We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia drew me back but alas help is still needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nostalgia drew me back but alas help is still needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went back to celebrate our first year anniversary. Milwaukee has great restaurants and we wanted to eat at Benelux and Balzacs. I forgot to check my own review and booked the same room. Yes it's my fault but the bad memories had been overshadowed by the good times on the honeymoon.

The second stay was the nail in the coffin for this place.

Pros
Courteous valet staff
Excellent in room hot tub
Keurig Coffee
Fireplace
Location location location
Extremely Comfortable Bed -

Cons
-Had to repair toilet handle
-Bathroom sink still clogs up, yes this was a problem year before
-HVAC is loud and didn't work very well, again
-Dirty windows

-Superficially nice customer service. I had called to request some fanfare for our anniversary- leave note for the wife, etc, request some chocolates,make the return special - (I had said I would pay whatever was needed,) the response - nothing, yes, hard to believe. Here is the suggestion for Hotel Metro management: A customer calls and says, "Hey, I'm coming back to your hotel to try it again and celebrate our 1 year.". Manager, front desk staff, take piece of paper, write note, congratulations on your 1 year and welcome back. Simple, added bonus, charge customer 5$- 20$ for some chocolate, especially when they told you that's what they wanted.

-Last nuisance room service double charged us, I was told I needed to go and find the restaurant manager and resolve the issue. Very confusing request given that I never went to the restaurant. Anyway it was fixed but kind of a good example about the lack of real concern.

Unfortunately I must now suggest that folks pick another place to stay until they resolve some of their core issues. The floor we stayed on is also under renovation and that was not noted anywhere or spoken of prior to booking.

Room Tip: Avoid 603, unless you want a clogging sink, noisy hvac, need to fix toilet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    80
    47
    23
    14
See reviews for
27
155
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Some parts of this hotel are excellent: the in-room hot tub, the bathroom vanity, the slide-door for the bathroom, the robes, the bed, and art decor. It was nice sitting in front of the fireplace. I loved the retro look, as well as the 7th floor hot tub. However, there are some bad points. The tile around the top of the hot tub is losing pieces of the grout (Rm. 601), the ceiling needs to be repainted or remodeled, the curtains are outdated and flimsy, and the carpet felt a bit dirty. In addition, the hotel's hot tub is very hot - you'll only be able to sit in it for about 10 minutes before you're overheated. However, if you get out and sit on the window-side ledge (which is visible to the apartments across the street) with only your legs in, the vents overhead will cool you down for some more hot-tubing. If these things were fixed, I would give this hotel 4 stars.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others, but warn them that it has good points and bad points. If they're a laid-back friend, I think they would really enjoy the hotel and its art deco retro look.

I would have loved a swimming pool, and to be able to sit in the hotel's hot tub longer,, and to have deserts on the after-10pm room service.

Room Tip: Room 601 is great if you like to soak in a hotel's hot tub, since this hotel's hot tub is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
SLLMadison - Your review on your current stay at Hotel Metro is appreciated! All our our guest suites have "seeping tubs" and /or jetted tubs with a seperate stand up shower - that makes us one of the most unique hotel rooms in Milwaukee! I have addressed the issue of grout and the temperature of our Salt Water Hot Tub up on our 7th floor with our director of engineering (we run the temperature between 102 - 104 degrees which may seem warm due to the enclosed area versus an outside venue or large "pool" area).
Our 24-hour menu is also being revised for our in-room hotel guests, and it will include dessert options as well as many other exciting menu items.
Thank you again for your review and please contact us for your overnight accommodations while traveling to downtown Milwaukee.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful stay at Hotel Metro in downtown Milwaukee.
When we first checked in, our room was totally retro and cool, but was super noisy from the heating system (loud clanking), so the staff upgraded our room immediately to a spa suite. This room was a hypoallergenic room with air purifier and hypoallergenic sheets and bedding. I would stay in this type of room again, I felt great the next day.

The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Valet parking (29$ overnight) was pricey but convenient. We were able to walk to the Historic Third ward from this hotel for Dinner and Breakfast which was a huge plus for us.

