We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a room away from the street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Ask for a room away from the street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's 2:30 am as I'm writing this. I've been trying to sleep since midnight.. The noise from the bar and the honking car horns is unbearable. This is a nice hotel. Full of amenities and clean. The staff is efficient and attentive but if you stay here make sure you ask for a room away from the street. Maybe things will die down around 4am and I can get some sleep???? I would have given a higher rating but for the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    62
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
21
118
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel Metro Milwaukee has it all! Those of you who prefer relationships with non-chain hotels will enjoy this sleek yet warm Art Deco beauty which is walking distance from the Art Museum and Cathedral Square. And the complimentary London Cab (driven by the charming and knowledgeable Manny) puts everything else within reach. As in many small hotels, the staff here is the best - very proud of their property, knowledgable about her history and amenities, and ready and able to serve.

We stayed in a standard King Suite which was comfortable and large, with a soaking tub and separate shower. I did not see the hot tub fireplace suites, but I can see this would be a great place for a special anniverasry or honeymoon The lobby is warm and inviting - the fireplace is grand on a winter day. The bar is a bit noisy. Fridays are $5 martinis and 1/2 price appetizers, but the food and drink were only so so (so so glad I didn't pay full price).

Next time I visit Milwaukee, Hotel Metro will be my GoTo place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice place to stay with spacious clean rooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were there for our anniversary and the concierge, Kathrine, added extra special touches in the room and at our dinner celebration (at a different restaurant) to make the stay extra special. Manny, the London Taxi Cab shuttle driver was very informative and always on time.

Only negative is that there was some water damage to different spots in the ceiling that could have used some cosmetic work, providing a fresher positive feeling to the room. Did have some "register banging" in the night when the heat was working. Otherwise, well appointed clean room.

Room Tip: 6th floor was very quite and closer to exercise room, zen garden and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

2nd time my wife and I have stayed at the Metro. Comfy bed, plenty of room, nice seating options. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant had reasonably priced breakfasts to start the day.


Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Metro on a whim. We called up a days before our trip to Milwaukee and had no preconceived ideas about this cool little Art Deco hotel. My first contact was with Miguel and he bent over backwards for us! (Even helping me to mail back a box of cheese half way across the country!) Our room was outstanding and the amenities, such as the roof top bar and spa, are lovely. The location was great as well. The best part of our stay was the service. I have stayed at hundreds of 4 and 5 star establishments and this funky little hotel was every bit as good, if not better, than anything I have experienced. Thanks to Miguel and the rest of the crew. Sorry Pfister... but we will definitely be back for an extended stay at Hotel Metro!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. If you get a chance to stay in the penthouse grab it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you Eric A for your awesome review of Hotel Metro on TripAdvisor!
Our team at the hotel is committed to excellent guest service, but we also believe we have many Super Stars that were just born with greatness, and you happen to have Miguel take care of you!
I will be passing along your comments to the team so they know their actions are making a positive difference, and so that we keep striving for being the best in all we have to offer and serve.
We look forward to having you as our guest again in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Metro in Old Milwaukee is a restyled boutique hotel that is simply amazing. The upgrades to the hotel in an art deco style leave one almost breathless at how beautiful and imaginative their hotel rooms are. The rooms are very large and have wonderful curving walls and imaginative use of glass and room decor. As a frequent buisness traveller, I find almost every hotel I stay in looks almost exactly the same so much so that it is depressing to walk into the room and find it a clone of every other hotel room in every other city in America. I was simply dumbfounded when I walked into my room at the Hotel Metro and saw how beautifully it was decorated and designed. Imaginative use of space, curving walls and glass work and other features made my stay there a pleasure. The staff were extremely gracious and constantly asked how I was enjoying the hotel and took the time to let me know about the hotel's amenities. And, best of all, the nightly rate for the hotel was well in keeping with other hotel rates.

Room Tip: The higher you are above the street the less street noise there is in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you karaswin for your review of Hotel Metro - Hotel Metro opened in 1998 as a hotel re-styled from an office building that was built in 1937! The Art Deco feel and style of the hotel reflects through the high ceilings and curvature found throughout the building; that is why all of our guest suites are 485+ square feet and they all offer soaking tubs or jetted tubs with stand up showers.
We use sustainable products or natural materials, or as much as possible through the glass(as you noted), carpet, bamboo and cork flooring, black walnut and more. The building was also the first to have air conditioning and runs off steam heat that comes through radiators, which is part of our green aspect - so we have the motion and sensored AC/Heat and lighting in each suite as well.
Our prime downtown Milwaukee location is close to the Arts Museum, Theater, BMO Center, Public Market (shopping / restaurant area), lakefront and entertainment area. We also offer Metro cruisers (bicycles) so that you can ride around town in great weather as well as a bio-deisel London Cab that shuttles Fri/Sat nights! More green aspects of Hotel Metro!
We hope your visit again to explore and enjoy the amenities and service that we believe outperforms many downtown hotels!
Warm regards,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, great staff, but some oddities. There is valet parking, but if you want your car parked in the garage rather than in the alley next to the dumpsters (either way costs the same), you have to ask. Also, the hotel is supposedly "green"...but we had to keep our air conditioner running constantly to counteract the heat radiating from the old wall vents (it's an old building). And if you're there on a Friday or Saturday night, expect to hear lots of noise outside around bar time.

The room is very comfortable, though, with a nice bed and shower. There's free wi-fi, which is how every hotel should be but so few are. We had a spa suite with a very nice hot tub. Careful with your water glass on the glass countertop, though; when it gets wet, it sticks, and it's way too easy to pick it up too hard and find yourself surrounded by shards as it drops to the slate floor.

We've stayed here more than once and always have only minor complaints, but it does seem like there's always something. It is a good location, though, and reasonably priced. It's within walking distance of the Public Market, Water Street, the art museum, etc.

Room Tip: A higher floor and/or not facing the street should cut down on the noise from the bar time crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown at the center of Milwaukee's entertainment, cultural and financial districts, Hotel Metro exudes upscale charm and character with convenient amenities for an enjoyable stay. From graciously appointed guest rooms to the critically acclaimed on-site METRO Urban Supper Club & Lounge to the Rooftop Zen on Seven Relaxation Spa with saltwater hot tub, exercise room and outdoor sun garden.All suites offer Aveda bath amentities, 5 layers of Egyptian Cotton linens, bathrobes, self-serve mini bar, two 42" TV's, over 550 square feet of space and soaking tubs in every suite.Upscale | Urban | Hip | Chic | Luxury | Cocktails that is why we are voted as The Top 500 Places to Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.