We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 15%
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
elmore, ohio, United States
1 review
“First visit to Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for the Harley Davidson 110th anniversary celebration. It was a good location with helpful and friendly staff. Parking for the motorcycle was a block away but well protected even though a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John C

I hope you enjoyed your time while visiting for the Harley 110. It was a great time shared by all. My team commented on how nice all the riders were and being able to have conversations learning on how far they drove from. We want to thank you for making our week great. We appreciate the great feedback you gave and my team will be thrilled you were happy with our service. Our focus is total guest satisfaction and my team and I work hard to insure that each and everyday. I hope your plans are to come back for the 115th in five years. Thanks again and hope we will see you soon.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    152
    69
    43
    26
See reviews for
123
94
17
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was spot on.... I have nothing but good to say about it , and the employee's!!!!
It was a very enjoyable and pleasant . The rooms were very well kept. The employee's were very helpful. The location was perfect. I definitely recommend this hotel for a wonderful stay experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Brian H

WOW!! What a great review, my team will be thrilled that you really enjoyed our service and location. My team prides themselves in being Milwaukee’s friendliest and I am glad we met those expectations. Our goal is for all of our guests to have a great experience while at our hotel. We appreciate the great comments and look forward to your return to brew city.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was in town for a concert at the Riverside Theatre down the street. Extremely pleased with the Hampton - prices are in line with other hotels in the area, cleanliness is just what I'd hoped for, and the location and helpfulness of staff can't be beat. Special thanks to Dave at the front desk who handled a million different inquiries at once with aplomb. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Catherine D

First let me start by saying thank you for the review. Dave will be thrilled that you felt he did stand up job. We feel the same way about Dave and how he handles the pressure of the front desk. I hope you enjoyed yourself at the concert while in town. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and staff. My team is really good about answering questions about the city and I am glad they did that for you. Our housekeeping team really focuses on insuring a clean room and I am happy they had your room perfect. We hope you will be in the area soon so you can stay with us again.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on August 15. This hotel is lovely and clean. It was very convenient to have a parking garage next door. Our room was quiet and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I liked how at checkin we received a map of all the restaurants. The location is great!! Its so close to the River walk and the shops and all the best restaurants like Mo's and RockBottom. We just love to come to Milwaukee to have a good time! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear staceygripp

Thank you for the great review my team is thrilled that you love our hotel and location. We love that our guests get to enjoy our great hotel, great city and of course the great food and beer. Milwaukee is a fun city and our location provides people a chance to get out and explore as we are close to almost everything . Being so close to Illinois this makes for a great weekend getaway for people. I am glad we were able to serve you the way you expected and we hope you will come back and enjoy Milwaukee’s friendliest hotel again very soon.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel was clean, location convenient, staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The complementary breakfast was no worse or better than other Hampton Inns. I have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Anton C

Thanks for the review we really appreciate it. My team and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My team is thrilled when they get great feedback about how they take care of our guests. They pride themselves in being efficient and friendly to each and every guest that walks through our doors. My breakfast team stays within the standards that are set by Hampton and they try to insure the quality is great for our guests. Our hot menu selections rotate daily so we can provide a variety of offering to our guests who stay multiple nights. I am glad you would stay with our hotel again if your travels bring you back. We hope we will see you very soon.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An overall wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. Nice, clean rooms and it's great to have free breakfast and internet access. Hotel is close to most everything you need to get to. The staff make this hotel EXCELLENT! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Christa B

Thank you for your kind words, my team will be thrilled that you felt the service they gave made you experience Excellent. Our team prides ourselves in being Milwaukee’s friendliest and I am glad we met those expectations. Our hotel is centrally located in the heart of the city so you can walk to almost everything you want to do during your trip. The Hampton breakfast offers a great variety and great quality to our guests so I am glad you enjoyed that as well. We hope you choose our great hotel again if your travels bring you back to Brew City.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has a great location to all downtown travel, within walking distance of convention center, the riverwalk area and restaurants. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Walls are a bit thin so would hear hall noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Angela V

Thank you for your review of our hotel. My team and I are thrilled you were happy with your stay and our service. Our goal is to be Milwaukee’s friendliest hotel and my staff strives for that each and everyday. Our location provides so much as we are in the heart of the city and we are close to almost everything you want to experience in the city. I hope you had time to enjoy our great restaurants and other attractions while in town. I wanted to apologize for the noise you encountered during you stay and let you know my team and I are always looking for ways to control noise. We hope you will choose our hotel again when you travel back to our area.

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.