We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, super staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, super staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with my mom and sister to celebrate a birthday. The people, from the valet to the manager, were so friendly and helpful! the lobby is very cool, and the room was fun and funky. The only problem was the pillows. They were all very tall and hard, and uncomfortable. We all slept horribly and consequently were zombies at the museum next day. I will return to this Hotel, but check the pillows before I turn in for the night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review Sebsss - I want to make sure to let you know right away to personally call us direct while making reservations for your next stay and to also let us know to "check your pillows" so you all have a great night's sleep. We have a couple different pillow options for you to request or try.
We are sorry to hear you all did not sleep well and we will follow up with our Executive Housekeeper on making sure we check all pillows, but also to have different styles on hand for our guests during their stay.
We look forward to having you back with us, and look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    68
    36
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
128
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband surprised me with a "babymoon" (I'm 8 months pregnant) overnight stay at the Metro hotel. I was dying to use a jacuzzi, so we stayed at the king spa room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi, it was very cold that day (February 19) so the fireplace was a great hit.

The hotel looks very nice, very art deco, but could use a fresh coat of paint in the halls and rooms, as well as some new carpet, but it was still very nice.

The bed was super comfortable, best sheets ever!!!

The jacuzzi, well I loved that, lol, the fireplace was great, the furniture in general was very nice. The room is completely stocked with drinks, super overpriced like any hotel though. We didn't use those, 1 because I'm pregnant and hubby doesn't drink that much, and 2 because you have a very nice bar downstairs open until 2am (The lounge) with better prices.

We had dinner that night at the Metro restaurant, I have to say I wasn't that impressed with the food, the staff was great, but the menu didn't have a lot of stuff and is expensive, compared to other restaurants in Milwaukee I was expecting more.

One thing that I didn't like is that the black book in the room, the one that explains all the services to the guests, specifically said that local calls are free, we called home a couple of times and were charged for those calls, we brought it to the front desk personnel attention and they removed it immediately, but I guess if I didn't look through our bill it would have passed, so you need to really check your bill.

Another thing is parking (valet) for overnight guests is $27, a bit too much I think, but when we got our car back it was wonderfully warm inside, I don't know how they did it but it was great. And the valet guy didn't stand around for a tip (we had to chase him to tip him, lol) that was nice, we always tip valet but hate it when they stay around like asking for it.

All in all we loved the place, I loved my husband's surprise, and will most definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you Alasica on you TripAdvisor comments. It is very important to us at Hotel Metro to make sure all of our guest(s) overnight stays and visits are great and we provide you with the best available service and amenities/product as possible.
Our valet overnight fee is $27, without any in-and-out charges. There are alternative choices in downtown Milwaukee such as street, a parking structure next door for $30, or one block in either direction a parking lot for $10. All of these options would be self - serve to you while visiting. (your car was in our basement parking area which is heated in the winter, and cooled in the summer month!)
We are also changing our METRO dining menus the second week of March to continue offering approximately 25 choices for all meal times, and then an additional menu weekly for dinner of Signature Dishes to keep the options changing for repeat guests. So stay tuned!
Our management team is in the process of updating our showers/painting of all rooms and public areas, and replacing carpet in our guest hallways and guest rooms; which is going to be just as spectacular as the rest of the hotel to it's true art deco style! Completion by summer on this as well.
So, reach out to us personally when making your next reservation so we can meet you and personally show you our new and updated amenities and features.
Thank you again, and see you soon while visiting the downtown Milwaukee area,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at this hotel, and stayed in a Pure Master Suite King with a Fireplace room. The staff and their care of our special date distinguished this hotel from other 5 star hotels in which we have stayed. Their attention to detail, and "can-do" attiude was refreshing, and unparalleled. We sipped a glass of wine and enjoyed friendly company at the happenin' curved bar, and then had a romantic dinner in the dining room seated together on the comfy leather couch. Happy hour lasted all night (Wednesday), and what a great deal that was! While we dined, the front desk manager asked us how things were going so far, wished us a happy anniversary, and inquired if we'd like a room upgrade as one had become available. Wow! The room was spectacular! Glowing fireplace, huge spa tub, comfy bed, nice artwork, great view of downtown Milwaukee, and a bottle of champagne on ice and two glasses greated our entry! They have a salt water spa on the 7th floor which we never saw, as we were ensconced in the moment. Every thing you could think of was right there at your fingertips. And if you would possibly need anything that wasn't there, you would be met by the staff's courteous and ubiquitous affirmative response; "Of Course!". This place has mastered the art of customer service. So, would we recommend Hotel Metro to others, and return ourselves? Of course!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you Statwilly for your TripAdvisor review!
First, Happy Anniversary to you and yours, and for many, many more great years together!
We also thank you for writing about our Rock Star employees and how they made your night while you celebrated with us at Hotel Metro. We strive for excellent or outstanding service that you would only imagine when reserving a night(s) with us, and will make sure they all see your great comments so they know it does not go unrecognized.
We would like you to come back and take the time to visit our 7th floor Zen on Seven where the Salt Water Hot Tub/Sauna/outside sun deck and exercise room is located. The Salt Water Hot Tub will soak away any worry, fret or aches and you will be ready for another night in METRO for dinner and drinks!
Please contact one of our amazing team members, or myself, for your next reservation so that we can personally say thank you and fulfil any special requests you may have, because 'of course' we can do that just for you!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the king fireplace/spa room for our anniversary. While the hotel seems a bit worn, it was very clean and the ambiance was exactly what I was looking for when I booked the room. The front desk personnel are very professional and welcoming.