Room Tip: If your room is noisy from the heating system, ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you rmtphd_13 for your review of you recent stay at Hotel Metro in downtown Milwaukee. The hotel is located in the most ideal spots in downtown Milwaukee! Right between the East side and our amazing Third Ward district. We now have our bicycles available for guest(s) to use, complimentary, during the warmer months as well as our London Cab, which is also available complimentary on Friday and Saturday nights to take guest(s) to local venues/entertainment areas within 1 mile of the hotel.
Our "clanking" steam heat is being addressed by our new director in engineering as we are a Historic Hotel in Milwaukee and use the city's steam for heat during the colder months. It will be resolved for future, just FYI.
We hope you travel to Milwaukee for our upcoming sporting / festival / jazz in the park / art museum events and you book with us in our PURE room again! It is truly an amazing night's experience!
See you soon!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was relaxing and comfortable. The location was great, near quite a few nice restaurants, and in the hotel, the Zen on Seven bar and hot tub is a beautiful getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Witraveler90 - Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! Our Rockstar employees are truly examples of hospitality "awesome-ness!" I will make sure we share your comments with the entire team!
When making arrangements for your next visit to Milwaukee for business or pleasure, please let us know so we can personally say Hi and make your reservations with you directly.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My cousin and I (and our husbands) decided to grab a night at a hotel downtown. We planned on cocktailing comfortably for a birthday night out on the town.

The rooms were very clean, the beds were SQUISHY AND SOOO COMFORTABLE, the bathrooms were large, the hotel was quiet, the bar/drinks/food downstairs were outstanding, there are tons of clubs/bars/delicious top-notch restaurants all within walking distance. Great valet, great staff.

I accidentally clicked 5 star on a swimming pool when, in fact, I am not sure if they have one because we did not go in one. I didn't want to put one star if they did actually have a pool.

Room Tip: We had a two bed double room, there were separate rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you AshleeZ for your review. We understand you have many choices when wanting to stay in downtown Milwaukee and thank you for choosing Hotel Metro!
We do not have a pool - but out salt water hot tub is pretty outstanding! I will also make sure our Super Star valet team and staff get your compliments as we do strive for excellent guest service; and that helps when we love what we do.
We hope to see you soon, if not for an overnight for dinner and/or cocktails in METRO!!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Room was nice, the London Taxi Cab was a fun experience and the valet staff was excellent. Location is great easily able to walk to several locations. Did not get to see the rooftop, maybe next time. Lounge area was nice had a sax and piano band, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you beerad007 for your response on TripAdvisor! I am glad to hear you enjoyed and were able to experience many of our outstanding guest service amenities, and I have to say our valet team are all Super Stars! Our London Cab worked the streets of London then found a home with us at Hotel Metro and we too find it very special!
Our rooftop Zen on Seven with guest amenities and catering space is open each day to hotel guests to use our exercise room, salt water hot tub or sauna which overlook the beautiful Milwaukee skyline. Then on Monday, May 6th our rooftop bar and outside/inside seating area will be open to the public from 5p-12midnight every Monday, for drinks and light appetizers (til 9p) and it is just amazing to be out there! With a waterfall feature, lighting, great seating areas - you cannot go wrong with a Sangria and watching the stars pop over the Milwaukee neighboring buildings!
We look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future and enjoying the summer weather from our 7th floor Zen on Seven or taking a stroll to our Great Lake 4-blocks away.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night getaway, hoping to relax and get a good nights sleep. At $200 a night , it was a splurge for us We were kept up most of the night by the banquet that was being held in the room below us and then after that ended by the noise down on the street out front of the hotel where there was a nightclub with a line of patrons outside. They were extremely loud and that noise continued until bar closing time (3:30 AM) I emailed the hotel the next day to let them know of our disappointment and checked the box that asked for someone from the hotel to contact me. I never received a call or follow up. I would call that very poor customer service.

Room Tip: I would request an inside room that doesn't face Milwaukee Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear jmw-travels - Thank you for taking time to express your concerns from your stay with us in March. Hotel Metro's location of downtown by the great Cathedral Square entertainment area / business area; we do have alot of "foot traffic" due to the restaurants, night clubs and events that do occur. We are working year over year on having adult supervision at night to move along all our fun loving visitors and locals to their next "hot spot!"
My apologies as well as to no response to your email complaint - I am personally following up to track down and follow up with a few department leaders to see where we went wrong. I know that we all would love to have you return during a festival, Jazz In The Park night or other great event to get a feel of the excitment of downtown Milwaukee.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#13 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#16 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.