We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surpise! Dec 7 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Waukesha Wi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a surpise! Dec 7 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Living in the burbs of Milwaukee, not often do we book a hotel there. We were going to book the Iron Horse for my husband's Christmas party at the Italian Community Center, but they would only book for 2 nights, not one. On to the best part, Hotel Metro. We came in after parking in a lot only a 1/2 block away.$10 overnight. We arrive and were greeted by a very sweet, pleasant,and efficient front desk young lady. (Can't remember her name, long, curly hair). We went up to the room, which was immaculate, with beautiful carpeting, decor, and a fabulous pillowtop bed. We are now buying that mattress for our home, it was so beyond comfortable. They drove us to the ICC in a 1982 british taxi, with a very nice man for free(don't forget to tip.) What a fun perk. Even the doorman was helpful, and nice. Staff greets you as you pass, smiles everywhere. The jacuzzi tub was a relaxing end to a great evening, after having drinks at Metro's bar/restaurant, and they have an entire list of $5 dollar martinis! Breakfast was good. They had been bombarded with people, and worked so hard to get everyone served. We will be back, love this place. A hotel with actual service. Could make this a w/e destination, where you enjoy the hotel room., and never have to leave..........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    71
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
24
134
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in connection with a business trip. The hotel is very well located with several great restaurants within walking distance as well as the lake for a great morning run. Ask for a room away from the street, otherwise a bit noisy. The breakfast is not the best.
The staff are all very friendly and service-minded.
I did not have a chance to visit the Zen spa/pool area.
I will be returning to this hotel next time I visit Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Over the last four months I've stayed at the Hotel Metro three times and each time I love it even more. My favorite aspect of this hotel are the eclectic room styles. Every room has it's own unique flavor. My second favorite aspect is the service. All of the employees are very friendly and willing to help, especially Mr. Miguel. :-) I also greatly appreciated the classic car that I've used on multiple occasions to get me a few places in the downtown area. It's so cool to ride around in that. Finally, location, location, location. We are surrounded by great restaurants, night life, and a refreshing walk away from the lake. If you have to stay anywhere in Milwaukee for a night or a weekend, stay at Hotel Metro!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a historical charm. The rooms are spacious. I had a king's suite that had a living space with the bedroom hidden behind a wall for added privacy and a spacious bathroom with a large bath tub. Staff are very courteous and friendly. They have only valet parking $25/day but it is very fast and convenient. The restaurant is also very nice and accommodating. I used to go to the restaurant and ask for a quick breakfast and they nicely provided. Excellent experience overall!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in a 2 room "suite". There was only one bathroom, but it was not an issue for the four of us. The lofted walls can be a bit awkward, especially if you are sharing with friends as we did. I would describe the style of the room as "antique modern". The suite was spacious and the staff was BEYOND friendly. They have the most amazing rooftop, so make sure you check it out if you stay, which you should!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Metro for a weekend in Oct. Got a great special that included tickets to the MIlwaukee art museum, 1 night free parking, and a coupon for $50.00 off one of their restaurants. Plus we used a AAA discount to get even more off the room. All that helped a lot because otherwise places like the Metro are out of our budget and we never would have seen this very cool place.
All rooms are suites and are cleverly designed to make you feel like you actually have a little kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath. The special touches, like really nice linens and jacuzzis added even more. The hotel staff, parking attendants, and cab driver were great. We had a really good meal in their restaurant on Friday (great service) and enjoyed the bar on Sat. night. We felt very spoiled the whole time we were there. And don't forget to bring a swimsuit (like we did); the spa is lovely. And the rooftop bar/garden is not to be missed.
I read the review and could see where that would be a problem, especially on the street side, although we were on the street side but 6 floors up and we didn't hear anything. We are quiet travellers and I always request the quietest room possible both when making the reservation and checking in, and I think if you do that you will be fine.
I hear they also have a great Sunday breakfast but we headed one block over to the Pfister for brunch. It's a must do just to be in that place.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for it; they will accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's 2:30 am as I'm writing this. I've been trying to sleep since midnight.. The noise from the bar and the honking car horns is unbearable. This is a nice hotel. Full of amenities and clean. The staff is efficient and attentive but if you stay here make sure you ask for a room away from the street. Maybe things will die down around 4am and I can get some sleep???? I would have given a higher rating but for the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic,Art Deco inspired, all suite, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's art and financial district. Our suites are spacious, 420 to 720 sq.Ft. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to the lake front, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and the Frontier Airlines/Wisconsin Center. From graciously appointed guest rooms to the critically acclaimed on-site METRO Urban Supper Club & Lounge to the Rooftop Zen on Seven Relaxation Spa with saltwater hot tub, exercise room and outdoor sun garden.All suites offer Aveda bath amenities, 5 layers of Egyptian Cotton linens, bathrobes, self-serve mini bar, two 42" TV's, over 550 square feet of space and soaking tubs in every suite.Upscale | Urban | Hip | Chic | Luxury | Cocktails that is why we are voted as The Top 500 Places to Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.