We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 15%
Ranked #35 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Waukesha, United States
1 review
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I decided to stay at the Hampton and not the hotels that were being offered through my conference because The Hampton offered complimentary breakfast and wi-fi everyday and is only a short walk from the convention center and the price was comparable to the discounted conference rate at the other hotels that didn't offer free wi-fi and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, and for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to serve your lodging needs again when your travels bring you back to downtown Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    124
    52
    33
    19
See reviews for
97
78
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Troy, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Do Not stay there unit they fix this issue. It is a known issue, they are not fixing it.AC/Heat ran the entire night. it was either 100 degrees in the room or it was 40.. staff all knew there was problems. T

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologize for this. The 3 buildings that the hotel is housed in were added to the Milwaukee skyline in the 1930's. While this often lends to an interesting and unique hotel experience in a good way, sometimes the age of the building lends to unexpected experiences that negatively influence a person's stay. Because of the unique set up of the building, the heating and cooling systems are separate, unlike the singular heating & cooling unit found below the window in many hotel rooms these days. This means that both systems must be on at all times to accommodate the varying comfort temperatures of all of our guests. The system has a very specific point at which both systems turn off to keep a room at a static temperature, however with these extreme temperatures outside, it becomes increasingly difficult for the system to maintain this temperature inside the building without turning on. That is why it seemed as though the heat or cool air was always coming through the vents; because this is what was happening. When temperatures outside are less extreme, the systems are able to reach and maintain an equilibrium more easily, and the unique heating and cooling configuration isn't even noticed. I can understand how frustrating this can be, and again I apologize that it effected your stay negatively. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for an interview. Took the train in to Milwaukee, and it ended up being comically late, as in 3 AM. Got to the hotel, and had to use the intercom to get in. The night desk man was extremely nice, getting me to my room extremely quickly.

The room was huge, clean, and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room warm, and the wi-fi was impecible.

I had breakfast the next morning, and used both the pool and the work out room. The breakfast was excellent, featuring many well-prepared hot foods, on top of the traditional rolls and cereal.

The pool was nice, and was at a good temperature, but as others had mentioned, it was a little on the smallish side. The work-out room was also slightly small, but had good equipment in great condition, so no complaints there.

The staff where extremely courteous, and helpful. I asked for a late check-out, due to my late arrival, and the gave it to me.

And to top it all off, the hotel was very reasonably priced. If you are planning on staying in Milwaukee, I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and accommodating. Thank you for your time in providing this very comprehensive and insightful review of the hotel. We look forward to serving your lodging needs during your next trip to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Only one issue with the valet parking charges and that was due to a contracted service - yet the hotel staff dealt with it without question...the way service should be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took care of your concerns to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good for an overnight stay. Not so good with small children (smallish pool), but my teen and I were pleased with accommodations. Past unsatisfactory reviews on TripAdvisor were not found to be true by me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you think of us when your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Poor heating and cooling. Nice breakfast variety but avoid the juice it tends to be watered down. It was disappointing to return from the cold to a room that was uncomfortable. The final offer was to move our family to another room and no effort was made to fix the problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not have an exemplary stay and left dissatisfied. I am in the process of reviewing your concerns regarding the juice at breakfast. I am deeply concerned that you experienced problems with the heating and cooling of your guestroom that we were not able to correct in a timely manner. I have spoken to my Chief Engineer regarding the situation and have been informed that the concern reported in your guestroom was not an easy fix that could be corrected in a quick time frame, which is why you were offered a different guestroom. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. I would love to speak to you personally about your experience at the hotel, so please feel free to reach out to me personally. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Poor quality complimentary breakfast. The Eggs served soured my image of the quality of the complimentary breakfast. Selection was not poor, just the presentation of the eggs. Enterance to hotel from parking ramp could be labeled better, and parking ramp ticket/ gate system not user friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Sherry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the eggs provided at breakfast, but am happy to hear that you found the selection provided to be satisfactory. As you may or may not know, the Hampton brand regulates many of the items we are required to provide in our breakfast, right down to the specific brand and UPC numbers. I am proud to report that we follow Hampton's regulations to a tee and provide the eggs that have been approved by Hampton. Regardless, I can understand how the products that we offer are notably different from fresh egg products, and I apologize on behalf of the Hampton brand for this. You also noted some trouble in the parking garage adjacent to the hotel, and I am sorry for any trouble you may have experienced. The garage attached to the hotel is owned by the City of Milwaukee and managed by Impark. If you wish to discuss your concerns regarding the parking garage in greater detail, please contact Impark at (414) 273-7241. Thank you again for your business and for your time. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit to downtown Milwaukee.

Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.