of your sleeping in a different room due to the heat issue on one of our hottest days in Milwaukee, and during our transition of upgraded thermostats to not have this occur. Our guest service representative had discussed that your son had pre-paid/purchased your overnight thru a third party web site such as Hotels.com / Expedia.com and that we would need to work with him and that company to make any adjustments that we could offer to the bill. I understand it was very frustrating, but we still would like to offer a discount and if your son could contact us direct at info@hotelmetro.com or call our Director of Guest Services at 414-272-1937 we can get the situation resolved.
Thank you again for staying with us while visiting family in Milwaukee. Those moments are priceless!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business trip and loved the 1920s art deco look of the hotel. My suite was spacious and very clean. I stayed in a PURE hypo-allergenic room because my allergies were really bad during my visit. I was able to sleep without being stuffed up and sneezy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and baby daughter for my sister's wedding. The building was originally an art deco office building, and some years ago they converted it into an art deco hotel. Its actually right next door to the Pfister, which is the old classic hotel in Milwaukee. The place is a little expensive (especially for parking), but the rooms are big, uniquely designed/decorated and clean. The front desk was actually a little shaky with our wedding block reservations, and after we returned home there were a couple of attempted additional charges from the hotel that were obviously wrong, but all in all, we had a really nice time. The location of the hotel is great, right in East Town, which is the area of the city east of the river, and centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My partner and myself have just returned from a stay at the Metro Hotel in Milwaukee. When we arrived we were greeted by Chris the newly appointed Hotel Manager, who immediately upgraded us to a King Suite and throughout our stay could not do enough fro us . The Hotel is listed on the Historic Hotels of America. It was opened in 1937 and has been refurbished in line with its original streamlined art deco design. Our suite was an unusual corner suite looking out on the corner of Mason Street. It had a Jacuzzi bath and a fully stocked mini bar with everything you might want. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, advising us what to see in Milwaukee, which is a beautiful city. If I ever have the pleasure to visit Milwaukee again , I will be staying at the Metro. Thanks again to Chris , the Manager who was very courteous and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for Chris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms are rather large, and if you like art deco you will think it is pretty cool. I found my room to be run down and a bit beat up. I am particularly sensitive to smell, but sensitivity is not needed here as you can smell the cleaning agents as they smack you in the face... this always makes me curious about the chemicals I am touching and what they are covering up?

All the said the staff was very friendly and helpful, which sometimes is harder to find than you would think. Kudos to the staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown at the center of Milwaukee's entertainment, cultural and financial districts, Hotel Metro exudes upscale charm and character with convenient amenities for an enjoyable stay. From graciously appointed guest rooms to the critically acclaimed on-site METRO Urban Supper Club & Lounge to the Rooftop Zen on Seven Relaxation Spa with saltwater hot tub, exercise room and outdoor sun garden.All suites offer Aveda bath amentities, 5 layers of Egyptian Cotton linens, bathrobes, self-serve mini bar, two 42" TV's, over 550 square feet of space and soaking tubs in every suite.Upscale | Urban | Hip | Chic | Luxury | Cocktails that is why we are voted as The Top 500 Places to Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.