We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for the last couple days of the year so we could be downtown to go out and not have to drive everywhere. Many nice bars/restaurants in the area and shopping centers too! We had a suite which was nice, complete with hot tub and living room! The room was clean and well kept, they changed the sheets everyday and kept the hot tub clean... I would stay here again and would recommend it to others! The staff was helpful and kind, 4*

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We are very lucky to have such great attractions near to us. I am also happy that you enjoyed our suite room. Many of our guests enjoy having the conveniences of a suite when they stay with us. It offers more space and more amenities than our standard rooms are equipped with. We take great pride in providing a clean environment for our guests. Again, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you come to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    124
    49
    33
    18
See reviews for
95
77
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for a conference in the frontier airlines center, and it was perfectly convenient to that and to everything else we wanted to do. Milwaukee is a fairly walkable city. The area felt safe at night, encountered a few people roaming the street but nobody harmless. The hotel itself felt very safe so I never worried about that.

Our room, which appeared to be in a corner, was small square footage but very well laid out. There were only two of us, and one bed, so no problem. The room was nice and quiet, never noticed any slamming doors, yelling, etc. We were very happy with the room itself.

The breakfast was good as well, plenty of hot options, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, milk, etc. I eat a (not very strict) gluten free diet and felt like I had options every morning. We did not use the fitness center but it would have been conveniently located. We actually got outside and walked, so if you do that kind of thing the location is pretty good for it. Head up in the direction of the contention center and make a loop.

Our friends, also at the same convention, stayed at the Hyatt which connects to the convention center via skybridge, but we felt that our hotel was just as convenient, and based on their comments, sounds like we enjoyed our stay a little more and spent a little less!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We always enjoy having people come to stay with us during their conventions. It is nice when are guests are able to walk just a few blocks to the convention center. I am also pleased that your stay was quiet and restful. We work very hard to keep disturbances at a minimum, and we know that our guests are looking for a home away from home. Our breakfast is an amenity that our guests look forward to as well, and I am so glad that you found the options to be abundant. We strive to provide our guests with a friendly and comfortable environment, and I am happy we were able to achieve that during your stay with us. We hope you keep us in mind for your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We use this hotel quite often while visiting downtown Milwaukee. It's a very comfortable place with a pool (which we haven't used) and free breakfast (which we haven't taken advantage of lately) and very comfy beds. The pillows are a bit flat (typical hotel pillows) but all in all it's a great place to stay in downtown Milw. We stay here when we attend shows at The Riverside or The Bradley Center and it's walking distance to both as well as a great Irish Pub called Mo's just down the street with good food and great Guinness AND live music most weekends.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so pleased that you have found our hotel to be so convenient and comfortable. We do our best to provide amenities that will help to enhance our guests’ experiences. As you stated, we are within walking distance of many local attractions, and I’m glad that you found Mo’s to be a great place to visit. I hope on one of your future stays with us you will get a chance to utilize our pool and be able to sit down for a hot breakfast in the morning. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not a fancy hotel by any means, but if you're looking for a place to lay your head while you walk to many of the best bars and resturants in Milwaukee - this is perfect. The rooms and bathrooms are slightly outdated, the bed comfortable (if pillows a little lumpy).

But again, you can walk along the river to several high end restaurants. Definitely stroll a couple blocks up the street to the Blu Bar at the top of the ornate Pfister Hotel with its panoramic views of downtown buildings and Lake Michigan.

This hotel is also a quick, easy drive from the airport. So convenient and the price (low $100s) couldn't be beat. Also a free breakfast in the morning was nice.

Room Tip: Better to stay away from the indoor pool area as the smell of clorine is strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
First of all, I want to thank you for filling out a review on our hotel. Feedback from our guests is so important in helping us to improve our service. We pride ourselves on being able to provide excellent service at a reasonable price. I am glad that you found our hotel to be in such a great location. The attractions around us such as the Riverwalk and many outstanding restaurants play a vital role in entertaining our guests. As a Hampton, we know that a hot breakfast is an amenity that our guests look forward to, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsbourgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The guest service was very friendly, the asian guy at check in was fantastic I wish I remembered his name, but the location was great! other than that it missed on a couple of things. you could tell that the fixtures in the rooms were very outdated and many were loose and coming off the wall, also the elevators were creapy and shut whenever they felt like it and sometimes brought us to the wrong floor, also the hvac systems were very confusing they had the wall units, but also a vent in the ceiling which made some noise and the temp control looked very dated. the rooms themselves were fine, beds comfy. overall good, not great, would check out other hotels, but i do trust this one.

Room Tip: get larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for filling out a review on our hotel! It’s wonderful that Billy made such a good impression upon you at check in. We are always trying to provide our guests with the best “Hamptonality” that we can. I am very pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable. After all, a good night’s sleep is so important when one is staying somewhere away from home. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us continue to move toward perfection as well. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we would love for you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the set up with the unique hotel. Built in parking was cheap, thankfully. Breakfast was standard. 1st shift woman at front desk was rude when we got locked out of our rooms right before checkout with our purses and luggage still on the room. Bathrooms were nice and liked the view, including the creepy, empty building next door! Elevators didn't always work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the layout of the hotel. We take great pride in having such a unique history behind our property. I am also pleased that the parking was to your liking. Thank you so much for your concern regarding the elevators, and because of your comments, I was able to bring this matter to our engineering department. If you would like to come to stay with us again, we have many rooms with great city views that face the streets rather than the building next door. I will be sure to share your comments with my team, and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the positive reviews and the hotel's location to Milwaukee attractions like the Milwaukee Art Museum and the Milwaukee Public Market.

Because it was an urban hotel, the rooms were small, and we had the misfortune of having a view of a brick wall. The water pressure in the shower was weak, the low-flow toilet gave us some problems, and it was so hard to adjust the heat. We had hoped for more for a weekend getaway, especially for the price we paid.

The hotel was clean and fairly quiet, but it's a fairly standard Hampton Inn. The service was decent and friendly, and we had a good breakfast each day. Parking was reasonable and convenient, and the location was good. These are things we have come to expect with all Hampton Inns, so while the hotel was ok, it was nothing special. I wasn't even acknowledged as a loyalty rewards member.

I would recommend the hotel for its location, but I would only stay here again if the price were better or if we were guaranteed a better room for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
First of all, thank you so much for giving us your feedback. I am so pleased that the location of our hotel was to your liking. We are very centrally located with many points of interest within walking distance. Our building is very unique in that we have many rooms with great city views. I have added the preference of a city view to your Hilton Honors profile, as it pertains to our property. I’m glad that you found our property to be clean. As a Hampton hotel, we take great pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms. I want to thank you for bringing the concern of the water pressure to our attention so we can look into this matter. I also want to thank you for being a Hilton Honors member, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.