The location is convenient to many restaurants and would be great if you were attending a function in Cathedral Square (e.g., Bastille Days).

I also appreciate that the hotel has achieved "green" status and you would hardly notice the difference compared to another luxury hotel. We especially enjoyed the jacuzzi with a lovely view of the fireplace. Great for a romantic night without kids!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Denise M for your TripAdvisor review of your recent stay. You definetly had a great room for your adult getaway with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub! We are currently in the process of painting, changing out our showers glass and tile, guest room carpet and more! On your next visit to Milwaukee during the festival months, you will notice all the new and updated changes.
Our Green participation is very well thought out and executed with recycled glass, sensored thermostats and lighting, bamboo flooring and lighting - we are also focusing on the food side with distribution of left over food to food banks and starting an off site food compost!
Please contact one of our Super Star guest service representatives when making plans to come back to Milwaukee for one of many exciting events, so that we can get you reserved into a room that can accommodate 2 or even your family!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in a deluxe king room for 3 nights this February (2013). I am really impressed! and definitely recommend anyone to try this hotel out. From check-in to check-out, room service everything was very professional. I'd recommend the Metro restaurant as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Hotel Metro! Our team strives for excellent customer service, and with guests like yourself that take the time to let us know when we are doing great - it keeps us motivated and excited!
We look forward to having you stay with us again while traveling to Milwaukee. Please reach out to us personally to make your reservation or place any special requests you may need.
Hoping to see you soon,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located and the staff is outstanding. The rooms are clean and a good size, but it's really all about how well they take care of you. The staff could not be more accommodating. It was a lovely overnight getaway and we'll definitely be back. They were even awesome to our dog. So sweet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you Nicole for your review! Our location in the heart of Milwaukee, is perfect for site seeing, dining, events and for shopping! When you come back, our Chef has put together a great In-Room menu for our 4-legged friends and during the summer our patio off Milwaukee Street is dog friendly! Please reach out to our Super Star staff personally before arriving on your next stay to place any special requests that you may need.
See you soon,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am a totally blind traveler. This was my second stay at the Hotel Metro in less than three months. I traveled with my wife, who was in Milwaukee on business and attending meetings all day. While my wife was at meetings, I spent most of my time in the hotel. Being blind, I required assistance with many things; from getting ice to adjusting the temperture of the rooms climate control (which, was not accessible,). Any time I asked for assistance the staff was friendly and very accomodating. They made me feel that it was no trouble and that it was a pleasure for them to be of help. For those of you who are sighted travelers, you probably cannot appreciate just how rare this quality of service is. I would not say that the Metro is a hotel that was designed with the blind traveler, specifically, in mind, but, the quality of the staff, from management to housekeeping, more than makes up for this. For those of you who are blind travelers, like me, all you have to do is ask any one of the staff for what you need and they will do their very best to assist you. Don't expect accessibility features to aid in mobility or orientation, beyond those found in any other first class hotel. However, you can just ask any nearby staff member or simply pick up the phone and dial "zero" to reach a very friendly and helpful staff member.

Room Tip: Ice machines are located on odd-numbered floors. The "Pure" rooms are allergen controlled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, again Lloyd C from New Orleans!! I can say on behalf of the entire staff at Hotel Metro, we have enjoyed having you stay with us, while visiting and working in Milwaukee.
Please feel free to reach out to myself or any of our awesome team members at the hotel for any requests or special requirements you need before visiting again!
We look forward to seeing you and your wife, and hopefully more of that in the future!!
Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic,Art Deco inspired, all suite, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's art and financial district. Our suites are spacious, 420 to 720 sq.Ft. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to the lake front, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and the Frontier Airlines/Wisconsin Center. From graciously appointed guest rooms to the critically acclaimed on-site METRO Urban Supper Club & Lounge to the Rooftop Zen on Seven Relaxation Spa with saltwater hot tub, exercise room and outdoor sun garden.All suites offer Aveda bath amenities, 5 layers of Egyptian Cotton linens, bathrobes, self-serve mini bar, two 42" TV's, over 550 square feet of space and soaking tubs in every suite.Upscale | Urban | Hip | Chic | Luxury | Cocktails that is why we are voted as The Top 500 Places to Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.